Thread: Owen Coyle

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    That's not an inconsistency. In the Scotsman article, there is an implication that he had a choice to join the SFA u21
    How do you surmise that? The implication is the exact opposite. Why would he think of himself as not being good enough if they'd offered him the choice? And why would he bother mentioning the lowly level at which he was playing in comparison to other under-21 players the SFA did actually entertain?

1,915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    How do you surmise that?
    I don't surmise my opinion, I base my opinion on an accurate understanding of what Owen is quoted as saying

Why would he think of himself as not being good enough if they'd offered him the choice?
    Owen stated his reason, mentioned below.

And why would he bother mentioning the lowly level at which he was playing in comparison to other under-21 players the SFA did actually entertain?
    That was answered by, he didn't feel he was as good as those players he mentioned and would not have been good enough to make the first team.

114 Posts
    I really don't like being disOwened by former players.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    I really don't like being disOwened by former players.
    That one made me recoyle in horror!

285 Posts
    I think Coyle is up his Owen arse
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

366 Posts
    Owen, no!

903 Posts
    Aaaarrrgh. What's with all the punning?

Scot to stop!
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

2,657 Posts
    Hey, I'm a Scot too,
    And this is crazy,
    But here's my number
    So Coyle me, maybe?

And all the Irish boys,
    Tried to change me
    But here's my number
    So Coyle me, maybe?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    876 Posts

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    785 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Two things need to happen:

1. Delaney needs to sound out Coyle and see if he is interested in the Irish job.

2. If he is, John needs to get Denis O'Brien and Trap in a room and negotiate cancellation of his contract. He has just over a yr and half left on his contract now. We're talking around 1&1/4m. Probably get rid of him for just under a million. In the long run it will be money well spent if we can get Coyle in.

This circus has to stop now.
    Glad we didn't get him in. At one stage the "Arsene Wenger Out!" fans were touting Coyle for the Arsenal job. Now lost his last two jobs. On a slide. Who next? Sheffield Wednesday ?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Glad we didn't get him in. At one stage the "Arsene Wenger Out!" fans were touting Coyle for the Arsenal job. Now lost his last two jobs. On a slide. Who next? Sheffield Wednesday ?
    Brian Clough was sacked after 40 days at Leeds. Lucky Forest didn't hold that against him.

Coyle has taken over two rotten teams with loser mentalities who belong in the second division. I wouldn't write him off yet.

1,915 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    Brian Clough was sacked after 40 days at Leeds. Lucky Forest didn't hold that against him.

Coyle has taken over two rotten teams with loser mentalities who belong in the second division. I wouldn't write him off yet.
    Are you implying that he would be a write-off as a manager if took over the Sheff Wed job?

539 Posts

did wigan not win the FA cup last year

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Are you implying that he would be a write-off as a manager if took over the Sheff Wed job?
    No, I was merely disagreeing that we should feel we dodged a bullet by him not becoming the new Ireland manager.

If you want to talk about Wednesday though, I watched my lads take the easiest 3 points we'll take this season from anyone off the Owls last week on Sky Sports. Destined for the drop unless Jermaine Johnston can save them. Coyle would need his head examined to be taking over there.

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    did wigan not win the FA cup last year
    I have no idea who won that cup last year, it means nothing to me anymore. I do know they got relegated and their best players fled like proverbial rats from a ship though.

539 Posts
    I have no idea who won that cup last year, it means nothing to me anymore. I do know they got relegated and their best players fled like proverbial rats from a ship though.
    well now that you do I am sure you'll change your mind that they have a "loser mentality" given they actually won one of the three competitions they were in last year. given the size of the crowds that they attract and the much bigger clubs in their catchement area wigan actually did very well to stay in the EPL as long as they did.

all good players leave a relegated club. no news in that

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    well now that you do I am sure you'll change your mind that they have a "loser mentality" given they actually won one of the three competitions they were in last year. given the size of the crowds that they attract and the much bigger clubs in their catchement area wigan actually did very well to stay in the EPL as long as they did.

all good players leave a relegated club. no news in that
    You must be joking. Wigan are a horrid club in a rugby league area where most football fans support Man United (my English cousin from there is one). Like Blackburn they have feck all fans in relation to their status. They stayed up as it's a vanity project for that ******** Dave Whelan and were eventually relegated despite having many quality players in their squad.

1,915 Posts
    No, I was merely disagreeing that we should feel we dodged a bullet by him not becoming the new Ireland manager.

If you want to talk about Wednesday though, I watched my lads take the easiest 3 points we'll take this season from anyone off the Owls last week on Sky Sports. Destined for the drop unless Jermaine Johnston can save them. Coyle would need his head examined to be taking over there.
    In a sort of roundabout way you are saying his career would be a write-off, if he took the SW job.
    I'd agree that he shouldn't be written off just yet.
    which means he shouldn't go for the SW job

You must be joking. Wigan are a horrid club in a rugby league area where most football fans support Man United .
    Did I not read somewhere that you're a Huddersfield fan?

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Did I not read somewhere that you're a Huddersfield fan?
    You did, and our top level is being competitive in the Championship. We don't have a fanbase for the EPL. If someone bought the club and started splashing the cash to get us into the EPL to tread water and eventually be relegated, the majority of the fans would hate it. Instead we have a sensible chairman who spends sensibly (we're due 8.3m for Jordan Rhodes and we've banked the most of that for the future stability of the club) and the fans are perfectly happy to slowly build a squad and maybe one day get promoted on merit. In the meantime, beating top of the table on Burnley on Saturday with a good young manager and some exciting young players is good enough.

24. Thanks From: