Thread: Bottle Throwing from Upper Tiers.

there was a few fights in the bend betweem the davin and cusack...There was trouble there for the whole match.

I was in the Davin Lower and saw a few digging matches going on during the 2nd half were the school kids were sitting in the cusack stand. I keep saying it theres an element attaching themselves to supporting Ireland that we do not need and they are going to ruin it for the rest of us.

82 Posts
    Seen a three lads in the Chinese in Drumcondra one had a busted face, one was crying his eyes out and the other lad was arguing with two guards. Didn't see what happened but it isnt really a sight you'd expect to see before a match.

Source or bin? Nobody else seems to agree, which makes your post potentially just a troll.

Goes for everyone on the thread too. Very easy for this to descend into another bitch fest.
    careful now.....

Source or bin? Nobody else seems to agree, which makes your post potentially just a troll.

Goes for everyone on the thread too. Very easy for this to descend into another bitch fest.
    I said I saw references to fighting elsewhere but they were probably a load of balls. Other people have since said they personally witnessed fans fighting. Whats the problem with what I said? How is that trolling?

There's been hassle in the Cusack for the last few matches with the 'schoolboys'. In Lansdowne I used to bring groups up and at least if they were near any idiots they could move - seated that's impossible. I'd never bring a group of kids into that area. It's a shame because the ticket prices are very reasonable. Security is as good as useless there too.

I sit in lower davin between the goal the the cusack corner, not too far from that area.

I try not to pay too much attention to it and could not say for sure but it seems to be just groups of dumb teenagers annoying other groups of teenagers and generally acting the biloxi. Attention seeking is what it is.

The problem is that with each passing game they're getting a little more messy, getting a little more attention from the rest of the crowd and maybe online afterwards and consequently the messing gets worse.

It started with mexican waves originating in the same area. In the last few games the waves haven't caught on, so maybe now it's moved on to different types of attention seeking.

That they'll align with shirts of various clubs in the process is no surprise either. Monkey see, monkey do.

Hopefully the FAI and gardai will take note and nip this in the bud. The stewards need to be briefed on how to handle it, it can't be easy for them. They can't just grab kids and throw them out, they'd have solicitors letters in the post next day.

I feel sorry for the many genuine young people in that area who must look forward to seeing the game only to have their experience ruined with this.

As for the point about standing up when children behind, I think it's fair to say most genuine fans whilst they might prefer to be standing would happily sit down if blocking a childs view. 99% of people wont remaining standing just to be obnoxious and pick fights with the parents, that just doesn't happen with real fans.
    Gimme dat

75 Posts
    i was there for the brazil match and there was a large group of teenagers girls and boys wearing the colours of a northside club who were looking for trouble the whole game and goading another southside clubs group of tosser schooligans who were about 10 rows back.The average age was about 15 complete numptys who had drink in their Boost bottles.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by DubJohn View Post
    I sit in lower davin between the goal the the cusack corner, not too far from that area.

I try not to pay too much attention to it and could not say for sure but it seems to be just groups of dumb teenagers annoying other groups of teenagers and generally acting the biloxi. Attention seeking is what it is.

The problem is that with each passing game they're getting a little more messy, getting a little more attention from the rest of the crowd and maybe online afterwards and consequently the messing gets worse.

It started with mexican waves originating in the same area. In the last few games the waves haven't caught on, so maybe now it's moved on to different types of attention seeking.

That they'll align with shirts of various clubs in the process is no surprise either. Monkey see, monkey do.

Hopefully the FAI and gardai will take note and nip this in the bud. The stewards need to be briefed on how to handle it, it can't be easy for them. They can't just grab kids and throw them out, they'd have solicitors letters in the post next day.

I feel sorry for the many genuine young people in that area who must look forward to seeing the game only to have their experience ruined with this.

As for the point about standing up when children behind, I think it's fair to say most genuine fans whilst they might prefer to be standing would happily sit down if blocking a childs view. 99% of people wont remaining standing just to be obnoxious and pick fights with the parents, that just doesn't happen with real fans.
    I have seen this at the last few matches as well. Maybe the guards could be doing more to stop this sort of behaviour as it seems to happening every match in the same area, the stewards wait until something happens before then turfing some young fella out and it becomes a big deal and the young fellas get more excited. If there was a prevention is better than cure attitude of having a big presence in the area it might stop this carry on. Some people might say this is heavy handed but this sort of ****e is a nuisance and puts people off going to games. The young fellas doing it have just watched a few to many clips of Danny Dyer, the like that chant "lets go ****ing mental" en masse outside. I wont judge because i may have been like that when i was younger but i would hope they look back in later years and cringe.

This is what happens when you move games to the Northside.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

634 Posts
    I think it would be nice/good idea for the FAI to embrace the fans now, rather than just taking money and throwing plaudits every once in a while.

The difference in terms of support between home and away games is a little bit embarrasing, I feel anyway. I mean there were instances the other night when fans cheered when McGeddy was taken off corner duties in the first half, and jeered when we moved the ball back to a full back from midfield.

It would be nice to think that a proper fans area (and family area at that) could be incorporated into the new stadium, they have plenty of time to get something off the ground, all they would need to do is include a form indicating whether the holder wants to sit in a specific area or not.

I still say the best atmosphere's were with LoI fans in the middle of the terrace. Proper noise and colour.

Make it so JD.

Anyone else feel anything similar?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post

I still say the best atmosphere's were with LoI fans in the middle of the terrace. Proper noise and colour.

Make it so JD.

Anyone else feel anything similar?
    For what I have been reading on here I am so happy to be in the LOI section .

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    I said I saw references to fighting elsewhere but they were probably a load of balls. Other people have since said they personally witnessed fans fighting. Whats the problem with what I said? How is that trolling?
    Because you specifically cited Shamrock Rovers and Bohs fans, which no-one else has backed up. That's just asking for a flame war.

36 Posts

Wink

sorry lads. I think I may have to go against the grain here.

I sit in upper davin surrounded by a mix of people. young fellas, people my own age (early 30s), we even have a happy couple in there somewhere. We all stand up and join the chants, cheers, etc we've even started a few! but frankly I have no intention of standing for an entire game. And neither do most of the people around me or indeed going to LR/Croker. I'm afraid the LOI fans are simply in the minority.

I went to quite a few ucd games in my day but I wasn't in the 'cool kids' crowd singing behind the goal. I went, cheered, watched football and went home. simple as. I've also been to a great many club matches in scotland and the atmosphere varies from club to club from match to match. Some are 90 mile an hour - others are quite sedate. In fact I've rarely seen atmospheres like I've seen at derry/cork for example. (local derbies aside) I can assure you Falkirk V Dunfermline is quite low key.

I don't feel particulary self concsious and I didn't think the bulk of the people around me were either. They simply don't fancy jumping up and down like mad. It's just not like club football.

As for young fellas looking for attention, I'll happily add my voice to the clamour for them to be neutralised. I'd prefer not to hear about someone getting seriously hurt at an Irish international - which is the way it seems to be heading. Also not entirely sure about bringing very young kids to a football game but each to their own.

back on point. A larger, more concentrated LOI fans section would seem to be in order. I'm not saying you shouldn't sing but don't be sneering at other 'fake fans' who don't feel the urge to join in.

also a reality check - LOI fans don't have a greater moral right to dictate the nature of the atmosphere at ireland games. LOI and the ireland team are only tenuously linked despite what you might wish.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by dynamo kerry View Post
    sorry lads. I think I may have to go against the grain here.

I sit in upper davin surrounded by a mix of people. young fellas, people my own age (early 30s), we even have a happy couple in there somewhere. We all stand up and join the chants, cheers, etc we've even started a few! but frankly I have no intention of standing for an entire game. And neither do most of the people around me or indeed going to LR/Croker. I'm afraid the LOI fans are simply in the minority.

I went to quite a few ucd games in my day but I wasn't in the 'cool kids' crowd singing behind the goal. I went, cheered, watched football and went home. simple as. I've also been to a great many club matches in scotland and the atmosphere varies from club to club from match to match. Some are 90 mile an hour - others are quite sedate. In fact I've rarely seen atmospheres like I've seen at derry/cork for example. (local derbies aside) I can assure you Falkirk V Dunfermline is quite low key.

I don't feel particulary self concsious and I didn't think the bulk of the people around me were either. They simply don't fancy jumping up and down like mad. It's just not like club football.

As for young fellas looking for attention, I'll happily add my voice to the clamour for them to be neutralised. I'd prefer not to hear about someone getting seriously hurt at an Irish international - which is the way it seems to be heading. Also not entirely sure about bringing very young kids to a football game but each to their own.

back on point. A larger, more concentrated LOI fans section would seem to be in order. I'm not saying you shouldn't sing but don't be sneering at other 'fake fans' who don't feel the urge to join in.

also a reality check - LOI fans don't have a greater moral right to dictate the nature of the atmosphere at ireland games. LOI and the ireland team are only tenuously linked despite what you might wish.
    I'll just take a wild guess that you've never been at an Irish away game.

Football matches should be atmopheric. Why bother paying 50 or 70 quid to go to a match when you can enjoy that match equally at home on the tv if all you are doing is watching the match, barely supporting the team? By the way, I'm not having a go at anybody in particular here.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dynamo kerry View Post
    Problem is that that's what we have at the moment, except that clubs went off and gave tickets to everyone who wanted one. If we now leave the eL section to one side and set up a dedicated eL section, we're back at square one...

Obvious solution is to bring back terracing, so people who want to stand can, and people who want to sit can. Both annoy each other, both have valid points and this seems the easiest way. But our PC world won't allow it unfortunately.

Being honest have seen no hassle at any games in Croker yet (although could not make Stans last game last year in 1-1 draw at home to cyprus)

But is it me our are we slowly starting to fickle into English type fans

Now before I see red faces let me explain

Im not saying this in hooligan way at all there is a few scumbags starting to go to games but as the tayto add says theres always one.

What I mean is that for instance we starting to boo our own players, we start to give them that sarcastic cheer when they are substituted if they did not play well

I especially noticed it the other night was that everytime an Irish player made a mistake they were chorus of moans etc ... noticed more then in past

some fans just dont seem to have patience and think this is getting onto the field.

I think the media are to blame too. Some the things some of them are coming out with is just utter bo*lox.

I mean should we not be getting behind the team.

I feel some of the fans are just waiting for something to go wrong and there on the feet shouting abuse and insults.

I think the enjoyment of the games seems to have lost a touch because of small things i admit but all combined it has a knock on effect

What ye think am I talking bull or do some ye agree?

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian View Post
    Being honest have seen no hassle at any games in Croker yet (although could not make Stans last game last year in 1-1 draw at home to cyprus)

But is it me our are we slowly starting to fickle into English type fans

Now before I see red faces let me explain

Im not saying this in hooligan way at all there is a few scumbags starting to go to games but as the tayto add says theres always one.

What I mean is that for instance we starting to boo our own players, we start to give them that sarcastic cheer when they are substituted if they did not play well

I especially noticed it the other night was that everytime an Irish player made a mistake they were chorus of moans etc ... noticed more then in past

some fans just dont seem to have patience and think this is getting onto the field.

I think the media are to blame too. Some the things some of them are coming out with is just utter bo*lox.

I mean should we not be getting behind the team.

I feel some of the fans are just waiting for something to go wrong and there on the feet shouting abuse and insults.

I think the enjoyment of the games seems to have lost a touch because of small things i admit but all combined it has a knock on effect

What ye think am I talking bull or do some ye agree?
    agree. last wed at one stage we passed the ball back from the midfiled to the back 4 to retain possession and the crowd moaned. most people attending our home matches at the moment dont have a clue

I'd agree on the sense of impatience in the crowd but I don't think there's been any booing (of our players/team) since Stan's last game against Cyprus and, whether you agree with it or not, that was done for a particular reason

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    I'd agree on the sense of impatience in the crowd but I don't think there's been any booing (of our players/team) since Stan's last game against Cyprus and, whether you agree with it or not, that was done for a particular reason
    I agree to extent that dont think its that noticable just notice few jeers (maybe more so then boos) at the players at times at still does not feel right too me.

Agree too on your second point even though I dont think myself it was right but was expected

Like my previous post I said that I never saw trouble fighting wise but plenty on this thred have

I suppose its really what you see with your own two eyes or hear is what you perceive.

Like for instance for the Wales game last year we were in Davin Lower and I taught the atmosphere was good enough whereby the people I knew who sat in the hogan or cusack taught it was pox.