Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: Leagues Financial facts & Rumours thread

3,489 Posts
    The ground isn't really anything to do with it; all the money went on assembling a large squad to win the league, and now the backers' money has run out. The ground's just being used as a smokescreen by Hoey to blame everyone else other than himself.

Edit - damn you Dodge, pre-dissing my post!

Well aren't you all very precious

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Well there is a pretty general statement
    If you know of a better way to talk about the general public in an area.

wonder how many other clubs can raise 100k in a week from its uncaring supporters.
    I reckon quite a few would make a decent fist of it if push came to shove.

I'd not sure how many Limerick folk would be queing up to hand money over hand over fist to an old fool mind.

Drogs should be ashamed of their uncaring selves.
    Are you really that dense that you can't see the difference between Drogheda people in general and Drogheda United fans

Intersting coming from a supporter of a club based in a city but has been plagued with money issues over the years and can gather no real substantial support from a CITY based population.
    There are at least a half dozen clubs in this town not including Limerick FC that would be bigger than Monaghan or Kildare for example.

There are eight AIL clubs in and around the city.

Limerick is a county that actually has GAA teams.

Oh and there's this little outfit called Munster Rugby playing out of the cities northside.

Couple that with literally dozens of financial scandals within senior football in the last twenty years in the city and you get the idea. Limerick people arent fools and will gradually need coaxing back.

But of course if Fr. Joe Young or Pat Grace or Danny Drew et al were running the show up in Drogheda all your Tiny Tims would probably be forming an orderly line with their piggybacks.

Glass houses my friend and stones don't mix.
    Jesus wept.

But while I'm here I'd just like to point out how pathetic Drogs crowds have consistently been despite your on field success.

There is zero football tradition in Drogheda when compared to places like Dundalk, Sligo, Limerick.

Before Hoey and his gangster mates came along and helped to destroy the league by paying out money you could never possiby afford you lot were Monaghans baby cousins. Now that the money is gone (if you're very very lucky) you can go back to being Monaghans baby cousins.

Also Emmett Malone was at the public meeting last week and wrote an article about it here - might change your opinion (then again maybe it wont as some people can't change)
    That article is a disgrace, the worst kind of heartstring tugging pap and I always thought Malone had more brains than that. Robbing pensioners and widowers to feed money into the gaping chasm left by a man who at best is a complete and utter idiot is nothing short of sick and you should be ashamed of yourselves.

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Things have changed big time downhere this season. Playing budget was cut by a huge amount and this season only Wexford, Limerick and Kildare were playing of lower budgets than us. Even Monaghan were running of higher costs than us
    I find that very hard to believe

Seven weeks into the season a sponsor pulled out for economic reasons and that deal was worth 35k a season. In July we had another sponsor pull out and that was worth 10k a season
    45k should hardly be club ruining

It is payment of past debt that is killing us we are totally up to date with the revenue (this season), league fees, referess fees etc
    Find this very hard to believe aswell and even if it is true your players went weeks without paying which isn't on

We are one of the clubs running in profit this current season even with the sponsorship problems we have had.
    If that's according to the FAI's definition of profit my only reply is .

If it isn't then you're obviously running a fantastically tight ship so where's the big problem??

We expect sponsorship to be down at least 70% next season in the midlands area.
    A problem of course exclusively confined to the Midlands area..............................

LTID: Maybe have a look closer to home and ask your own committee where you would be without Jack McCarthys money this current season
    No need to ask my commitee champ, I keep my ear fairly close to the ground and am fairly handy at the oul basic addition and subtraction.

without judging someone elses club that you know nothing about.
    The last couple of seasons you pinched clubs from other teams offering them money you could never afford to pay therefore scoruge on the division.

Now the chickens are coming home to roost it's the credit crunches fault.

Shur everything has always been hunky dory according to yourself and you're now on here questioning me about my knowledge of my club?!?!

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Whats your point?
    What do you mean what's my point??

The league is on its fcukin knees and it's not the FAI's fault, it's not the Premierships fault, it's not the medias fault, it's the clubs, THE CLUBS who are at fault.

Whatever about the likes of Dublin City, or even Drogheda going to the wall, an institution like Athlone Town?!?!

It's fuppin depressing lads.

And the sooner people get their heads out of their holes the better.

Now I hope they survive, honest I do, I always liked Athlone as a club, there's some good people there, but it aint so long ago they were on here bragging about their zillionaire backers and winning the league.
    Funny the way some people here think that a few geeks on an internet football forum are reflective of the whole support of a club.
    Like most people I know from athlone wouldnt even know how to turn on a computer!

Quote Originally Posted by ciaraa View Post
    Funny the way some people here think that a few geeks on an internet football forum are reflective of the whole support of a club.
    Like most people I know from athlone wouldnt even know how to turn on a computer!
    Well can only comment on the people I know from Athlone.

They post on here.

They are good people.

They blah blah you get the idea

As a club Athlone Town feckin fancied themselves a couple of years ago though.

What sort of budgets are required to run a middle of the road 1st div team
    eg ballpark managers wages and pplayers wages?

Quote Originally Posted by Pedro m View Post
    This season you're maybe talking 200k all told

That's including travel, meals, training etc etc etc

Next season I reckon you could run a middle of the road First Division team off whatever change you have in your pocket right now

Well can only comment on the people I know from Athlone.

They post on here.

They are good people.

They blah blah you get the idea

As a club Athlone Town feckin fancied themselves a couple of years ago though.
    lol yeah sorry didnt mean to single you out LTID - just think its funny the way people go on taking forums as gospel etc. The average drogs fan is a different breed from the average drogs forum user (thankfully).

edit: sorry for taking this off topic and I really hope ATFC dont drop out too by the way...
    Last edited by ciaraa; 12/12/2008 at 3:55 AM.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pedro m View Post
    Minimum €120k-€150k I reckon and thats with an all amature, expenses only,
    squad.

84 Posts
    150k minimum to run a team just to survive in the league and player expenses with that would be very minimal

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

47 Posts
    We are not very healthy ourselves at the moment a few issues to be sorted out before the season begins. Midlands Utd anyone
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Schadenfreude - literally, shameful joy - thanks to LTID I will indulge in some next time Limerick go broke (shouldn't have too long to wait with their record)

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Midlands Utd anyone
    Theres already a Midlands Celtic in Div 4A of the CCFL!

75 Posts
    there is a midlands athletic from Grangegorman played with them many years ago. Sorry about Athlone Ash used to go to Mels before loi football found Galway. Even was aactually at the famous Milan Game,
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Even was actually at the famous Milan Game,
    Now if we could just get the 100,000 people who say they attended that match to help us out we would be sorted

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

maby this will make you feel better to hear its not just our teams that have financial trouble. I'm sure MTZ-Ripo won the league a few years ago.

Hearts' financial concerns appear to be increasing after news from Belarusian side MTZ-Ripo that playing staff have not been paid for almost six months. Ripo receive the vast majority of their income from companies owned by Hearts owner Vladimir Romanov. (The Scotsman)

Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    Actually, most of their money problems, I would imagine, come from the ridiculous wages they gave to players in 2007. They were reported to have the highest wage bill in the division that season.
    Have to laugh at the speculation people come up with.
    You say in your post "i would imagine". That translates into simple english as "I dont have a clue what i am on about but ill add my tuppence worth in to stir up some shi* to the speculation"
    Concentrate on your own club.

69 Posts
    Not stirring. You had the highest wage bill in the First Division in 2007. One player in particular was on €800 per week. If that's nothing to do with your current money problems, fair enough.

1,104 Posts
    There were three on over €1000 a week gross that season. If I remember rightly the Athlone lads on here freely admitted it. Their manager at the time didn't really grasp the concept of gross wages and was agreeing figures into the hand with players, like the good old days.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Their manager at the time didn't really grasp the concept of gross wages...
    Had he never seen a payslip before?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

1,104 Posts
    Well he was certainly paying no attention to the fact that figures had to be more or less doubled from what he agreed as far as I know. Athlone were intent on making a push for promotion so they went along with it. The likes of Davy Byrne and Paul McTiernan couldnt believe their luck.

Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast