Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Drogs seek examinership

37 Posts
    At this rate, Galway United might stay up without kicking a ball. Just like our promotion!!

\\0//
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    At this rate, Galway United might stay up without kicking a ball. Just like our promotion!!

\\0//
    I think I'd even get a kick out of Dundalk bottling promotion and Galway being promoted/not relegated over them in place of Drogheda

147 Posts
    United were mercilessly slaughtered when they came out, said there were moneyproblems and had to release players and cut wages to stay afloat. Phat Dolan jumped on his steel-reinforced soap box, the PFAI had a whine and we were the bad guys. Now looks like we acted in time and saved the meltdown others are now experiencing. Last week, PFAI praised Drogheda for being so honest, must have got a different musical instrument as they certainly changed their tune from when we had to CUT wages, not CANCEL them as last year's CHAMPIONS did.
    Last edited by WoodquayBoy; 12/10/2008 at 10:44 PM. Reason: spelling
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by Maynard View Post
    Harps, Sligo, Cobh, Cork and Drogheda all have cases to answer this year alone. A very poor reflection on the 2008 season.
    Excuse you but Sligo Rovers have no case to answer, maybe to the Rovers fans themselves but not the league or anyone else. We have NOT cut individual players wages, we have NOT missed any payments to players and we have NOT done anything wrong. Don't know how many times it needs to be said on here for people to take it in. 'Begging for donations' as you put it is not a violation of any rule.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    United were mercilessly slaughtered when they came out, said there were moneyproblems and had to release players and cut wages to stay afloat. Phat Dolan jumped on his steel-reinforced soap box, the PFAI had a whine and we were the bad guys. Now looks like we acted in time and saved the meltdown others are now experiencing. Last week, PFAI praised Drogheda for being so honest, must have got a different musical instrument as they certainly changed their tune from when we had to CUT wages, not CANCEL them as last year's CHAMPIONS did.
    Couldn't agree more, was discussing the exact same point with a few Utd supporters in Sligo on Sat night.

We have NOT cut individual players wages, we have NOT missed any payments to players and we have NOT done anything wrong.
    So carrying over a big tax bill from last season while persisting with unsustainable full-time football is your definition of doing nothing wrong?
    We may not have defaulted on payments to players, but we still contributed a lot of negative publicity for the league and made ourselves look like fools.

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    We may not have defaulted on payments to players, but we still contributed a lot of negative publicity for the league and made ourselves look like fools.
    Like I said, the only people the club have to answer to is the fans.

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    I design league tables for eircom league with an extra column - Penalties Imposed - and so far it is well used
    I never could figure out what that column was for, now I know!
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maynard View Post
    Ah sorry - misread the post - thought we were talking about this season. Ye next year is the "old" format.

Back on topic if UCD were to go down this season and either Cobh, Harps or Gaillimh stayed up I'd be feeling pretty cheesed off considering all the off-the-field BS.
    To be fair when we realised we didn't have enough money to pay players we let some go so that we'd remain inside the salary cap.

Cobh, Harps, Drogheda and Cork all conveniently waited until after that so that their players couldn't join other eL clubs - and to think Harps were looking to sign some of our players from us!!!

I find it hard to see how Drogheda can get a Premier Division licence for next season, if only for the reason that United Park isn't up to Premier Division standards and they now have no solid plans for a new ground.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Bets on how many asterix by the end of the year?
    There's no need to drag Belgian cartoon characters into the melee....

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    There's no need to drag Belgian cartoon characters into the melee....
    He's French, or at least Gaulois ... but Belgian!

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    I find it hard to see how Drogheda can get a Premier Division licence for next season, if only for the reason that United Park isn't up to Premier Division standards and they now have no solid plans for a new ground.
    Oriel had problems last year too didn't it? If the ground was the only issue, would Drogheda fans accept playing in Dalymount (or elsewhere in Dublin)?

Looks like last man standing will take Uefa places this season.

It is all very well wanting teams to be relegated but only a few first division clubs can get a Premier licence. I also imagine some first division clubs would not want to get promoted as do not have the structures to cope with.

82 Posts
    I think this coming season, moreso than previously, the Licensing process will be under even more scrutiny.

I honestly can't see how Drogs can get a Premier License, either on financial or infrastructural criteria.

Unless the criteria changes of course!

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    It is all very well wanting teams to be relegated but only a few first division clubs can get a Premier licence. I also imagine some first division clubs would not want to get promoted as do not have the structures to cope with.
    If any club gets a premier license, they will absolutely talk the premier place.

If Cork and drogheda are demoted, the 10th and 11th place team in the premier division will stay up. Do you think Cobh, UCD, Harps or Galway will refuse that plce?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Oriel had problems last year too didn't it? If the ground was the only issue, would Drogheda fans accept playing in Dalymount (or elsewhere in Dublin)?

Would accept playing anywhere , even in the first div as long as we are still alive as a club.Dundalk would be much easier tbh, 15 mins by car plus regular buses that drop you around the corner from the ground .Woulkd love to line the pockets of my Dundalk cousins for a while

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    So carrying over a big tax bill from last season while persisting with unsustainable full-time football is your definition of doing nothing wrong?

Agree with this 100%

Publically stating that you need X amount of thousands to see it through to the end of the season, midway through the season is almost as bad as some of the other behaviour IMHO. I mean, it's not like there haven't been enough clubs up Poo-Poo Creak over the last number of years to forewarn clubs against overspending. It is just plain indefensible at this stage of the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I think a lot of fans would have a problem with this and it would cause lasting long term damage to the already fickle* fanbase ( I see on another thread some 'fan' wants drogs to go out of business ahead of a drop down to Div 1)
    Personally speaking, and I'm not alone in this, its a relief that all this nonsense is unravelling. The CRAZY proposals for the stadium were never going to go through - anyone who has ever had any dealings with the planning authority/nra in Ireland could tell you this. There were a lot of people involved in DUFC who were only ever after making personal gains while using the excuse of 'developing drogehda united as a commuinity project' as a front. If drogs can clear out the unbelievable amount of dead wood that doolin has bought over the last couple of seasons and we go back to div 1, get a few young local lads involved, give united park a lick of paint and lash in a few seats here and there, well there is no reason the future cannot be anything but bright.

* Complete Gimps

Quote Originally Posted by ciaraa View Post
    Personally speaking, and I'm not alone in this, its a relief that all this nonsense is unravelling. The CRAZY proposals for the stadium were never going to go through - anyone who has ever had any dealings with the planning authority/nra in Ireland could tell you this. There were a lot of people involved in DUFC who were only ever after making personal gains while using the excuse of 'developing drogehda united as a commuinity project' as a front. If drogs can clear out the unbelievable amount of dead wood that doolin has bought over the last couple of seasons and we go back to div 1, get a few young local lads involved, give united park a lick of paint and lash in a few seats here and there, well there is no reason the future cannot be anything but bright.
    Ciaraa - who do you really support or are you a Drog on drugs?
    You are very much alone in your thoughts. Please name and shame those wh o were in it for the money
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I'd say some of the clubs didn't bother applying for a Premier Licence for this season. I'd say we would if the chance of promotion was there. Better to struggle, but with greater exposure and better opposition/ bigger travelling supports than stay in the wasteland division.

Fair play to Drogs on one thing - they've managed to successfully spin this as being a planning issue about the stadium, when it's fairly obvious the actual stadium part of the scheme is the least of the planning systems worries.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast