Thread: 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Flexy View Post
    Like fenlon you need a pair of glasses and an orange retard bib

On what basis? A Derry outfield player practically catches the ball with both hands on in front of him 4 yards from his own goal-line. How is it not a penalty?

Whatever gripes you think you have, the penalty decision isnt one of them. The player put his hands out in front of him and the ball hit both hands. Its a penalty.

Sammy Morrow didn't cover himself in glory during the national anthem. Anyone else notice that?

Quote Originally Posted by cheech View Post
    Sammy Morrow didn't cover himself in glory during the national anthem. Anyone else notice that?

Because he didnt face the flag and start signing it?

It's not his flag or anthem, he stood there quietly. now if he'd started booing or something you might have a point

Well done to Bohs.

It was a very good match. Derry were the better side but credit Bohs for taking it to penos and winning.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    On what basis? A Derry outfield player practically catches the ball with both hands on in front of him 4 yards from his own goal-line. How is it not a penalty?

Whatever gripes you think you have, the penalty decision isnt one of them. The player put his hands out in front of him and the ball hit both hands. Its a penalty.
    Being honest i think the gripe was that yous got a penalty and buttimer chickened out of giving us one in the first half which was a stone waller. Ive no qualms of bohs winning the cup yous have been the best team this year but as fans we have to speak out more about the officials in our league.

Quote Originally Posted by cheech View Post
    Seen it and was embarrassed as a dcfc fan. Probably his last match for us anyway

Quote Originally Posted by CuanaD View Post
    Exactly - I was livid at the commentary - as an ex-ref it was an obvious penalty & the commentators showed no knowledge of the rule.
    Rule is hand to ball, on this occassion ball bounced up and hit him on the hand, it was clear to see when he headed the ball in the ground and the ball hit his hand, he didnt even move his hand. difference between you and buttimer is that buttimer should do the same as you and give up if you think that was a penalty

Rule is hand to ball, on this occassion ball bounced up and hit him on the hand, it was clear to see when he headed the ball in the ground and the ball hit his hand, he didnt even move his hand.

but the Derry guy put both hands on the ball. Ive watched it several times now and cannot see how the ref could make any other decision but to award a penalty.

Seen it and was embarrassed as a dcfc fan. Probably his last match for us anyway
    It's silly playing the anthem before a domestic game anyway.

As a matter of interest though; if Niall McGinn or Paddy McCourt start for NI, will you be embarrassed- as a DCFC fan- if they stand to attention and face the flag for GSTQ? or will you be embarrassed if they don't?
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Not long home and only beginning to thaw out. What a great game and athmosphere. gutted for Derry fans but well done Bohs.

Really enjoyed myself. Thats entertainment.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    It's silly playing the anthem before a domestic game anyway.

As a matter of interest though; if Niall McGinn or Paddy McCourt start for NI, will you be embarrassed- as a DCFC fan- if they stand to attention and face the flag for GSTQ? or will you be embarrassed if they don't?
    Id be embarrased if they didnt stand to attention. Its pure ignorance and a lack of respect if you dont. Doesnt matter if your black white catholic or protestant you should stand and observe any anthem whether you like it or not

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Not long home and only beginning to thaw out. What a great game and athmosphere. gutted for Derry fans but well done Bohs.

Really enjoyed myself. Thats entertainment.
    As another neutral who was at the game I must say it was a great spectacle alright, although cup finals in November are still weird (and cold!). Tough on Derry at the end but they've still had a good season..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

101 Posts
    Id be embarrased if they didnt stand to attention. Its pure ignorance and a lack of respect if you dont. Doesnt matter if your black white catholic or protestant you should stand and observe any anthem whether you like it or not
    It wasn't just Sammy Morrow. I was standing in with the Derry fans and I was the only one within earshot who was actually singing the anthem..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    As another neutral who was at the game I must say it was a great spectacle alright, although cup finals in November are still weird (and cold!). Tough on Derry at the end but they've still had a good season..
    Thought you might be there alright. It was great how the Derry fans kept singing even after it was all over. Met quite a few of them when they stopped for a toilet break between Carrickmacross and Castleblayney on the way back and you would almost think they had won they were still their effervescent selves.

101 Posts
    Thought you might be there alright..
    I thought I'd get used to mixing with Premier Division fans again..

Only seen one other neutral all day though, an Athlone fan.

EDIT - oh and John Gill if he counts?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

I thought I'd get used to mixing with Premier Division fans again..

Only seen one other neutral all day though, an Athlone fan.

EDIT - oh and John Gill if he counts?
    Rub it in ya git!

I was sitting with Martinho and Massop10 (Longford Town) while Sligo Rovers Committee were sitting behind me and some people from Cork were behind them. In front of us were 2 Sporting Fingal too.

Met Tom - he has a "Christmas box" for me!

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    Not at all.

I still think Sammy should've faced the flag, if rugby players like Davy Tweed (shudder) managed it without turning to stone then its not that difficult.

Anyway, not a big deal in the grand scheme of thinks and he did his talking on the pitch.

It wasn't just Sammy Morrow. I was standing in with the Derry fans and I was the only one within earshot who was actually singing the anthem..
    My father was there today who was brought up as a protestant, but has supported derry all his life, ok he mighten sing the national anthem or know the words to it, but he wouldnt show the disrespect morrow did today, he was only trying to bring attention to himself.

101 Posts
    I was sitting with Martinho and Massop10 (Longford Town) while Sligo Rovers Committee were sitting behind me and some people from Cork were behind them. In front of us were 2 Sporting Fingal too.

Met Tom - he has a "Christmas box" for me!
    I was in with the regular fans, no prawn sandwiches for me!
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Not at all.

I still think Sammy should've faced the flag, if rugby players like Davy Tweed (shudder) managed it without turning to stone then its not that difficult.

Anyway, not a big deal in the grand scheme of thinks and he did his talking on the pitch.
    Do you think he will be with us next year, i know linfield are sniffing around him

Page 19 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast