Thread: Clash of the fans longford 2008

47 Posts
    If I survive two nights of Motorhead I will try get down for a look.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

30 Posts
    i will be collectin the full town kit off our kitman friday nite aarons brother frank.. was politely told they all have to be returned.. wonder will athlone play in their home jerseys?? whats the colour ash??
    We will be playing in a blue kit (with yellow trim) which has been kindly donated
    to us for the day by a local team.

Was going to look for the proper Town kit but we have Wexford at home on the evening before so its in use.

Plus, with the dodgy referee lined up () didnt want any clash with the black stripes!

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    We will be playing in a blue kit (with yellow trim) which has been kindly donated
    to us for the day by a local team.

Was going to look for the proper Town kit but we have Wexford at home on the evening before so its in use.

Plus, with the dodgy referee lined up () didnt want any clash with the black stripes!

at least its a similar colour to the home kit for ye.. except for black of course..

It is great to see how great a response this game is getting and thanks to everybody for the good wishes and donations so far but unfortunatly the club, or rather some people within the club are either trying to make sure I look like a FOOL or just don't want this to succeed as the money is not going to the club (even though i suggested that they open the shop and bar and get money for the club that way !). I say this as i have just been informed (at 9:30pm on the thursday before the game) that kick-off for our "clash of the fans" must now be at 4pm as the under 20's are playing at 2pm and take preferance over us. This even though I asked in writing 2 and a half months ago if I could use the pitch and was told that there was no other games on that sunday. One month or so ago the under 20 fixtures came out and only at 9:30 before the game do I get told this !!! I am deeply annoyed about this as i have it advertised in the local media and have posters all around the county and I have also organised that the people from AWARE come down on their day off for it to recieve the money.
    Unfortunatly now we have to change outside the dressing rooms and don't get a warm up or anything and the whole sence of occasion is taken from us !
    I have always been the first to stand up for the club and always tried to help in everyway i could even as far as since I have been out of work, on more than one occasion I spent the last e15 I had in my pocket. Well I have to say that after they begrudgingly let us play on sunday if I can't afford to go to Flancare Park I just won't go. I will only be made look like a FOOL ONCE by anybody or any club ! As the saying goes "ONCE BITTEN, TWICE SHY". Also the next time I organise anything I will go somewhere that the people appriciate you !
    De groot nummer 10

47 Posts
    Massop, one should not be surprised at the ****e that goes on in this club.

Oh I'm not surprised, just annoyed with myself that i trusted them so much !!!!!
    De groot nummer 10

1,104 Posts
    That's crap alright. No two ways about it, you've every right to feel hard done by. You should have been told when the fixtures came out if there was a clash and you went through the proper channel of asking permission in writing too. Far too often the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. Just to add though that I doubt it would be a deliberate thing because of the money not going to the club, just bad communication within the club.

81 Posts
    It was an eventful game... Not many turned up though

112 Posts
    Who won?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

47 Posts
    Athlone by the odd goal....

we were very unlucky to lose seven nil...

30 Posts
    A big thank you to all the Longford fans who made this event possible. Obviously it was fantastic for us to put one (or seven!) over on our Midland rivals but the main thing was that a nice amound was raised for AWARE and certainly everyone from our side enjoyed the game and were delighted to take part.
    Hope to get a return match organised over in Athlone during off season

112 Posts
    7-0? What was the LTFC line-up? Well done Athlone. Till next time...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

30 Posts
    Despite the scoreline yer keeper had a stormer. Made a unbelievable amount of saves.

And I deny the rumours that Marty and myself made a trip to North Dublin to place a
    few bets on Sunday morning ...

44 Posts

I have to say that was tough going out there yesterday. It was as i think it looked, a football team against a group of lads that met 20 minutes before kick off.
    I know that was my first time to attempt to play 90 minutes in about 5 years and i know there was more than me in that boat on our team.
    That said and enev taking on board the embarresment of the scoreline it was great to get the chance to play out in Flancare so a big thank you to Adrian for all his work in getting the game on, LTFC for eventually letting us on the pitch, The athlone lads and the ref and linesman. I'm a man in my mid-thirties and my footballing days are looking like their behind me and i'll probably not get that chance again.

Good day had by all..

30 Posts
    Have to say when we saw yer organised warm up we were a bit worried!
    We even had to borrow a football to have a few practice shots

Fair play to adrian for organisin the day.. Alot of hard work went into it.. Gave fans a chance to play on the pitch which i sure none of them will forget.. Despite the result!

despite the result it was great fun.... it did get niggly at the best of times but in good spirit... tallonted had a stormer in goals for us.. unitl next time around.. i will ave proper boots and shin pads next time around....

Lads, thanks to ye all that turned up for the game and paid in as if we depended on the people of longford not to much would be made for any charity. Congrats to the Athlone boys on the victory, I got my Da to vote for man of the match and without any doubt it was our SUPER keeper. Who was playing his 3rd game of the weekend !!!!
    I'm just so glad that you all enjoyed the day and also that we had some fun, even in defeat. Just to let everyone know we made 830 euro for AWARE (which is great considering only about 30 turned up !!!!!). There is a do in Begleys Pub in Killoe on Saturday 22nd of this month also for AWARE if any of you want to come along. Thanks again and I will always be greatful to you all for playing your part in the event.
    De groot nummer 10