Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Attendance figures now published.....

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    An uncharacteristically high attendance of 801 at Saturday's mid-table meeting of Camarthen - Aber to add to that.

Still tracking to be the best supported season ever for the Welsh league - credit crunch or not. (Though admittedly, we are talking very small numbers).

I'd love to see the likes of Newport Co in the WPL, as they get over a thousand at their games in Blue Square South. But I suspect the fans would rather see their club go bang than let that happen after all that occured in the early 90's.
    Newport County's average attendance for this season is 970. Link There's no chance of them voluntarily joining the Welsh Premier because they have delusions that they're destined to become a Football league team and are a sleeping giant waiting to wake up. Last season aside though, they haven't come close to a promotion for several years; indeed they might go down this year.

The highest league average attendance has been 300, in 2003/4. At the moment, it's 311 this season, but we've just had the festive period. Give it a few weeks, and the glamourous NEWI Cefn Druids v Airbus fixtures will have us back to normal.

Carmarthen Town v Aberystwyth has attracted some reasonable attendances over the years; it's not exactly a mid-table game either with both teams being in the top 6. Also it was a Friday night game which always tends to boost the numbers a bit.

In any case, I'm not sure what point(s) we're arguing over here, since I've already shown that my earlier statement was based on pre-festive fixtures when the averages were indeed down.
    "Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."

"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison

Getting back to the attendances thing....

Average attendance: 834 (to 3rd January)
    Highest attendance: 9500 (approx.) - Linfield v. Glentoran, 26th December 2008
    Lowest attendance: 91 - Newry City v. Dungannon Swits, 5th December 2008

Its mad to see that the lowest attendance is less than a hundredth of the highest attendance I never thought it could be that low in the IL

I take it there is still no exact figure for the BluesvGlens game yet???
    Last edited by SolitudeRed; 20/01/2009 at 1:34 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by SolitudeRed View Post
    Getting back to the attendances thing....

Average attendance: 834 (to 3rd January)
    Highest attendance: 9500 (approx.) - Linfield v. Glentoran, 26th December 2008
    Lowest attendance: 91 - Newry City v. Dungannon Swits, 5th December 2008

Its mad to see that the lowest attendance is less than a hundredth of the highest attendance I never thought it could be that low in the IL

I take it there is still no exact figure for the BluesvGlens game yet???
    91 people at a newry city match that is a disgrace.

Thats what happens when a small village team in a GAA stronghold Co. Tyrone play in a GAA city.
    Linfield Football Club - Hatchets & Hammers - You Can Only Envy Us

A Blue 52

25 Posts
    They are towns not villages.
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

Quote Originally Posted by Graemerz View Post
    Thats what happens when a small village team in a GAA stronghold Co. Tyrone play in a GAA city.

Newry is a city in Co Down.

What small village are you talking about?

Quote Originally Posted by Dassa View Post
    Newry is a city in Co Down.

What small village are you talking about?
    I assume he's claiming that Dungannon is some sort of hardcore GAA town/"village".

Which is just not true.

Newry is hardly a big GAA city either.

Yeah, I was somewhat puzzled by that post myself.

I assume he's claiming that Dungannon is some sort of hardcore GAA town/"village".

Which is just not true.

Newry is hardly a big GAA city either.
    Nope unlike you steve i have no political agenda. It was my error though, Dungannon isn't a village, it is a small country town though with not much going on in it. Dungannon have only ever turned out in numbers once before in their senior career whcih was an Irish Cup against Linfield. Newry is a small city, with 95% of the city prefering the orange/white and red/black rather than the blue/white.

A Blue 52

Nope unlike you steve i have no political agenda. It was my error though, Dungannon isn't a village, it is a small country town though with not much going on in it. Dungannon have only ever turned out in numbers once before in their senior career whcih was an Irish Cup against Linfield. Newry is a small city, with 95% of the city prefering the orange/white and red/black rather than the blue/white.
    Have you any evidence to back this up? God forbid we should be making sweeping statements

You really are a poor quality WUM Graemerz.

Firstly, you have conveniently ignored responding to a challenge on your incorrect assertion that Dungannon is some kind of GAA stronghold. It isn't.

Secondly - as Jersey Red has pointed out, you're making sweeping generalisations of areas you appear to know little about, without even pretending to back them up.

And then you resoort to feeble personal digs to try to deflect from where you're going wrong.

"Stop digging" would be the best advise for you now....

You really are a poor quality WUM Graemerz.

Firstly, you have conveniently ignored responding to a challenge on your incorrect assertion that Dungannon is some kind of GAA stronghold. It isn't.

Secondly - as Jersey Red has pointed out, you're making sweeping generalisations of areas you appear to know little about, without even pretending to back them up.

