I think he just mentioned that 'security' or something came/or asked for it to be taken down and it was taken down, I ony noticed at half time as the large one on Upper Hogan was gone so I checked my own. Not sure who physically removed it as I was watching the game.
I got the impression he (the steward) didnt have a high opinion of whoever the request came from.
I don't know if I can really be bothered to reply to the last sentence but Ill try and give a quick summation as to what you are saying. If for example bohs, derry or ireland fans were out causing trouble at a match you and your cronies would be on here saying, this was a tiny minority, these aren't real derry fans etc etc. Objectivity is a great thing when you don't have a personal empathy to one side or the other. This broken glass stuff happened feck all over the country etc and was done by some ignorant narrow minded fools the same fools you see on a saturday night looking for fights.
Anyway enjoy your boycott, I hope you don't mind missing out on watching us play Italy when we are on the crest of a wave and qualifying for a world cup. Oh well at least I can only assume you are boycotting as you wouldn't pay the "broken glass spraeders" a cent....
I hope that boycott extends to rugby and eh those other gaelic matches you were at in croke park too
"wouldn't" and "have" are very similar in certain circumstances![]()
AFAIK it hasn't happened in over 25 years. However it wasn't local yobs. In many cases it was the main guys in the local GAA club.
I know people who have firsthand experience of this. One guy who hadn't missed a home game for many years still hasn't gone to Corke Park. Another only decided to go on the morning of the Wales game. He still goes to all home and most away games.
Although I've never had to pick broken glass out of a goalmouth myself I've expereinced firsthand also the bigotry of the GAA at the time. Things are a lot better now (at least in the Republic) but there is a story that the media in this country won't touch.
Gary I was't saying it was yobs, what I was saying is they are cut from the same ilk as those ignoramouses who fight lads "from outta town" on a saturday night. The ones who don't acheive much in life and their local community.
Come to think of it I remember playing on pitches that had broken glass but I always assumed it was just some eejit leaving a glass bottle that got smashed on the field.![]()
Paul, you asked a question about the use of the big screen in Croker as you doubted the accuracy of what I said.
I clarified.
The last sentence was indeed petty, narrow-minded and historic but reflects my opinion that the FAI shouldn't have allowed itself to be bent over a barrel to play in Croker. And as far as I'm concerned, not allowing "soccer" to be shown on the big screen is a continuation of the historic defensive GAA mindset.
ORA, I can't remember for definite as its been a while but i assume you can as you have probably been there more recently than I have for gaelic, unfortunately coming from where I do I don't have much of a reason to be in croker lately, but I don't remember them ever showing replays of the gaelic during half time either - i always remembered it as sponsorship ads etc. But I take the point if thats not the case.
Last edited by OneRedArmy; 29/10/2008 at 10:12 AM.
I know what you are saying but I'm saying that I don't ever remember that screen actually showing anything other than advertisments during G.A.A games....
sure what else would they have to show except the match people are there to attend? are they supposed to put something different on each screen? maybe they could hand everyone in the crowd a remote control so they can choose what they see. i think the complaint is very weak
If it was that important to them then why did they sign the deal?
The fact that the GAA own the stadium and the FAI are paying for the right to use it gives/gave the GAA the upper hand in the negotiations, Clearly they would be foolish not to recognise this and to take advantage of it for their own benefit. You & I may think it's petty but they undoubtedly see it as looking after their own product and unfortunately as it stands they call the shots, I don't doubt for 1 second had the situations been reversed the FAI would be playing hardball just as much.
Incidentally it seems the GAA & IRFU have a more amicable relationship, than with the FAI perhaps the FAI need to look at their part in the deal?
It is petty, that was the point. The IRFU to date, haven't been much of a threat in terms of grassroots playing numbers. Soccer has always been the no1 enemy.
With the recent successes in provincial and national rugby and a fairly sizeable increase in recreational playing base (not yet translated into the adult game), I wouldn't be surprised to see the GAA position harden.