Page 22 of 25 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast

Thread: 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    What do you expect Kenny to say? He has just lost a Cup final on penos, after an incident packed game with several contentious decisions(which many neutrals on here have mentioned).

"Yeah well, there's always next year"?

Quotes such as "On the day we performed absolutely brilliantly in difficult conditions, but we have come out the wrong side of it. It is hard to take, but that's life," he added" can hardly be construed as whining?

He cares, and it hurts like hell when you lose like that.

The game had everything and there had to be a winner. It wasn't us, and the more rational Bohs fans on here realise the margins.
    I'd expect a bit of a moan but with it a well done. Remember: it's supposed to be a sport.
    I think most agree that Derry shaded it over the 120 -- just. We had as many shots on target; your keeper kept you in it at vital moments. The penalties etc. are debatable, and IMO you lot got away with murder in the tackles. And so on, as we have seen, ad nauseum.
    What certainly is not justified is the Derry shriekfest that has ensued. Undignified and distinctly lacking in class.

Quote Originally Posted by Flexy View Post
    My father was there today who was brought up as a protestant, but has supported derry all his life, ok he mighten sing the national anthem or know the words to it, but he wouldnt show the disrespect morrow did today, he was only trying to bring attention to himself.
    I'd say making zero effort to learn the words of one's own national anthem, a la most of the Derry support (and a large chunk of the Irish population in general), is a thousand times more disrespectful than someone with differing and competing allegiances not facing a flag when an anthem is being sung. Your sense of proprtion is way out here.

Out of curiousity - did you sing it yourself at the game yesterday ? I could only hear two voices singing it in my block - myself and a friend's dad (who is an Irish speaker). That out of about 100 people within earshot. Now that's genuine disrespect for you...

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    I'd say making zero effort to learn the words of one's own national anthem, a la most of the Derry support (and a large chunk of the Irish population in general), is a thousand times more disrespectful than someone with differing and competing allegiances not facing a flag when an anthem is being sung. Your sense of proprtion is way out here.

Out of curiousity - did you sing it yourself at the game yesterday ? I could only hear two voices singing it in my block - myself and a friend's dad (who is an Irish speaker). That out of about 100 people within earshot. Now that's genuine disrespect for you...
    Well said.

The 'attention seeking comment' from flexy was out of order. You have no idea as to his reasons.

Great match, thoroughly enjoyable for the neutrals, especially compared to the damp squib that was last years final. Both clubs a credit to our league
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Not at all.

I still think Sammy should've faced the flag, if rugby players like Davy Tweed (shudder) managed it without turning to stone then its not that difficult.

Anyway, not a big deal in the grand scheme of thinks and he did his talking on the pitch.
    It was a disgrace what he did, a total disgrace !!! And to think some idiots within our support would try and makes excuses for him makes me cringe. He showed bitterness in his actions, like to see McGinn try that one in Windsor, there would a public uproar.

I couldnt care less if he score 5 goals yesterday, hes gone down in my estimation from here on in.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    I'd expect a bit of a moan but with it a well done. Remember: it's supposed to be a sport.
    I think most agree that Derry shaded it over the 120 -- just. We had as many shots on target; your keeper kept you in it at vital moments. The penalties etc. are debatable, and IMO you lot got away with murder in the tackles. And so on, as we have seen, ad nauseum.
    What certainly is not justified is the Derry shriekfest that has ensued. Undignified and distinctly lacking in class.
    Seriously.

Imagine the situation had been reversed. There'd be no Bohs fans crying blue murder? The eejits on both sides would reverse roles.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

myself and massop 10 had the pleasure of sittin with magicme at the match.. it was great to go as a neutral and enjoy the occasion!! i thought derry won the vocal choir easily i very much doubt that bohs would have song the lads off the pitch if they lost the peno shootout.. but hey thats my opinion...

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    Seriously.

Imagine the situation had been reversed. There'd be no Bohs fans crying blue murder? The eejits on both sides would reverse roles.
    Nah... it's a contest they win hands down - years of practice nursing grievances as M.O.P.E. (Most Oppressed People Ever)
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    A great game, Derry played very well and the final ball a few times let our superiority down.

50/50 crowd. Can't coment on who were the loudest as I was in section D of the Angelsea stand so obviously only heard ourselves naturaly.

Deegans tackle was terrible and a red card 90% of the time.

Was disgusted with the two pen decisions by a ref who lost the plot.

Bohs took there chances and we didn't take ours..............end off!

Congratulations Bohs on winning the double, but you's know in your heart that you's got out of jail.

How do you reckon we got out of jail? We hit the crossbar with a free kick, Brennan also messed up another good chance ad we did have several other chances, Kalonas being the best of them.

The way some Derry fans are going on you'd think it was all one way traffic for 2 hours.

I havent seen the Derry penalty that wasnt given but the ref was spot on with the Bohs one. Morrow had both hands out in front of him and nearly caught the ball. If it was up the far end Derry would expect it to be given so it was a penalty.

As for Deegan's tackle, I seem to remember a few years ago when Killian Brennan was sent off playing for Derry (v Shels in league cup final) for a two footed tackle that Derry fans were moaning about how it was never a sending off. Time to take off the goggles lads and get some sense of objectivity.

48 Posts
    Did anyone notice both Fenlon and Heary refare to "us" when they spoke about losing to Derry on pens whien Derry played Shels?

A strange thing to say unless they think maybe Bohs are Shels in disguise.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    How do you reckon we got out of jail? We hit the crossbar with a free kick, Brennan also messed up another good chance ad we did have several other chances, Kalonas being the best of them.

The way some Derry fans are going on you'd think it was all one way traffic for 2 hours.

I havent seen the Derry penalty that wasnt given but the ref was spot on with the Bohs one. Morrow had both hands out in front of him and nearly caught the ball. If it was up the far end Derry would expect it to be given so it was a penalty.

As for Deegan's tackle, I seem to remember a few years ago when Killian Brennan was sent off playing for Derry (v Shels in league cup final) for a two footed tackle that Derry fans were moaning about how it was never a sending off. Time to take off the goggles lads and get some sense of objectivity.
    Was just about to say the same thing to you

You obviously cannot differentiate between hand to ball and ball to hand. The corner came in and Sammy headed the ball down, the ball bounced up and hit him on the hand. How can that be intentional. Then again Morrow was brought down in the 4th min and the ref bottled it.

Also you refer to Killian Brennan hitting the bar. How about rewind 40 odd seconds earlier to Owen Heary diving on the edge of the box. Shambles of a decision which could have proved costly at that time

I am gutted we lost, I could cry about it all day but its gone. Bohs put the ball in the net more times than us at the end of the day, that cannot be changed. We will be back challenging next season. You win some, you lose some, thats just football and its why we love it.

This is just an observation. I spent the first half in Block N and could not hear the Derry support singing. The singing from that Block was practically non stop for the duration of the first half.

I watched the second half from about the middle of the Grandstand right beside the Derry support and could literally on hear them singing from that time on till the final whistle.

Having watched the match recording today it seemed evident to me that RTE had miked the Derry City support for the match and had ommited to mic the Bohs support. As I say, this is my observation.

On the attendance (here we go again) but I would say that IMO Bohs probably shaded the amount of support. This opinion is based on the North Stand having more in it than the South Stand. The Grandstand (where I sat in the second half was about 10-15 yards inside the half Derry were defending) was more than half populated by Bohs support and the Anglesea Stand was shaded by Derry. There really was not a lot in it tbh.

It is easy to understand why anybody looking at the match on the TV would consider that Derry significantly outnumbered the Bohs support, but that just isn't the case.

--------------------------

I must say though that the craic with the Derry support where I was during the second half and extra time was brilliant. Good fun, lots of smiles and good natured banter. Really enjoyable.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

48 Posts

1st point.......A clear dive from Heary so ball would have been cleared with no danger.We also messed up plenty of chances with McGinn being to greedy.

I've only seen two posters and Bohs fans on various forums who thought it was a penalty.Every media group and almost every neutral fan thought it wasn't and that Morrows was speaks for itself!

I was in section D of the Anglesea and saw the both incidents very clearly and since on TV and agree with what the pundits said and even what the F.A.I. wrote on their own website.

So are you agreeing that Deegan's tackle was a red card as it would be hard to disagree even with rose tinted glasses.

Yes there were a few other dodgy decisions for both sides and Buttimer was pure sh1te but that doesn't make it right and he should never be allowed to take charge of even an U16 game.

Again well done for winning the cup as what Buttimer done had nothing to do with Bohs, but it dosen't make losing any easier.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post

Having watched the match recording today it seemed evident to me that RTE had miked the Derry City support for the match and had ommited to mic the Bohs support. As I say, this is my observation.

On this. heard a good few BOhs chants on the tele in the first half. Then at some stage during it someone blasted the ball into one of the mics. The commentators mentioned it and said if you dont hear the noise from there that's why.

I assume it was over by the Bohs fans.

1st point.......A clear dive from Heary so ball would have been cleared with no danger.We also messed up plenty of chances with McGinn being to greedy.

I've only seen two posters and Bohs fans on various forums who thought it was a penalty.Every media group and almost every neutral fan thought it wasn't and that Morrows was speaks for itself!

I was in section D of the Anglesea and saw the both incidents very clearly and since on TV and agree with what the pundits said and even what the F.A.I. wrote on their own website.

So are you agreeing that Deegan's tackle was a red card as it would be hard to disagree even with rose tinted glasses.

Yes there were a few other dodgy decisions for both sides and Buttimer was pure sh1te but that doesn't make it right and he should never be allowed to take charge of even an U16 game.

Again well done for winning the cup as what Buttimer done had nothing to do with Bohs, but it dosen't make losing any easier.
    If Deegan was sent off I would have had no complaints about it. He wasnt. He got away with a borderline challenge but he wasnt the only player on both sides who got away with bad tackles.

However, the penalty we got was a stone wall penalty. Watched it several times and he moves his hands out in front of him in line with the bouncing ball. It was certainly not ball to hand. If his hands didnt move the ball wouldnt have hit his hands (note plural, both hands, hard to be ball to hand when the ball hits both hands)

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    On this. heard a good few BOhs chants on the tele in the first half. Then at some stage during it someone blasted the ball into one of the mics. The commentators mentioned it and said if you dont hear the noise from there that's why.

I assume it was over by the Bohs fans.
    They had an "atmospheric" mic (basically a microphone on top of a pole which would pick up the crowd noise) set up in the gap between the Grandstand and the stand behind the goal at the Bohs end (the corner into which Kalonas ran when he scored the winner) - and I do seem to remember the ball hitting it at that point you mention
    Kom Igen, FCK...

48 Posts
    However, the penalty we got was a stone wall penalty. d
    Sweet jeez, I give up.

FFS Every pundit is wrong, every Derry fan is wrong and 80% of the Bohs fans are right!!

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    They had an "atmospheric" mic (basically a microphone on top of a pole which would pick up the crowd noise) set up in the gap between the Grandstand and the stand behind the goal at the Bohs end (the corner into which Kalonas ran when he scored the winner) - and I do seem to remember the ball hitting it at that point you mention
    It was a ground mic that got knocked over.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    If we're going into ridiculous reasons, Brennan and Kalonas both crashed into the mic in front of the Anglesea.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Sweet jeez, I give up.

FFS Every pundit is wrong, every Derry fan is wrong and 80% of the Bohs fans are right!!

Yes the pundits are wrong, The Derry fans are biased and Bohs fans are right.

Page 22 of 25 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast