Page 17 of 25 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast

Thread: 2008 F.A.I. Cup final thread.

One of the worst refereeing performances I've seen. Buttimer you are a disgrace!

Derry deserved to win. Good atmosphere by the sounds of it, all Derry fans though.

24 Posts
    well done Bohs.

Great game and good advertisement for the league
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Quote Originally Posted by Flexy View Post
    Murphy for ireland he was superb today AGAIN.
    I'm going to jump on this bandwagon. Absolutely outstanding vs Cobh 2 weeks ago and 100 times better today!

MURPHY FOR IRELAND!

Lets start a campaign......Murphy for Ireland sponsored by foot.ie!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    Agreed - but by christ, "incompetent" is an utter understatement with regards to that performance today.
    Will he apoligise after watching a rerun of his performance, no he bloody wont, if i was incompetent like that in my job id be sacked on the spot.

You'd wonder how he could referee a game so badly. I think there was an incident where Peter Hutton clattered into a Bohs player on the edge of our penalty area. Buttimer was standing right in front of it and didn't give an obvious free kick.
    Robbie Hedderman. Arguably the greatest Derry City player of all time...

Will he apoligise after watching a rerun of his performance, no he bloody wont, if i was incompetent like that in my job id be sacked on the spot.
    Sure i'd say Pat Kelly thought he was wonderful. The smarmy little sh!te. He is the one and only reason the referees in Ireland are so bad.
    Did ya see him on the pitch while Fenlon was being interviewed going around congratulating and comisserating and telling Buttimer "good game"...........sickening!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

55 Posts

kelly

the man that introduced me to LOI in the seventies gave up the LOI after pat kellys performances he was whistle mad. Then his son normally gets 80% of the televised games and he is useless too

42 Posts
    Well done to both teams. Great game and both teams played good,attacking football and Derry probably shaded the game and unlucky not to win. Brian Murphy excellent again for Bohs. Good finish to whats been a difficult season in Irish football.

Quote Originally Posted by trevy View Post
    Well done to both teams. Great game and both teams played good,attacking football and Derry probably shaded the game and unlucky not to win. Brian Murphy excellent again for Bohs. Good finish to whats been a difficult season in Irish football.
    It was probably one of the best games seen this year in the league, fair play to bohs on winning the double, but we'll be back next year stronger and more determined thought we played some great football today and our midfield had the better of boh's

I knew I recognised the ref but couldnt place him.

Now I remember, he was in Boylesports last week.......

Just home - TBH from high up in the Anglesea Stand, it didn't look like such a great game until the goals started going in - and I wish you'd all take your 'Derry are my second favourite team' goggles off; we were poor for a fair amount of the game, but we still had more to offer in terms of skill and variety than them.

What's Deegan supposed to have done that was so shocking? if it was the tackle that got him a yellow, from directly opposite it looked kosher. Guess I'll have to see it tomorrow.

On the issue of the crowd - reckon we had between 4-4.5k, Derry maybe a bit more, but not hugely outnumbered - I'm not excusing it; within recent memory we get close to that for league matches against Shels and Rovers, and given the Derry fans did a 300m round trip, and we had to hop on a bus, it's a poor enough turnout.The Farrelly and Connor years cost us hugely in terms of fans, and they still aren't coming back.

Brian Murphy is a legend, and Kalonas is one of the best players ever to play in this league; Others underperformed today, but the idea that there's something wrong with our style or that it's 'dull' is Roddy ******. We're the best team in the country by a mile, and arguably the best ever.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

82 Posts
    Just watched the match again when I got home, no idea why, as it made me feel worse.

Well done Bohs, clinical performance when it mattered.

Well done bohs, but Buttimer better ne show his face in the brandywell again hes a cheating ****, he bottled every big decision and of course gave it his favourites way. hes a tit

The ref was not at fault for Derry's defeat. I dont know about the penalty as I havent seen it on TV yet but he let several Derry players away with very bad tackles early on (on Killian Brennan) but as soon as a Bohs player made the same sort of tackle they got booked.

Derry had slightly the better of the chances but if you dont take them, you dont win.

