Page 21 of 25 FirstFirst ... 111920212223 ... LastLast

Thread: 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.

I agree with poster above, Great Match, Gutted with the result, The ref had a shocker, But we should be used to that by now in ireland..

Fair play to Bohs, yous have had a great season, Murphy is top class! Why wasnt kalonas on from the start, he's a top player and caused us problems from the moment he came on!!

Can Bohs repeat this feat next year?? Not if Derry have anything to do with it :-)

48 Posts
    Just saw this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whooooooooo!

This is taken for the FAI's own site.

Derry will, with justification, point to the referee’s decisions that, on the one hand, denied them a penalty claim in the opening minutes and, in the second half, ruled against them in awarding a penalty that produced a vital goal for Bohs.

The early denial occurred in the fourth minute when Sammy Morrow was tumbled between Ken Oman and Owen Heary in the penalty area. Viewed on TV replay, Derry looked to have a good case.

The penalty decision in the 70th minute for Bohs was extraordinary. Sammy Morrow was deep within his own penalty area when he ducked his head to deflect a left-wing corner downwards on to the turf and when the ball rebounded to strike his hand the referee penalised him.

There was clearly no advantage to Derry in the incident and even less evidence, it that were possible, that there was any element of deliberate handball on Morrow’s part. But it was a penalty and Jason Byrne did what good professionals should, he hammered the penalty home.

Full Match report here
    http://fai.ie/index.php?option=com_c...ask=view&id=38

Here is what RTE wrote.

RTE's rating of the referee:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/...comleague.html

Referee Anthony Buttimer deserves his own individual rating after getting several key decisions wrong on an afternoon when his consistency was always going to be a telling factor in the outcome of the game. Pat Fenlon is sure to be grateful after he waved away early Derry penalty appeals and then awarded Bohs a contentious penalty for Morrow's not overly deliberate 'handball'. However, he also ensured Fenlon wore an orange bib for the duration of the match (to the amusement of the Derry fans!) after his assistant Eddie Foley ruled against the black tracksuit top he had worn without question all season. There was also a blatant corner won by McGinn in the first half ruled as a Bohs goal-kick. These are a few glaring lowlights off the top of my head after a long day, but you get the picture. Nothing short of the proverbial stinker!

2/10
    Last edited by Candystripe; 24/11/2008 at 11:22 AM.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

48 Posts
    Last edited by Candystripe; 24/11/2008 at 11:35 AM.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

The keeper being off his line you mean? That hardly ever gets called, unfortunately. I doubt Doherty was any better.

LOL at having to uncensor the file name.

first time posting since first half yesterday. dont know what people were thinking, the first half had nothing, just looked awful but OMG then the game came into life.

niall mcginn what a little player he is for LOI standards anyway. great balance, decent intelligence, only thing he lacks is a finish.

murphy what a keeper, his save was amazing and showed the type of keeper he is.

Kalonas changed the game, quality player. I wish bohs could keep him for the champions league next season.

Derry certainly were the team that tried to get it down and pass it about...thought the crowd was 50/50 even though Bohs fans seemed to be totally outnumbered around Ballsbridge..where are all these people all season though???.........what I find strange is Fenlon spouting about Murphy for Ireland....he didn't fancy him when he had him at Shels afew seasons back on trial and had Williams/Delaney instead

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Great contest. Great atmosphere. Both sides and both sets of fans a credit to the game.

Pity about the unsporting whining led by Kenny and the blatant RTE bias and incompetence, but at Bohs we've become used to that.
    What do you expect Kenny to say? He has just lost a Cup final on penos, after an incident packed game with several contentious decisions(which many neutrals on here have mentioned).

"Yeah well, there's always next year"?

Quotes such as "On the day we performed absolutely brilliantly in difficult conditions, but we have come out the wrong side of it. It is hard to take, but that's life," he added" can hardly be construed as whining?

He cares, and it hurts like hell when you lose like that.

The game had everything and there had to be a winner. It wasn't us, and the more rational Bohs fans on here realise the margins.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post

and the more rational Bohs fans on here realise the margins.
    Holy sh1t, I just read the Bohs forum and apart from posts during the game they are the most un-gracious winning cup teams fans ever!

Talking about "posts during the game" they siad that the 2 pens were wrong calls but obviously like anyone would they didn't give a sh1t.

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    Holy sh1t, I just read the Bohs forum and apart from posts during the game they are the most un-gracious winning cup teams fans ever!

Talking about "posts during the game" they siad that the 2 pens were wrong calls but obviously like anyone would they didn't give a sh1t.
    Most un-gracious fans gave the Derry players a round of applause at the end of the game when they came down their end of the ground, but don't bother mentioning that.

Its a bohs forum so shock horror it will be biased. I bet the derry forum is equally biased the other way, deal with it.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wexfordned View Post
    Most un-gracious fans gave the Derry players a round of applause at the end of the game when they came down their end of the ground, but don't bother mentioning that.

Its a bohs forum so shock horror it will be biased. I bet the derry forum is equally biased the other way, deal with it.
    nah, the bohs fans this season have basically turned into shel's fans of previous years - heads in the sand, arrogant as ****. they got out of jail yesterday alright.
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

Quote Originally Posted by shantykelly View Post
    nah, the bohs fans this season have basically turned into shel's fans of previous years - heads in the sand, arrogant as ****. they got out of jail yesterday alright.
    When a team wins the league with a record points total, record margin of victory, most goals scored & fewest conceded I would imagine their fans would be arrogant as **** (especially after clinching a double)

2,770 Posts
    any arrogance comes from the utter disdain with which Bohemians and the achievements of this team are treated on this messageboard.

Engage a bohs fan in decent conversation about the club issues or the team performances and you will get a good discussion. Attempt to wind up and spout crap and you will get the arrogance. Its the same for all fans on this messageboard, get over it.

Maybe we are ungracious winners but you guys are terrible, terrible, terrible losers.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shantykelly View Post
    You'd swear the way you are going on we got battered yesterday... Both teams had plenty of chances, there was contentious decisions as well (there always is) bottom line is, we stuck four penalties in the back of the net, you scored two. That's the only fact that matters....

congratulations to Bohs! However, it's a little bit sad for Derry because I think they were the better team. They would have deserved the cup win in my mind. But ok, that's foootball and a penalty shootout is actually a lottery.

All in all it was a fantastic final. Great football of both teams. So much passion, fighting spirit and nice football too. Maybe the best game between two irish teams I've ever seen yet. Wonderful finish of a interesting season.

82 Posts
    Thread dissolves into pathetic keyboard warrior-esque drivel again.......

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post

see? this is what i mean. What is the purpose of that post? Does it encourage discussion? What benefit does that post do to the point that you lot are trying to make? Ironically enough, the only "pathetic keyboard-warrioresque drivel" since the game is the post i have quoted.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

386 Posts
    Nothing wrong with healthy debate. I thought forums where all about expressing your opinion, which you've done above and I'm doing now....

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    see? this is what i mean. What is the purpose of that post? Does it encourage discussion? What benefit does that post do to the point that you lot are trying to make? Ironically enough, the only "pathetic keyboard-warrioresque drivel" since the game is the post i have quoted.
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    Nothing wrong with healthy debate. I thought forums where all about expressing your opinion, which you've done above and I'm doing now....
    When two sets of people have polar opposite views, and they have expressed them, then re-expressing them is a waste of time.

Derry fans broadly think that the ref handed you the victory, your support is crap, Fenlon is Satan and you bought your success with money that wasn't yours.

You disagree with all the above and point to the scoreboard and the history books which will record that you won the double.

Where's the discussion there?

2,770 Posts
    When two sets of people have polar opposite views, and they have expressed them, then re-expressing them is a waste of time.

Derry fans broadly think that the ref handed you the victory, your support is crap, Fenlon is Satan and you bought your success with money that wasn't yours.

You disagree with all the above and point to the scoreboard and the history books which will record that you won the double.

Where's the discussion there?
    good man yourself. Maybe we should just make this message board redundant based on that philosophy?

Wind your neck in and take your oil. Its a bit of craic - this message board is sterile enough, its the banter and opposing views that make it fun and worth registering for...

and yes, we won the double and that is all that really matters at the end of the day.

It was a good advertisment for LOI football.

Page 21 of 25 FirstFirst ... 111920212223 ... LastLast