Thread: Bray Latest Team in

75 Posts

Bray Latest Team in

trouble according to todays Independent .Players taking 40% wage cut and Budget slashed by 25% for next season.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

"Bray Latest Team in"

What exactly is that supposed to mean? English, you speak it?

Not surprised to hear about the money trouble. Their crowds seem to be getting worse as the season goes on.

No surpirse at all. Our crowds are terrible and we have a fairly big squad.

Hopefully, we stay up and get rid of some players.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

48 Posts
    Looks like the end of high wages for players and smaller squads as well. Is it only Pats and the big pub who now have either a sugar daddy or a massive overdraft?

Everyone else now are trying to live within their means!
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

The fact is a lot of clubs are overspending and there's not enough fans to support the league.

The clubs need to cop on.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

the support is there if the football was at a higher level. The "Real Fact" is that there are far to many poor/average players in the league getting paid to much money !

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    The fact is a lot of clubs are overspending and there's not enough fans to support the league.

The clubs need to cop on.
    Spot on. id imagine a lot fo clubs will be taking big cuts this year.

Our rumoured wages(including backroom staff) was over 50k a week this year. Next year it is to be cut to between 15 and 20k.

There'l be a lot of players free and only one club in a position to pay big money. Wages will certainly be coming down

So that leaves us, Rovers, UCD, and Wexford that haven't been in financial trouble this year.

It's like an Irish version of Battle Royale

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    So that leaves us, Rovers, UCD, and Wexford that haven't been in financial trouble this year.

Monaghan?

69 Posts
    Dundalk.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post

monaghan dundalk and shels have been ommited from your list oh and yous have been no bastion of financial stability over the past few years
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

and Shelbourne.

Who else is in Fran Gavin's bakers dozen?

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    monaghan dundalk and shels have been ommited from your list oh and yous have been no bastion of financial stability over the past few years
    When were City in trouble this season ? *

* a few idiots on here misreading an SK interview to speculate that we'd have to go part-time next season does not equate to financial troubles....

123 Posts
    agree steve i should have included them. very few of us rock solid clubs left... maybe we should consider setting up our own league

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    When were City in trouble this season ? *

* a few idiots on here misreading an SK interview to speculate that we'd have to go part-time next season does not equate to financial troubles....
    Have you paid Conor Sammon's transfer fee from over half a year ago?

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    Looks like the end of high wages for players and smaller squads as well. Is it only Pats and the big pub who now have either a sugar daddy or a massive overdraft?

Everyone else now are trying to live within their means!
    Four other teams pay out more in wages than Bohs.

Could Derry be one of the teams paying out more??

Looks that way considering dungannon and other clubs are still waiting for transfers fees.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Have you paid Conor Sammon's transfer fee from over half a year ago?
    Still not paid UCDthats Dungannon and UCD now,so we can take it Derry are having financial trouble.

Didnt Bray say they made a profit about 5 weeks ago??
    Last edited by Bohemian1890; 27/10/2008 at 11:58 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    That's why I said this year champ

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian1890 View Post
    Still not paid UCDthats Dugannon and UCD now,so we can take it Derry are having financial trouble.
    sorry steve i have to withdraw my offer to you until you can furnish me with proof of your financial sustainability

I think i remember Eddie Gormley giving out a few weeks ago that there were teams above them in the league that were there due to overspending while Bray had stayed sensible. It is hard to budjet though for the attendances they have been getting in fairness.