Whatever people think about who shaded the game etc doesnt really matter, Bohs were deserving winners. We won the league in record breaking fashion and we havent got the credit we have deserved this year. The panel on MNS have always gone out of their way to criticide Bohs this year despite what has been achieved on the pitch.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    Just home - TBH from high up in the Anglesea Stand, it didn't look like such a great game until the goals started going in - and I wish you'd all take your 'Derry are my second favourite team' goggles off; we were poor for a fair amount of the game, but we still had more to offer in terms of skill and variety than them.

What's Deegan supposed to have done that was so shocking? if it was the tackle that got him a yellow, from directly opposite it looked kosher. Guess I'll have to see it tomorrow.

On the issue of the crowd - reckon we had between 4-4.5k, Derry maybe a bit more, but not hugely outnumbered - I'm not excusing it; within recent memory we get close to that for league matches against Shels and Rovers, and given the Derry fans did a 300m round trip, and we had to hop on a bus, it's a poor enough turnout.The Farrelly and Connor years cost us hugely in terms of fans, and they still aren't coming back.

Brian Murphy is a legend, and Kalonas is one of the best players ever to play in this league; Others underperformed today, but the idea that there's something wrong with our style or that it's 'dull' is Roddy ******. We're the best team in the country by a mile, and arguably the best ever.
    Take Murphy ( best keeper by a mile ) and Kalonas out of the bohs team and your not the best by a country mile, evidence of that was shown today on how ordinary bohs are. Deegan dived in with both feet he was a foot off the ground, when you do see it you'll think he was lucky even to stay on the pitch. When you see the pen we should have had and the pen yous got then you'll count yourselves lucky with the result. but well done

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    The ref was not at fault for Derry's defeat. I dont know about the penalty as I havent seen it on TV yet but he let several Derry players away with very bad tackles early on (on Killian Brennan) but as soon as a Bohs player made the same sort of tackle they got booked.

Derry had slightly the better of the chances but if you dont take them, you dont win.

Whatever people think about who shaded the game etc doesnt really matter, Bohs were deserving winners. We won the league in record breaking fashion and we havent got the credit we have deserved this year. The panel on MNS have always gone out of their way to criticide Bohs this year despite what has been achieved on the pitch.
    Bohs deserved to win the league no doubt about that, as i said before if you watch a re run of the match you'll see how bad buttimer was, derry should have had a pen, bohs shouldnt have had a pen, fenn lucky to stay on pitch for tackle on hutton, deegan's tackle wouold have killed deery if he had have connected. Pat Morley summed it up by saying buttimer was a disgrace, and that was live on tv.

82 Posts
    FFS let it lie Flexy.

238 Posts
    There is no "Derry are my second team" folk here. Especially not me anyway.

Derry were the better side and looked to attack at every opportunity.

There was no tackle worse than Deegans in the match. It was an awful tackle and he deserved to walk, if Deery was caught it would have took his ankle off.

Murphy is definitely good enough for the Irish squad, third choice behind Given and Kiely.

Bohs fans were shocking, only at the end up could they be heard and even then Derry fans outsang them. Poor form.

As for not the refs fault? There was no chance in hell any other ref would have given a penalty against Morrow. That would have left the game 2-1 in Derrys favour after 90 minutes, fairly clear in my eyes.

Finally, yes Bohs were the best side in the league and were deserved winners but, that doesn't make then deserving Cup winners.

Jeesh I feel all dirty and wrong for defending Derry, yuk I need a shower, maybe bleached down or something.

Cracking match. McGinn and Morrow were suberb, as was Kalonas when he came on. Brilliant player.

Can't believe Buttimer is actually a ref. Unbelievably bad.

Bohs deserved to win the league no doubt about that, as i said before if you watch a re run of the match you'll see how bad buttimer was, derry should have had a pen, bohs shouldnt have had a pen, fenn lucky to stay on pitch for tackle on hutton, deegan's tackle wouold have killed deery if he had have connected. Pat Morley summed it up by saying buttimer was a disgrace, and that was live on tv.

I notice how you focus on the tackles by the Bohs players yet you fail to mention how bad Buttimer was for the tackles on Bohs players which should have resulted in yellow cards.

Also, we were denied a stone wall penalty in the league against you lot a few weeks ago and you then scored not long after. What is it they say about luck over the course of a season?

2,770 Posts
    take yer oil as ye love to say .

derry made more than a few bad tackled, Deery is a dirty mouthy little c*nt.

Medals on the table minnowsd, we beat yis when it matters.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Page 17 of 25 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast