Thread: Utd Vs Bray.

Two crackers there in that game. Jay's second and Faherty's second.

Bray have a habit giving up once they think they're safe. It happened last year and, in the end, we had to beat Sligo on the last day to avoid the playoff.

Earlier in the year, we went on a good run and we were twelve points off relegation at one point, iirc. Then we started dropping points cause the players elaxed. We beat Cobh 2-1 a while back and once again we struggled afterwards. We beat UCD a while back as well then we dropped points afterwards.

The performances were slowly picking up against Bohs and Rovers and then we beat Derry. One more win would keep us up and, with all respect, Galway is one we should be looking to win. Insted of that, we go out and get spanked.

It's really frustrating to see.

That said, fair play to yez for picking yourselves up again.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    i was not at you match last night but arsenal are not one of the teams that sprang to mind after the sligo performance- a bit more wimbledon. not that ye didnt deserve a point by the way
    Since mid September GUFC are playing some of the best football they have played in the last ten years.While comparisons with Arsenal are ott, the game in Sligo was way below what we have produced recently. The main reason for this is, in Galway we have a pitch that you can play the brand of football that Kenna wants them to play, in Sligo you have one of the worst pitches in the premier division. Although it will be very tough, hopefully you will see the type of football we can play on the telly in the FAI cup semi final against Derry on Sunday week. I'm sure you will also see Derry play a very attractive brand of football on what is one of the best pitches in the league.

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan View Post
    That Monaghan game was in the Premier Division in October 2001 (2001/02 season). Last night was our biggest Premier Division victory margin since.
    We also got relegated that season!
    Tony Mannions first game in charge after the departure of Roddys style hero, Mr Dave Connell. IIRC

64 Posts
    On the subject of the pitch , it looked great as usual lastnight despite the lashing rain. It really is a credit to Noel Connolly and anyone else that looks after it.
    If that match had been on in Richmond it would have been called off

Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Lads, anyone think Vinnys goal will make Goal of the month on MNS> I think its pure class!!!

JK was taken off cos he was fading in the second half. And Connemaradonna (S Conneely)was just excellent defo our young player of the year. Russeler and Jayo for our POTY. What a great game for a good sized crowd given the conditions.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

37 Posts
    Anyone notice that one of the floodlight pylons wasn't working?

So who did they get to fix it?

Ex United player Mixie Harty, who is an electrician with a local company.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

cant remember who was saying it earlier in the day (friday), but they were saying that J Keane was going into the match with a bit of an injury, that was picked up in training. My guess is this is why he came off, as a precaution?

I will give it a go at fixing the floodlight for free if need be ? If Im correct there is about 6 or 7 sparkies that attend terryland religously !

Doesnt mean it will work.

Just because alot of sparkies attend games doesnt mean they can fix it.A sparky friend of mine once "had a go" of fixing an electric box and ended up knocking out power to half of Woodquay for 2 hours.No,im sure ye could do it,im just glad it didnt spread and game went on.
    Cobh won last night though,DOH.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Anyone notice that one of the floodlight pylons wasn't working?

So who did they get to fix it?

Ex United player Mixie Harty, who is an electrician with a local company.
    One Mixie Harty! There's only one Mixie Harty!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    One Mixie Harty! There's only one Mixie Harty!
    actually there's 2
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!