Thread: Bottle Throwing from Upper Tiers.

Bottle Throwing from Upper Tiers.

Did anybody hear of any fans getting injured from two full contour bottles being chucked from the top tier in the Hogan, just underneath the scoreboard?

Seen it happen with my own two eyes, two full bottles, chucked from someone in the exits, out over the edge.

Really could have hurt someone seriously from that height.

The steward beside the terrace didn't even know it had happened

How these/this scumbags got into the match I don't know...

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Did anybody hear of any fans getting injured from two full contour bottles being chucked from the top tier in the Hogan, just underneath the scoreboard?

Seen it happen with my own two eyes, two full bottles, chucked from someone in the exits, out over the edge.

Really could have hurt someone seriously from that height.

The steward beside the terrace didn't even know it had happened

How these/this scumbags got into the match I don't know...
    saw that myself. the culprits were pointed out by some fans and it appeared to me that the stewards didnt want to act

Was there a shams v bohs face-off as well? In the Davin stand (Canal end) allegedly. Just going by what I've seen on some messageboards so it could be a load of balls.

Was in the Davin Upper myself and there was a fight right behind us..dunno what it was over, seemed to be 2 drunk scrumbags..not nice for the kids in the area to be seeing though

That's a disgrase if that happened.

Has anyone noticed that it is becoming a little intimidating in certain quarters attending the home games lately.

Even the away games seem to be attracting an element. I noticed at the Georgia game when john o 'donoghue was doing his broadcast he was been heckled and some idiot insisted on making a proper fool of himself, eventually they cut short the broadcast. And then you had the idiot who ran onto the pitch at that game (not the lad at the legends game)

You always get a few who try and ruin it for the rest of us. We dont need these clowns
    Last edited by greendeiseboy; 16/10/2008 at 3:45 PM.
    I have a head only Snow White would love

Calm down the people outside the Porterhouse in Mainz were not scumbags. It may have got a bit boisterous but it was generally in good fun and Tony O D took it in good spirit. Do not compare that with guys throwing bottles and fights etc.
    In Trap we trust

Green, do you nkow who the eejit you refered to is now?

We were in the lower Hogan and the two bottles landed 2 or 3 rows in front of us. Luckily they didn't hit anyone in the head. It created a sense of unease for the rest of match wondering if more were going to be thrown.

Totally out of order and made worse if the stewards actually had the scum pointed out to them and did nothing. They were probably too busy making sure fans didn't hang their flags up.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Green, do you nkow who the eejit you refered to is now?
    got you now Paul - misread what you meant - you could be right!!

You got to ask yourself why did Tony O D do it outside a pub if he it was only about team news etc. It was not. It was done outside a pub in Mainz to get across the Irish fans who had travelled and the atmosphere building up etc. RTE were using that location for a reason and fair play. It probably went a bit overboard but it was all good fun in the end and nobody got hurt etc.

I am sure whoever annoyed you is sorry that they bothered your Friday night in watching the news. As I said it is wrong for that incident to even be mentioned in the same thread as the other ones and to some how say it represents some sort of bad element travelling to games.

Its all very easy to make these comments from the comfort of your couch
    In Trap we trust

The stewards are only there to watch the match. They never see anything else.

Angry

there was a fight in the lower cusack with about 10 mins left i couldnt really see what was going on there looked to be good few involved....
    sickening to see that sh1te going on between our own fans

Was this fight where the guards came in, and i thought saw a small bit of smoke from a firework or something?

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    You got to ask yourself why did Tony O D do it outside a pub if he it was only about team news etc. It was not. It was done outside a pub in Mainz to get across the Irish fans who had travelled and the atmosphere building up etc. RTE were using that location for a reason and fair play. It probably went a bit overboard but it was all good fun in the end and nobody got hurt etc.

I am sure whoever annoyed you is sorry that they bothered your Friday night in watching the news. As I said it is wrong for that incident to even be mentioned in the same thread as the other ones and to some how say it represents some sort of bad element travelling to games.

Its all very easy to make these comments from the comfort of your couch
    Yeah right, he didn't annoy me in fact up to a point i thought it was funny - up to a point but then it got out of hand

What about the pitch invader and the other points in the post - do you condone this

BTW it was on the six news - went out later on and got hammered myself and started doing the same thing to the CCTV cameras - what a laugh that was

Ya was a few rows behind that in the lower Cusack myself. It wasn't really a fight, no punches thrown but not far off.

It started round half way through the 2nd half when a few youngish lads stood up for an Ireland song, and a couple of more affluent, older lads behind got thick and told them to sit down as they had small children.

Anyway, the lads in front began to stand up more and more often seemingly to basically annoy the lads behind, and then the older lads had a go again pointing out the children and everything developed from there until 2 Gardai came in and calmed things down.

It's a tough one really to know who was right there as you go to a match to sing along and create an atmosphere so you shouldn't be haggled for doing so but then what are you supposed to do with the small children? Anyone have any opinions there?

Personally I'm totally against people telling others to sit down at a match. What would they do if they were at the Bulgaria-Italy match last week where they were standing for the 90 minutes?
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    Was there a shams v bohs face-off as well? In the Davin stand (Canal end) allegedly. Just going by what I've seen on some messageboards so it could be a load of balls.
    Source or bin? Nobody else seems to agree, which makes your post potentially just a troll.

Goes for everyone on the thread too. Very easy for this to descend into another bitch fest.

Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    It started round half way through the 2nd half when a few youngish lads stood up for an Ireland song, and a couple of more affluent, older lads behind got thick and told them to sit down as they had small children.

Anyway, the lads in front began to stand up more and more often seemingly to basically annoy the lads behind, and then the older lads had a go again pointing out the children and everything developed from there until 2 Gardai came in and calmed things down.
    A wonderful example to their kids.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    That's a disgrase if that happened.

Has anyone noticed that it is becoming a little intimidating in certain quarters attending the home games lately.

Even the away games seem to be attracting an element. I noticed at the Georgia game when john o 'donoghue was doing his broadcast he was been heckled and some idiot insisted on making a proper fool of himself, eventually they cut short the broadcast. And then you had the idiot who ran onto the pitch at that game (not the lad at the legends game)

You always get a few who try and ruin it for the rest of us. We dont need these clowns

what ever happened to him?

Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    Yeah right, he didn't annoy me in fact up to a point i thought it was funny - up to a point but then it got out of hand

What about the pitch invader and the other points in the post - do you condone this

BTW it was on the six news - went out later on and got hammered myself and started doing the same thing to the CCTV cameras - what a laugh that was
    It was not the six news it was the nine o clock. I was there at it was at 10 o clock Irish time, unless they the repeated it on the Saturday night. It happened at around 20 past 10 German time or 20 past 9 Irish time.

I do not condone the pitch invastion. that guy is a muppet and could have got the FAI a fine etc so why would I condone that. I do not even think those things should even be compared. Hence why I took umbrage at you even bringing up the Tony O D incident on the 9 o clock news and it is so far away from the other incidents mentioned in its seriousness.
    In Trap we trust

544 Posts
    they should fill hill 16 with the schoolboys from now on to keep them out of everyones way