Thread: How did we not win..

How did we not win..

..i still can't understand how we didn't win that game today.played some magnificent football in the second half and O'Flynns wonder strike from that free-kick deserved to be a winner.we were punished for one lapse in concentration at the back and then robbed by a gutless linesman who was afraid to award us that goal right at the death.john whyte saw it clearly from where he was standing at the corner flag and said it was in, i just hope the 2 points dropped today don't be the cause of us not making the playoffs!

Originally posted by LFC BLUE
    I'd be fairly confident of a 2 or 3-0 win especially considering Kilkenny are missing half their team due to work commitments according to todays Star.i better head away to it now in awile to avoid crowd congestion

Don't know either

Here Ringo, don't be so cocky. You're about to get the backlash next Sunday. Or if there isn't a backlash then Limerick have experienced so much bad karma in the last few weeks that everything will go our way this weekend.

Yesterday's game was amazing. I was trying to figure it out all the way home to Cork. Basically we blew it - we were camped in their half for the second half. Their keeper pulled off one save from Stevo that was incredible. Derek missed another bagful of handy chances (if he converted half of the sitters he's missed he'd have double Alan Murphy's tally ). The referee was absolutely shocking, but we still should have won it despite that. We got our goal and then relaxed thinking we had the job done. Their goal was a result of disgraceful defending - right from the time Jamesie Sugrue lost the ball in possession after Steven O'Mahoney had committed to the overlap.

As for the 'goal' at the end. I think that was a disgrace. Even Kilkenny players accepted it was well over the line. The referee was giving us nothing all day (because JohnD abused him - verbally - in the past - so we could really say that JohnD cost us those 2 points).

Lads, don't rule out a Sligo win tonight though. Kildare needed a last minute penalty to scrape past Kilkenny last week - and we all saw Kilkenny yesterday....

Its important now though to look over our shoulder - Galway might have their sights on Kildare too.

All that said, we were incredibly unlucky. If we had won 4-0 it wouldn't have flattered us.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

This is now how it stands.

EIRCOM LEAGUE FIRST DIVISION

P W D L F A Pts
    Finn Harps 26 15 9 2 47 18 54
    Dublin City 25 15 7 3 35 20 52
    Bray Wndrs 24 13 8 3 39 25 47
    Kildare Co 25 13 6 6 40 30 45
    Limerick 26 10 8 8 39 33 38
    Galway Utd 25 8 12 5 41 33 36
    Sligo Rovers 24 7 11 7 29 30 32
    Athlone Town 26 5 10 11 27 34 25
    Cobh Ramblers 25 6 7 12 23 38 25
    Dundalk 24 4 12 9 27 32 24
    Monaghan Utd 26 3 7 16 23 46 13*
    Kilkenny City 26 2 5 19 22 54 11
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I hold my hands up. I cost us the three points last night !!. Although I would sday that everyone now agree with me re this Referee. He is the worst I have ever seen and Has cost us 4 points over 2 games now.

I walked away at the end of the match for fear I would say something again although some people had a pop off him and rightly so.

However we were are own worst enemy and should have won the game handy. They must be the worst football team in Ireland
    and we still struggled to get a goal. Why was Eoin Keating dropped after a sterling second half in Cobh. James should have played right side midfield with Stephen at right Back and keats on the left. You don't change a winning team. I wonder about the selection last night and feel strongly that there is too much loyalty been shown to players that are playing S**t and still starting. No Wonder we are dropping points

the ref had a terrible game and should have given the goal at the end, it was obvious it was over the line, but ye should have been 4 or 5 up by then. Kilkenny are the worst side i have ever seen- they had 2 shots in the whole game. 5 or 6 nil would not have been an unfair result. great free kick from flynny though

Do you know what lads, I don't even want to talk about it. We missed so many chances, had 3 goals disallowed, were completely shat upon by a hopelessly inept referee who really seems to have an anti-Limerick bias and gifted Kilkenny a horribly soft goal when Conor Molan missed a header. I'm absolutely gutted by the whole experience...

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    Do you know what lads, I don't even want to talk about it. We missed so many chances, had 3 goals disallowed, were completely shat upon by a hopelessly inept referee who really seems to have an anti-Limerick bias and gifted Kilkenny a horribly soft goal when Conor Molan missed a header. I'm absolutely gutted by the whole experience...
    that pretty much sums it up alright. By the way, there seems to be some kind of genetic compulsion for Kilkenny players to waste time- whats that about?!

Originally posted by Éanna
    there seems to be some kind of genetic compulsion for Kilkenny players to waste time- whats that about?!
    Kilkenny know that they're the worst team in the league so they set out to spoil the other teams game plan. They play niggly football (not Cobh style dirty but lots of cynical trips and off the ball crap), bunch in the middle, play long balls everywhere, defend in depth and waste as much time as they possibly can in an attempt to nullify the other team. Their game is all about lowering the opposition to their level and while it makes for crap football I can't say they're capable of a whole lot more. Though Frank Browne showed yesterday why we should have kept him.

I have to say I was a little suprised by the Result.

Footballs a funny old game!

But LFC exile- sour grapes towards the ref - I'm surprised that Limerick were finally at the end of the refs wide spread incompetence in this division. But then again it is only when the result doesn't suit.

The Ref for Cobh Vs Limerick was probably the fairest I saw all season.

[SIZE=3]Footballs a funny old game![/SIZE]

Originally posted by Rams-fan
    But LFC exile- sour grapes towards the ref - I'm surprised that Limerick were finally at the end of the refs wide spread incompetence in this division.
    All clubs feel aggrieved at refs. That's just football. But yesterdays guy was genuinely the worst I've seen and the only time I've felt that the ref was biased as opposed to just inept. LFCIE is generally quite pro-ref so I'm as surprised as you that he's as outwardly critical!

forget about it

might as well forget about it lads ad move on to next sundays game. Look if we were ever going to ahve a minger of a game it was always going to be Kilkenny as they dont know how to play football and Limerick have traditionally had problems with this sort of ammm team! so onto sunday to team who play football whos forwards cause us problems at the back and who always score from set pieces. They have got 30 of the 39 points available to them from away games this year thats some record. They were also the last team to beat Limerick in Limerick on May 1st. Our draw yesterday with Kilkenny (no not a defeat) was mentioned on sky sports last night funny how things go

Painful.....

...... to witness the ineptitude of that ref and linespeople. O'Flynn's goal in the first was completely legit. The injury time goal was exactly that, a GOAL!!! We were right behind that goal and the ball definately fully crossed the line and Homer Simpson linesman could not have missed it so why was it not given? Disagree SLK about Frankie, I thought Jimmy Sugrue had him for the duration. Derek had chances and fluffed them but I woudnt condemn him for this, guarantee you he'll bang in more before the end of the season and he has a habit of getting crucial goals. Heff also missed a one on one that I would have scored.
    One of those bad luck days, I hope it doesnt kill our play off chances. Sligo please do us a favour tonight.

Originally posted by LFC in Exile
    The referee was absolutely shocking, but we still should have won it despite that.
    Hardly sour grapes towards the ref....

The ref made terrible mistakes - not least because of the two disallowed goals and the goal not given at the end. But the referee was not why we only drew yesterday. Our finishing was bad, at one stage Brendan Hughes (i think) was standing on the penalty spot and played it back to the edge of the box for an oncoming attacker. He had more than ample room to hit it himself. (That was just before the first disallowed goal). I think we had only ourselves to blame - and as critical as I would be about the performance we were so unlucky is was unreal. Ah well, sh it happens.

P.S. Pro-ref? Oh dear.

Originally posted by LFC in Exile
    Here Ringo, don't be so cocky. You're about to get the backlash next Sunday. Or if there isn't a backlash then Limerick have experienced so much bad karma in the last few weeks that everything will go our way this weekend.
    Move over Joesoap, that's fortune telling!

Humbled and moved SLK In my defence, I did predict a similar backlash on the DCFC forum