And then you resoort to feeble personal digs to try to deflect from where you're going wrong.

"Stop digging" would be the best advise for you now....
    I never once stated Dungannon was a GAA stronghold. It was however you stating that I had said that. Dungannon is a small quiet town. The club have never had a big fanbase and i doubt they ever will. Feel free to prove me wrong about Newry though. Compare the attendances at Newry showgrounds to those at the ground next to it.

A Blue 52

I never once stated Dungannon was a GAA stronghold. It was however you stating that I had said that.
    Unless you're claiming that the "small village team in a GAA stronghold Co Tyrone" you were referring to is Newry - I think the above is cast iron proof.

Dungannon is a small quiet town.
    At least you're acknowledging it's not a village any more.

Compare the attendances at Newry showgrounds to those at the ground next to it.
    What relevance does that have ? Down GAA is a COUNTY TEAM. So will attract suport from throughout the county. The crowds at Celtic Park in Derry are much bigger than at the Brandywell, and both stadiums are right next to each other. Does that suddently suggest that Derry is a GAA stronghold/city ? Does it hell. Down GAA play in Newry for the same reason Derry GAA play in Derry - because they're the biggest population centres with the best facilities. Not because either are GAA towns.

There are GAA strongholds throughout Co Down - Kilkeel, Castlewellan, Downpatrick etc. As the biggest settlement in the county, Newry obviously has a decent number of GAA clubs - but it has historically been more of a soccer city.

Unless you're claiming that the "small village team in a GAA stronghold Co Tyrone" you were referring to is Newry - I think the above is cast iron proof.
    yes, most of Co. Tyrone is GAA. Take Omagh Town for example folded simply because they didn't have a fanbase, therefore no money. Dungannon however is one of the few small towns within Co. Tyrone that would have very little interest in GAA. The football club are a small family run club.

At least you're acknowledging it's not a village any more.
    Already have within the thread. I said it was my mistake.

What relevance does that have ? Down GAA is a COUNTY TEAM. So will attract suport from throughout the county. The crowds at Celtic Park in Derry are much bigger than at the Brandywell, and both stadiums are right next to each other. Does that suddently suggest that Derry is a GAA stronghold/city ? Does it hell. Down GAA play in Newry for the same reason Derry GAA play in Derry - because they're the biggest population centres with the best facilities. Not because either are GAA towns.

There are GAA strongholds throughout Co Down - Kilkeel, Castlewellan, Downpatrick etc. As the biggest settlement in the county, Newry obviously has a decent number of GAA clubs - but it has historically been more of a soccer city.
    Tell ye what go shopping in the Buttercrane or the Quays, count how many Newry City shirts ya see in comparison to the GAA tops on display. If you can honestly come back and tell me you seen more Newry City shirts fair play to ya.
    Last edited by Graemerz; 28/01/2009 at 3:48 PM.

A Blue 52

Tell ye what go shopping in the Buttercrane or the Quays, count how many Newry City shirts ya see in comparison to the GAA tops on display. If you can honestly come back and tell me you seen more Newry City shirts fair play to ya.
    You're probably more likely to see Meath or Dublin GAA shirts these days in the Buttercrane in all fairness.

Plus, GAA stronholds like Kilkeel and Castlewellan are 'feeder towns' for the shopping in Newry.

Which shows how pointless such an exercise is in proving relative support levels.

If I see more Donegal or Tyrone GAA shirts in the Foyleside than City ones (often happens) does that therefore mean that Derry is a GAA stronghold ?

You're probably more likely to see Meath or Dublin GAA shirts these days in the Buttercrane in all fairness.

Plus, GAA stronholds like Kilkeel and Castlewellan are 'feeder towns' for the shopping in Newry.

Which shows how pointless such an exercise is in proving relative support levels.

If I see more Donegal or Tyrone GAA shirts in the Foyleside than City ones (often happens) does that therefore mean that Derry is a GAA stronghold ?
    Where is Derry?

A Blue 52

Where is Derry?
    Is this a philosophical question, a political one, or just more nonsense.... ?

I'll give you a clue - it's not a small GAA village in Co Tyrone....

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Where is Derry?
    It's where the Apprentice Boys are from.

I find this trait of telling other people what the name of their town is very infantile.

Just respect what others call it - life will be a lot easier.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    It's where the Apprentice Boys are from.
    And the siege, the cricket club, the rugby club.....

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    I find this trait of telling other people what the name of their town is very infantile.

Just respect what others call it - life will be a lot easier.
    I couldn't agree more.

Yet again, Graemerz shows himself up as nothiong more than a politically-motivated WUM... Anyone else would get a warning from the Mods over something like that

3,488 Posts
    If you have a problem with a post, report it. Mods aren't omniscient.

LOL at you calling anyone a WUM though.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast