The findings of the report will be made public tomorrow, together with any disciplinary actions.
I think what should happen is: Limerick 37 fined €5000 for refusal to play the fixture. Wexford Youths to be fined €2500 for inadequate lighting to their training pitch and Mick Wallace to be fined €5000 for bringing the game into disrepute. Wexford to be awarded the three points. Matter over.
What I think will happen is: Match to be replayed. Wexford to be warned over their conduct and facilities. No sanctions for Wallace. Limerick 37 to receive token fine.
In other words, FAI fence sitting again.
Did the ref refuse to use the training pitch and/or say it was dangerous. If thats the case and the ref was informed the Limerick team would be leaving and the ref didn't refuse them permission, then Limerick should be awarded the points, what more can you do!!!! And Mick 'f*ckin spoofer' Wallace should be hit with a massive fine and have to shave his stupid head!
Mr Soap, I think you have it exactly, and your should explanation is the most logical, hence the reason the FAI is unlikely to go with it.
I'll have to ask every LOI supporter out there if they are sure that their club is 100% compliant with every licence requirement. If not, anything other than a conclusive decision will result in teams refusing to fulfill fixtures on technical grounds.
FAI, have the balls to make a firm decision (either way) and lets all move on
"It does appear that Limerick did not want to play the game. We had noted that it was strange that two of their better players, Gary Sheehan and John Tierney were not in the starting eleven for some reason. Maybe there was problems that we didn't know about."
Is that comment, and the repeating of something similar on the radio, what warrants a €5000 fine? Or am I missing something?
They both started the game before and after our "fixture". As far as I can make out, since June 20th Sheehan has started in all bar one of your games - he came on at half-time away to Kildare. Since he joined, Tierney has started in 7 games and came on in the other 2.
Not once since they've both been at the club have both of them been left on the bench. Seven games out of 9 they've both started - as far as I can make out. Now I know we're just Wexford but Athlone are just Athlone and they both started down there. Either of them friendly with NOC by any chance?
Maybe Mick shouldn't have said what he said but he's known for speaking his mind. Don't know if a €5000 fine is warranted.
A question in general, what happens to money raised from fines (flares, disrepute, till rolls etc)?
Limerick didn't refuse to play because of a tecnicality, they refused to play because Mick Wally tried to force them to warm up on what the referee deemed a 'DANGEROUS' surface, also nobodys giving out about Wexfords facilities, ye could have the best facilities in the world but it's no good if its too DARK,![]()
Blueblood, I'm torn between ignoring you or replying and 'cos I've whiskey taken, I'll have to take the 2nd option. You used the word force which is a little harsh. Just because our stewards pointed AK47s at your players gonads, doesn't mean they had to comply, it was their free decision. The referee said he had 'no objection' to L37 warming up on the main pitch, which is slightly different to your asserstion of the facts. I don't think I will be able to sleep tonight because you put the word dangerous in block capitals as well as inverted commas. I'd best leave the light on, just to be careful in case the bogey man comes to get me
You obviously fancy yourself as a bit of an amateur detective.
Well how come you can't see what's right under your nose??
Wexford are $hite.
Hence we rest some of our more valuable assets to avoid them being kicked around by mucksavages like Pakie (whatever) Malone.
Either of them friendly with NOC by any chance?
I hear they're both signing for ye.
Monkeyman better get the chequebook out though, I'd say their "expenses" would be at least as hefty as Failure Sinnotts.
He's known for coming across like a doped up gibbon when asked anything but the most basic questions.Maybe Mick shouldn't have said what he said but he's known for speaking his mind.
Oh it's one of those ironic nicknames.
First of all, this point has been dealt with in the early part of the thread and there's an unwritten rule about reading the entire thread if you're going to post. This is a practical rule in many ways as it saves us having to repeat the cast iron defence that when we play three games in seven days and one of them is against the team they had in mind when they invented the word 'minnows' we are inevitably going to rest a few of our better players and let our kitman and bus-driver get their yearly kickaround out of their system.
I'm not implying that the poster you're attacking is incapable of defending himself but we attack the post not the poster and if you don't get a warning for that it's an absolute disgrace.
Last edited by GenerationXI; 17/10/2008 at 8:12 AM. Reason: I noticed a typographical error...
We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.
- Richard A. Posner
Actually you are missing something. No opposition manager has the right to sh1t stir and speculate about problems within the infrastructure of another side. It's not the done thing. It's none Wexfords business who we play or who we rest just like its none of ours when it comes to your team selection. It was a blatant attempt by Wallace at media manipulation, expertly taught to him over the years by Pat Dolan, thats why he should be fined in order to shut him up.
Nice innuendo about the lads being friendly with NOC. Why don't you just come out and say it-that Gary Sheehan also plays for a team managed by Noel and that is the reason he didn't / wouldn't play. Stop talking shi te will you.
So are Athlone..
To be honest all I knew was that Sheehan was friendly with NOC. One of the Wexford players told me this. Didn't know that he plays for him. Now that I do know that though, not sure if GenerationXI's defence is as cast iron as he says.
Not that I care if the lads weer going to play or not. My only point is that I don't think Wallaces statements warrant a €5000 fine, especially if "media manipulation" is his crime....
I think he should. And he should count himself lucky that fines aren't means tested...he would be done for half a mill![]()
He definitely deserves some sort of reprimand although, to be honest, I think the league should take into account the fact that he's clearly incurred expense in obtaining and installing proper lighting on the second pitch. A slap on the wrist for both clubs and maybe even force them to play the replay at a neutral venue so both sides incur travel costs and neither is ensured of revenue.
I know things are getting heated here, but really it's not a big deal at this point. Although a new wave of bile might be unleashed when we see what steps are actually taken!
We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.
- Richard A. Posner
Well done on the result against Waterford, should help the goal difference over the weekend