Thread: FAI Marketing Campaign 2009

FAI Marketing Campaign 2009

I think most people have read about the FAI Fans Forum on Saturday in Abbottstown. One of the main focuses on the day will be the FAI's Marketing Campaign for 2009, with the opportunity for fans to offer ideas that they think would work for next years campaign.

This is the last chance for fans to give their ideas en masse (people can email what they think would work any time) and people are encouraged to bring along any promotional ideas and marketing initiatives (bring pictures, storyboards, concepts, etc.) they feel should be discussed, and obviously any questions they want to ask as well.

With that in mind, does anyone have any ideas they think would work? Is there anything that not being done but that could/should be done?

Over this season loads of us on here have said that there isn't enough marketing, and that more should be done. Do you have any ideas? Is there anything you want to see?

P.S. Who on here is going to this as well?

me massop 10 and ltfc2004 are goin on sat...

People are always complaining about there not being a good marketing campaign and the FAI not promoting the league properly so now is the chance for the fans to have an input into the future one and to help sculpt a campaign that will attract people.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    I think most people have read about the FAI Fans Forum on Saturday in Abbottstown. One of the main focuses on the day will be the FAI's Marketing Campaign for 2009, with the opportunity for fans to offer ideas that they think would work for next years campaign.

This is the last chance for fans to give their ideas en masse (people can email what they think would work any time) and people are encouraged to bring along any promotional ideas and marketing initiatives (bring pictures, storyboards, concepts, etc.) they feel should be discussed, and obviously any questions they want to ask as well.

With that in mind, does anyone have any ideas they think would work? Is there anything that not being done but that could/should be done?

Over this season loads of us on here have said that there isn't enough marketing, and that more should be done. Do you have any ideas? Is there anything you want to see?

P.S. Who on here is going to this as well?
    I strongly feel that a reduction in the admission price to €12/€10 is a must. Clubs will not want to due this due to the 65% ruling next season but I feel for the sake of the leagues future it is necessary.
    Division 1 Champions 2007
    Bring on the City derbies!!!

1,101 Posts
    They can start by making a better fist of the TV ads if they're going to do any. That one with the two lads in Dalymount was cringeworthy. Have a decent ad with crowd scenes or action or at least some sort of atmosphere to it, not just two fellas going "ah sure it's great isn't it, you'll come out ya will?".

84 Posts
    These forums in my opinion are great ideas as there is a lot of excellent knowledge out there and now they have a voice

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

2,770 Posts
    i think something along the lines of the Pats poster would be a very direct tactic. Obviously not as inflammatory to the poor barstooling souls but get that message out there. Support Irish. Take pride in being Irish. Celtic, ManU, Pool etc etc are English.

exciting ads, as mentioned above is another must. The league has enough of a "one man and his dog" image - show shots of the fans going nuts, great goals and so on... get the blood pumping, show the masses that it is football and its up there with the Premiership in terms of entertainment.

Get clubs to lower prices (value for money a must) and introduce reward schemes to new/floating fans.

Just some initial thoughts...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by The Rebel Ram View Post
    I strongly feel that a reduction in the admission price to €12/€10 is a must. Clubs will not want to due this due to the 65% ruling next season but I feel for the sake of the leagues future it is necessary.
    Man, i cant see that happening. Its more people through the gates that we need. The league games are the cheapest gig in town. You cant name another event on the same scale that is cheaper. Dropping prices is not the answer .... but hey, make your case for it and send it to Noel Mooney.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    They can start by making a better fist of the TV ads if they're going to do any. That one with the two lads in Dalymount was cringeworthy. Have a decent ad with crowd scenes or action or at least some sort of atmosphere to it, not just two fellas going "ah sure it's great isn't it, you'll come out ya will?".
    That TV ad has won awards this year, ahead of some stiff competition so the quality of the ad (the presentation of it) is considered the best in the industry.

If its the concept that you think needs improving, get it down on paper or email or whatever and sent it on.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Exciting ads, as mentioned above is another must. The league has enough of a "one man and his dog" image - show shots of the fans going nuts, great goals and so on... get the blood pumping, show the masses that it is football and its up there with the Premiership in terms of entertainment.
    I'd agree, i go to games, meeting mates, few beers, have a laugh, into the game for a good game of ball, its a great night out and most of us are at a loss when the season ends. Thats what should be conveyed, its actually a great bit of entertainment and most people realise this once they have gone to a few games.

Get clubs to lower prices (value for money a must) and introduce reward schemes to new/floating fans.
    We cannot drop prices, reward schemes yeah but dropping prices is mad. Its the cheapest thing out there. Even basketball games are dearer in Cork. Boxing Night in Neptune in Cork is €75 ... a City game is €15 ..... man the cinema is €10. We cannot drop prices simply because that not the thing thats keeping people away.
    Last edited by A face; 08/10/2008 at 10:03 PM.

1,101 Posts
    I thought you wanted suggestions here?. Martinho as my club rep can tell them if he's reading!.

A good ad to make would be two barstoolers watching a Liverpool/ManU match against yer Fulhams/Wigans. The match they would be watching with Andy Gray commentating would be depressing and boring...screne changes to a ELOI derby game...huge crows...bands...excitement, passion etc....back to gloomy pub with the two lads sying how much such and such cost etc...back to ELOI match etc. A good ad can get more to go to matches!

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I thought you wanted suggestions here?. Martinho as my club rep can tell them if he's reading!.
    Yeah -> "Have a decent ad with crowd scenes or action or at least some sort of atmosphere to it" .... thats good and i think everyone on here would agree with you hands down, but i'd be guessing that the Marketing dept know this as well. You'd need a bit more than that to give a marketing company to work with.

Quote Originally Posted by foxx92 View Post
    A good ad to make would be two barstoolers watching a Liverpool/ManU match against yer Fulhams/Wigans. The match they would be watching with Andy Gray commentating would be depressing and boring...screne changes to a ELOI derby game...huge crows...bands...excitement, passion etc....back to gloomy pub with the two lads sying how much such and such cost etc...back to ELOI match etc. A good ad can get more to go to matches!
    Yeah, i like it ..... and to add to that, something that actually happened

Two barstoolers in a bar, over hear another group of people chatting about the derby game that was coming up, it was 2-3 dubs (Bohs or Rovers fans, or maybe just guys who had an interest in the domestic game) chatting to two Spanish friends. The two barstoolers got up off their seats, walk over to the group, but in giving out about the local derby and running the game down. The two Spanish guys ask where they are from, when were they last at a game, and basically tried to find out what their story was?

The two stoolers were asking the two foreigners who they supported and when their answer was neither Barcelona or Real Madrid the two stoolers come out with "fair play for supporting your own"

89 Posts
    Man, i cant see that happening. Its more people through the gates that we need. The league games are the cheapest gig in town. You cant name another event on the same scale that is cheaper. Dropping prices is not the answer .... but hey, make your case for it and send it to Noel Mooney.
    Don't agree with that, and the County final in Derry was cheaper than the Brandywell. Most National League games are too. Make all the "they don't have wages to pay" arguments you want, but to the floating punter that is what matters.

We need to start paying people less, and spending more on this type of stuff.

Initiatives such as "Kids for a Quid" should be run for LC games etc. These are low profile games that don't attract a crowd anyway. There is a goldmine of Supporter driven initiatives in the UK, we must mine these.

I got a DVD in from Blue Sq with "the best of the Blue Sq Conference 07/08". This was sent out free to Blue Sq customers and although the grounds are no better and the standard is certainly not as good, it is a fantastic product to advertise the Blue Sq. I'll be bringing it along on Saturday. Why can't BoyleSports do the same.

Other partnerships with Boylesports in the same way Rovers have with William Hill to promote the game in the shops.

Clubs should be made to concentrate more on the student market. Offer a special 6/10/12 game "season ticket" to tie in with opening days at third level institutions. At that stage of the season most clubs will know what they are playing for, will know what their crowds are, and therefore can give out sufficient numbers.

You will be able to catch students who may not have followed a side prior to coming to College, and they may come back for the start of the next season.

There are so many cheap/free ways to market this League better.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

The TV ads are very poor. Just enforces the 2 man and a dog reputation.

• Revamp the LOI website (currently it is disjointed & amateur looking) with proper multimedia content
    • TV advert similar to the DVD RTE did for Football rights pitch (great goals, flags, flares (maybe), show the passion.
    • Would like to see them investigate idea of LOI Fantasy football - it is great way of getting interest in the league

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    • Would like to see them investigate idea of LOI Fantasy football - it is great way of getting interest in the league
    That is something that they should seriously look into, and while were at it .... how didn't the FAI ever get in on the five-aside astro turf game? There is so much money to be made here every night of the week, nightowls league as well and they dont see any of it? How did they let that happen?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Would like to see them investigate idea of LOI Fantasy football - it is great way of getting interest in the league
    That and LOI sticker books, similar to this. I used to collect the Premiership ones as a young fella and it got me interested in their league. I don't think it can do any harm here, get kids familiar with the players and history of clubs while they're young and their mind can be changed to supporting the league, if needs be, include an international team section which might entice the younger generation to buy it more rather than if it just has the LOI. If it doesn't work, I'm sure it won't dent the FAI's bank balance too much. Worth a shot in my opinion!
    Last edited by sligoman; 08/10/2008 at 11:02 PM.

89 Posts
    One thing that I've always thought should have been implemented is proper squad numbers. With some clubs wearing 1-11, some wearing squad numbers, and all with their own fonts/numbering, it really adds to a two men and his dog feel to the league.
    Almost all serious leagues in Europe now wear squad numbers, or at least standardised lettering on the back of shirts, and its little things like that that will help show the league to be a little more modern and professional to occasional viewers who probably dismiss the league as being amateur hour. And if clubs in England's League Two can implement standard numbering and squad numbers then I dont see why we couldn't.

1,101 Posts
    Yeah -> "Have a decent ad with crowd scenes or action or at least some sort of atmosphere to it" .... thats good and i think everyone on here would agree with you hands down, but i'd be guessing that the Marketing dept know this as well. You'd need a bit more than that to give a marketing company to work with.
    That's why they work for a marketing company and I'm sitting posting on here at 1.20 a.m. . Over and out.

291 Posts
    I think we should adopt the Ryanair approach and have more witty, cheeky, memorable ads that convey the spirit of the league,

Look a these for example:

http://www.larryni.me.uk/blog/wp-con...08/ryanair.jpg

http://collateraldamage.files.wordpr...02/ryanair.jpg

http://www.asa.org.uk/NR/rdonlyres/E...ryanair_ad.jpg

They stand out, they stick in your mind, they're mildly offensive, they're bold and they'e in-your-face.

57 Posts
    Have some family days at games - advertise them.

Distribute tickets to schools etc with free entry to games for kids accompanied by a paying adult.

Offer group discounts to a company's sports and social club for a night out at a game. Ideal for clubs with a bar too.