Thread: team selection against Queenstown??

team selection against Queenstown??

My team to start against Cobh tomorrow night would be:

I know, I know....dropping Stevo??? Shock, horror...I just think that Rossi's pace up front(where he has played on several occassions with Waaaherfurd) might give us back the cutting edge we've been missing. Shane's performances since he came back from Korea have been a big step up on what they were, so I think he's worth a go out wide again.
    Just my opinion....3-1 win btw...brace from Carthy...free kick from twitch..

My team would be:

Healy

O'Mahony Purcell Finucane Keating

O'Donoghue Sweeney Hughes Cosgrave

McCarthy O'Flynn

Subs: Fyffe, Molan, Sugrue, Whyte (if he's back from his honeymoon), Heffernan

--------------------------

Healy continues in goal because Fyffe's not ready. Back four stays the same except Conor's dropped to the bench after a hesitant display against Bray and to accomodate Hughes and Sweeney in midfield. Cosgrave and O'Donoghue have both shown more intent of late than Heffernan who's only a shadow of the player he was last season and is in real danger of falling into brain-dead winger territory. Up front I'd go with the two lads, they are our two top scorers and in my eyes at least our biggest threats. On the bench I'd like to see John Whyte because not many of our other players could match Cobh physically if need be.

You'd have to be confident of victory with a side like that - we really have a strong squad when every one is available. If we could hold it together next season I really think we should be pushing for the title.

My one change from SLK's would be Sugrue instead of O'Donoghue. Small change though.

I would not drop Stevo. He is not performing as well lately as he did previously but he is still a dangerous player and can do it. Joe, stop stirring up the shi t just forthe sake of it.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Hi lads For what it's worth here is mine:

Fyffe (Fit or Not)

O'Mahony Purcell Finucane Keating

Sugrue Sweeney Hughes Cosgrave

McCarthy O'Donoghue.

Stevo is not doing it at the moment for me !!

Originally posted by LFC in Exile
    . Joe, stop stirring up the shi t just forthe sake of it.
    Deeply, deeply offended at that remark As if I would.....
    Anyway, I wasn't stirring on the team selection one...I do believe thats how we should go!!

Wait until Lims Fan sees that two of ye have dropped his idol, I can see much name-throwing!

Maybe we should bring back Ciaran Foley and Anton Mannering...maybe throw Noel O'Connor back in as manager for a game or two.....then you would hear him doing some major league name-throwing!!

Don't forget Barry Ryan so! We'll start with 3 up front (Ryan, Foley and Mannering) and play Noel himself in midfield! And I'll even go in goal ahead of Healy. Though that might be for the best!!!

Lims Fan's ideal Limerick XI

Healy

Browne Kerley Poill Baker

Barry Ryan, Gareth Ryan, Weldrick, Donnellan

Foley, Mannering

"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

lims fan

very dubious

john d what are you on? That is practically the exact team that was destroyed by mighty athlone a game I still envy you for not turning up for.
    O'Donoghue is muck and dropping Molan for 1 poor game (in slk's opinion) merits disrupting the back 4's alignment thus putting them all out of sync!! Crazy talk.

We have a decent starting 11:

Fyffe (fit or not)

O'Mahoney Finucane Purcell Molan

Heffernan Sweeney Keating Cosgrave

O'Flynn McCarthy

Subs: Sugrue, Healy, Hughes (and John White to carry the kit)

Ok I hold my Hand up its a fair cop..I only put O'Donoghue in to Annoy you but seriously Stevo is not playing well at the mo.

Must be blindfolded re my roots but I would start Sugrue on the left side of midfield.

btw love the John White role

Re: very dubious

Originally posted by lims fan
    merits disrupting the back 4's alignment thus putting them all out of sync!!
    Sounds like you know more about Star Trek than you do about football!

Seriously though, you always told us was Molan was crap. In fact according to your website he was "Out of his depth when he played " I've always rated him but think that Keating offers a bit more flexibility overall and is quicker.

lims fan

equally

a player is allowed to improve as molan has by my acknowledgement inproved 100% this season

Re: equally

Originally posted by lims fan
    a player is allowed to improve as molan has by my acknowledgement improved 100% this season
    Well fair play for acknowledging that at least!