Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Waterford Athlone Situation

Quote Originally Posted by higgins View Post
    Do you know what the previous rule was ?
    Yes, as a Pats fan I was all too aware of the intiricacies of it...

These rules appear much more restricted in what you can do.
    To prevent this precise rubbish from clubs. The FAI can't be accused of bias or inconsistency now because there is only one option.

Previously every single ruling was challenged by clubs. Now its one rule for all

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Dundalk fans are complaining about their club being disadvantaged, yet if Athlone gained a result by fielding an unregistered it would be Waterford that would be suffering through no fault of their own.

Athlone fecked up so forfeited the game- simple.
    Behave yourself!! Waterford disadvantaged my backside.

The player came on with 12 minutes left. If the game had been called off at that point, due to a hurricane, the result would have stood.

As I keep on saying this is not a complaint about Dundalk is being disadvantaged. It that's the rule is clearly and very obviously unfair and if it is maintained we'll be going over this ground again with other clubs. I wonder if Harps were relegated as a result of it, would you see matters in a different light? And before you ask, yes if Dundalk got the advantage of this rule I'd still say its unfair, just as I didn't argue that Dundalk be given 3 points when Rovers played a suspended player against us.
    Last edited by SMorgan; 24/10/2008 at 4:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    It that's the rule is clearly and very obviously unfair
    The amount of people arguing with you would indicate that the "clearly and very obviously" part of your argument is wrong

I can't see one single way in which this rule is unfair

82 Posts
    If Cobh where playing away to Bohs in the last game and needed a win to stay up and Bohs where winning 3-0 and made a substation in the final minute and a player that was ineligible came on. Cobh would then get three points they didn't deserve and stay up. Would that be fair on the other clubs?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I can't see one single way in which this rule is unfair
    I think I'll end my involvement in this debate on that absolute gem.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Exactly. An 11 team premier is the one thing we have not tried, and we all know that ONE of these random changes will sort out Irish football.
    Worthy of a nomination for POTM!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Quote Originally Posted by Higgo View Post
    I just think you're being irrational to be honest. Anyway, we'll never agree so not much point in talkin' any more about it.
    Irrational hatred by a football fan of a rival team....

Who'd have thunk it.

Ok, Waterford can keep their 2 points

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Can't accept that Pats fans behaved disgustingly. No argument on the manager. Himelf and Keely both should've been banned for their part in it
    Sorry Dodge. You remember the Shels fans - I remember the Pats fans. The threats of what Pats fans were going to do to us if we dared show up at Inchicore (remember Eurosaint and his mates) The statement on one board that a Pats fan was going to bring a rifle down to Tolka. The large antagonistic and foul-mouthed crowd taunting Ollie at Richmond who then proceeded to complain to the Gards when he finally snapped at the end of the game. The shower of tykes who showered us with stones from over the wall every time we went there. Sorry, ye behaved disgustingly.

While I do appreciate there were many who didn't associate themselves with that kind of behaviour, I'm sorry, my view of the club took a tarnishing that I can't get rid of.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

47 Posts
    Having met some of the shels apes over the years I dont think anyone can take the moral high ground.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban View Post
    Sorry Dodge. You remember the Shels fans - I remember the Pats fans. The threats of what Pats fans were going to do to us if we dared show up at Inchicore (remember Eurosaint and his mates) The statement on one board that a Pats fan was going to bring a rifle down to Tolka. The large antagonistic and foul-mouthed crowd taunting Ollie at Richmond who then proceeded to complain to the Gards when he finally snapped at the end of the game. The shower of tykes who showered us with stones from over the wall every time we went there. Sorry, ye behaved disgustingly.

While I do appreciate there were many who didn't associate themselves with that kind of behaviour, I'm sorry, my view of the club took a tarnishing that I can't get rid of.
    (remember Eurosaint and his mates)........Oh sorry totally out of context but knowing eurosaint like i do that made me lol just know. He couldnt beat his way out of a wet paper bag with a hammer. Will let you back to your argument now.
    Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional

Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban View Post

I'm not sure if you'll be able to hear me up there on Mount Victim but I'd just like to point out that in all my years following the LoI Shels away support is right up there with Shams away support in the mongoloid stakes.

Whatever ye were getting from the Pats crowd it wasn't going too far astray.

As for the rule does anyone else not think it's very easily open to corruption??

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345