Thread: Public Meeting - Relaunching of Limerick FC

Public Meeting - Relaunching of Limerick FC

Morning Lads:

At a meeting last night between the Supporters Club committee and the Club Committee it was decided to hold a public meeeting on Monday 17th November.

The Commitee have stated that they have done all they can to keep Limerick FC alive and now are appealing to the Public to get behind their team.

The Club Insurance has been paid so We will continue to play until the end of the Season. A New Club structure can be put in place at this meeting with Constitution, Election of expanded Committee such as Finace Committees or any other ideas about how the Club should be run in the future. This will be an open floor style meeting and all interested parties should attend. THe Supporters club has ideas on new structures and we will put these to the floor on the Night as well.ie Roles for Officers, Club Membership and rules etc..

Anyone with ideas on what is the best way forward please ring me or pm/email me or any other member of the SC ASAP.
    The Current Commitee will take a step back and allow any interesed people to put their ides forward.

This is our Chance to have our Say in the Running of the Club.This is the meeting we have looked for all season . We have done enough Talking about this now is the time to get together with positive ideas.

Lets not waste this opportunity

John

This absolutely fantastic news. At least now the destiny of the club is no longer in those idiots hands, and anyone who really wants to try make a difference can do so.
    I would presume getting a proper board in place would be priority number one, with a guaranteed seat for the supporters club on this board very high on the agenda.
    The days of moaning about the committee are coming to an end, its now time for us to put up or shut up!!

Being at the meeting I can assure you it has now become neccessary to have a public meeting and remove the current shower.

The board of the Supporters' Club was invited to the meeting because we were told the insurance had not been paid, and if it wasn't paid by the end of the week Limerick would be unable to finish the season. We were also told that the players were uninsured, which was completely wrong as their insurance is paid by the League through their league fees.

We arrived at 8:00 to Hanratty's hotel where we were asked before the meeting informally by committee members whether or not we had money. I think everyone can see where they were heading.

The meeting started at 8:00 sharp, and the unpaid insurance was discussed for the next 35 minutes. We were told that it was unpaid, that the committee had paid a lot of money out over the years and personally were unable to finance the insurance.

Then at 8:35 Noel Hanley proclaimed that the insurance was already paid.

This was an extremely strange thing to happen as this was the reason the meeting was called. He refused to tell us how it had been paid or why we had gone through 35 minutes of being lied to. I asked the following question:

"If the members of the Supporters' Club present had offered 200 or 300 euro each to help pay the insurance would you have taken it despite it already being paid?"

I was not given an answer to this question. As all members of the committee read this on a daily basis I would appeal to them to contact me and clarify the point. This was an incredibly odd thing to happen and we need clarification on it.

What does everyone think of this?
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

I can see your point, But would the Supporters committee have been prepaired to contribute towards the Insurance, being a member myself I would have been in favour of supporters helping keep the club running, I mean what's the point of having a supporters club with money at its disposal and no club to support.

Unhappy

I wouldn't believe Noel Hanleys radio. A timely warning though for the public meeting.
    You're ruining a grand game

People who know him a long time have cause to doubt him, I agree with you. I remember a few of the stunts pulled in Rathbane in the late eighties, early nineties, but I can honestly say, he's the best of a bad bunch when it comes to this lot, and hes not a bad secretary at all. At least he's amenable to the fans, and is in touch with the reality of the current situation.

This meeting will now Take Place on Tues 18th Novemebr in the Garda Club Sexton St. All Supporters should come along. Time to follow but prob 8pm

John

re;

Great to hear about the meeting theres no doubt it's long overdue,well done to all who was involved in setting it up.Alot of questions will have to be answered that night and it's up to us all to attend and show our support for the club.

lims fan

best ever

a meeting called to discuss uppaid insurance which was paid. These guys are thiefs and this proves it.
    By the way who has stolen my alias - I want it back!

Hopefully this isn't going to be a false dawn. The club needs and deserves a change of fortune

Re: best ever

Originally posted by lims fan
    By the way who has stolen my alias - I want it back!
    Yeah, I was wondering about that myself to be honest. thought maybe you'd reregistered or something.