Also 12k is not rediculous, our budget last season was up on the 10k mark!
Mιs Que Un Club - More than a Club
Points taken and that all sounds great and hopefully you can pay 16 full time players and coaching staff. I am not against Dundalk I am just stating the fact that clubs should be really careful as to the wage bill that they take on board. Is there not some rule about the percentage of total revenue that can be spent on wages?? I am not too clued in on it but I think there is some limit. Those figures 9if accurate) get you to up around the 12K bang on. Even with the couple of grand you left out lets say its 80% of total incomme on wages. You also day to day running costs as a club too.
Lets say for example God forbid three of your top full timers get injured. You may have to increase your playing staff while still paying injured lads their wages every week. As stated its not just Dundalk I really hope that all clubs are aware of the pitfalls of spending beyond their means for short term success.
The Shadow
John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
www.ssdg.ie
Its nice to see that things have not changed. A club is doing well (Dundalk).
They have won promotion back to the top flight and are trying to make a go of it. So what do others do. They take the p*ss and try to put down the club for doing what they are doing. They make out that they are not jealous but are only concerned that the club in question are following the same mistakes as other clubs. Give me a break please
Its no skin of your nose if it doesnt work for Dundalk. You are just looking for the argument.
Fair play to Dundalk. Hope it works out for you this season.
'Negativity' the cancer of the eircom league
It would be good if the sour grapes / envy / were kept out of the comments (but it would be way less fun)
Saying fans concerned with another club going full-time and splashing the cash is due to envy is just immature.
I don't know about you, but it's annpying as a LOI fan to see pretty much every club go down the pan lately. And then, you see another newly promoted club follow the same path, the exact same path, that all the other imploding clubs have followed. It gets frustrating. If Dundalk can keep their 16 full-time players, as well as whatever amount of part-time players, and their management team, within a sustainable budget then great.
I do not thing ANY club in this league can do that, however. Are Dundalk a bigger club than Pats, with more revenue opportunites? Derry? Heck no. Sure, a big club for the First Division. Yet, if I remember correctly, a few years ago Dundalk were playing in front of tiny crowds. What happens if the struggle next season? Where will the 1500 every two weeks come from? I know how negative this sounds, and it is. However, if I had a mortgage, I would easily put it on the Dundalk "project" going belly-up within 12 months. Irish clubs are going to have to learn the harsh lessons of the past 12 months. St Pat's, Bohs and Derry are all cutting back on wages. Pat's are even going part-time.
I still think that the LOI has a strong future as a professional league. However, now is a time to take a step back and recover. Set systems in place to build a stronger league. Work on the foundations. Dundalk are just another over-ambitious club who think having 16 full time footballers is feasible for a club based in a regional town in Ireland in a league which will be mostly part-time and in a country that is in a massive economic turmoil. Accuse me of ency, but what Dundalk are at right now is lunacy.
I partly agree and hear what you are saying, I would have thought no more than 5 full timers with a decent quality of part time players would be ok.
I`ve been around this lge as a fan for over 30 years and I'm a bit worried that we are doing the opposite on all other clubs who are drastically cutting their costs.
#DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).
Seriously, Dundak fans, you should be going to your board and asking what the hell is going on with "14-16 full-time players." Someone needs to keep Connor under control, because you won't be able to sustain this.
Is this now just a thread about dundalk? Where's all the transfer rumours gone? Lots of rumours about Rovers being linked with Ollie Cahill and Stephen Bradley.
Dundalks budget will be in excess of 12k - its going to be up at 16 or 17k a week in total
For the record, Dundalk are EASILY one of the biggset clubs in the country. For years they were the top spenders in the league and this was at a time when clubs weren't being completely stoopid with money. Absolutely no reason why they shouldn't be among the top spenders. Their board seem to have done everything right (financially) the last couple of years so they should at least get the benefit of the doubt as regards their budget for next season.
As for transfer rumours;
Mark Quigley turned downa trial with Doncastor as he "wasn't in any shape to do myself justice". Derry remain interested (I'd be gutted to see him go). Derry are also intereted in Ryan guy but work permit problems may scupper that deal. Gary Dempsey and Jason Gavin are currently hawking themselves around the league (and elsewhere). Dessie Byrne is hoping to get a deal in England for family reasons (he has a kid there ) Obviously enough, Pats aren't been linked with anyone
If Dundalk think they can afford it then let them go for it as none of us will be cleaning up the mess after. Dundalk won a lot of leagues but bar the great European night i never remember major crowds for domestic league games even with a lot of the games repeated on a sunday night Oriel always looked rather empty. I also never remember them as big spenders but i remember in between Dublin and Belfast they used to attract a lot of players from both cities. I was only ever up the once to be honest and that night there was a really poor crowd it was a 1-1 draw and Dundalk went on to win the league that year (1995).
Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 09/01/2009 at 10:09 AM.
It really is funny to hear o connor come up with the same bull over and over again. He a complete bluffer and they are so many in the game right now. He wont be found out until the middle of the summer because people will be caught up with dundalk been "back where they belong". I like Dundalk as a club, very friendly when we went up there but i do worry for ye with that clown in charge. Bringing all his favourite former players to the club, them too wasters singh and manseram.
Just a quite word in danny Ventre or chris butler ear before our games this season will sort them two fancy boys out.
Oh dear. And I thought the league was movnig forward and learning from its mistakes...
In fairness to Dundalk, if, as ORA noted, they need E20k a week, that's just over a million on a 52-week season. Harps turned over E830k last year by comparison, and Dundalk are bigger than Harps. (I'd expect them to get another 500 a week at the gate, and then they have the pitch rental and the bar rental). It's doable, although if the crowds don't turn up, they're in trouble.
Think it's important to distinguish between a pro on E800 a week and on E3k a week too.