Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Game Off

Quote Originally Posted by dublin_owl View Post

(Except Lim til I Die - She/he comes across as a right knob )
    Could be worse, I could come across as a right knob in the countries biggest selling newspaper rather than a forum for the oddest of oddballs who follow the oddball Eircom League.

Or I could be from Wexford.

Or I could be from Dublin.

Or I could be an owl.

Jesus.

Could be worse, I could come across as a right knob in the countries biggest selling newspaper rather than a forum for the oddest of oddballs who follow the oddball Eircom League.

Or I could be from Wexford.

Or I could be from Dublin.

Or I could be an owl.

Jesus.

Touché
    There are really only 10 types of person; those who can read binary and those who can't.

27 Posts

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    The good news from the ref's report is that he comes down heavily in our favour. The Wexford boys were saying so on the main forum if you want to check that out too. Apparantly the referee has said he agrees with us on the state of lighting being a cause of concern for player's safety and he criticises the Wexford stewards and Wallace himself for their behaviour
    and it must be fact if its from you jebus,no lies or unconfirmed tripe from your end not like some ,,oops was that keely who said his team would not kit out in jackman.better check that main thread again.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    I see John Gill is now throwing his 5 cents worth behind Wexford, and getting involved in a matter that is of no concern to him. The media seem to be of the opinion that Wexford and Mick Wallace are the injured party here and I think that the club could do worse than have Mike Kerley make a statement of some description on the matter. His refusal to do so just adds more fuel to the fire.

The sad thing about all of this is that there has been months and months of ball breaking effort and hard work done by people like Kieran Judge, Trevor Beacom and others that now is going to be forgotten and ridiculed. You can't blame clubs like Wexford, Dundalk or anyone for now criticising Jackman because it is a dump, and does deserve criticism. But all of this is coming to light now because of this situation which should have been handled better on the night by Kerley. He shouldn't have boarded that bus...he should have played the martyr and moaned later. Even if he felt there was H&S issues with the back pitch lighting, he still refused a 40 minute warm up on the main pitch and got the team to board the bus and go home. Thats going to be a sticking point when the FAI make any decision, and one that will ultimately go against us.
    Well said and all true.40 mins is plenty of time for a part time outfit,full time pros wouldn`t go thru that routine.
    Lim 37 have now drawn unwanted attention to their own problems at jackman park and kerley hasn`t said one word about it yet.
    I haven`t heard of any other club moaning about the lights down there and I think there is bitterness from earlier in the season when lovelle was told to get off the main pitch before a match that caused a lot of this.
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    I haven`t heard of any other club moaning about the lights down there and I think there is bitterness from earlier in the season when lovelle was told to get off the main pitch before a match that caused a lot of this.
    Not disagreeing with the general points made by you or JoeSoap but Derry City refused the previous week. Earlier in the year lighting probably wouldn't have been such an issue. Also Wallace has put in new lights on the practice pitch since so clearly they weren't that good.

We could have played the game under protest.

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    Well said and all true.40 mins is plenty of time for a part time outfit,full time pros wouldn`t go thru that routine.
    Lim 37 have now drawn unwanted attention to their own problems at jackman park and kerley hasn`t said one word about it yet.
    Curiously, Wexford Youths appear to think there's a problem with them. Unless I've misunderstood one of their supporters on here it is indeed floodlights, and not an Adonis cinema as I initially guessed, that they've just installed in their darkened green space.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

The referee backs us up in his report as well lads, couple that with Wexford installing new lights and I think it's safe to say we won that argument. Still should have played the game mind, actually what we should have done is marched onto the main pitch for our warm up, what are the stewards going to do after all? The ball would then have been in Wallace's court

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Not disagreeing with the general points made by you or JoeSoap but Derry City refused the previous week. Earlier in the year lighting probably wouldn't have been such an issue. Also Wallace has put in new lights on the practice pitch since so clearly they weren't that good.

We could have played the game under protest.
    I still think Jebus should show us his copy of the referees report to stop all this speculation but I'll have to answer some of these points. The FAI took control of Ferrycarrig Park for the final and allowed Derry warm up on the main pitch as soon as they made the request. Mick wasn't happy and said so. He has a right to make his feelings known.

Additional lights have gone up on the training pitch. They are not match standard floodlights. There would be no conspiracy here. If our ground EVER requires anything to improve it, Mick has it done immediately. No-one must have raised this issue before. We ask, we get.

I was never there, but I believe that Jackman Park is ...eh..a little basic. I think your management has drawn a lot of unwanted attention on your own Health & Safety issues and many managers have now come out in the media to confirm it. I don't recall any managers criticising the lighting on our warm up pitch since the game was called off

I admire the loyalty you and your fellow supporters show your club, but people in glasshouses etc
    Last edited by oldyouth; 14/10/2008 at 5:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    The referee backs us up in his report as well lads, couple that with Wexford installing new lights and I think it's safe to say we won that argument. Still should have played the game mind, actually what we should have done is marched onto the main pitch for our warm up, what are the stewards going to do after all? The ball would then have been in Wallace's court
    I don't think the referees report is going to count for much in fairness. It does comment upon the bad lighting, and also that the Wexford stewards were aggressive in their manner. It's the FAI delegates report that will influence the hearing. It would only be the refs concern if anything happened to influence the game, and seeing as there was none....

I would agree with you in so far as they should have walked on to the pitch if they really wanted to...but that raises the question as to why didn't they? Something still doesn't add up as to why this game wasn't played. Why bring lads 3.5 hours down to Wexford on a bus, 4 hours down there doing little or nothing, and 3.5 hours back on a bus if you're 'resting' them, for a game of very little consequence? Why was he resting them in the first place? Its hardly as if they've been killing themselves all season long as both are only with the club a short period of time, and are young and injury free.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 14/10/2008 at 1:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    I still think Jebus should show us his copy of the referees report to stop all this speculation
    If you know anyone at your club ask them...both clubs will have received copies. And the referee is pretty critical of Wexfords stewarding policies and back pitch lighting in it.

Foot.ie!

I
    Something still doesn't add up as to why this game wasn't played. Why bring lads 3.5 hours down to Wexford on a bus, 4 hours down there doing little or nothing, and 3.5 hours back on a bus if you're 'resting' them, for a game of very little consequence? Why was he resting them in the first place? Its hardly as if they've been killing themselves all season long as both are only with the club a short period of time, and are young and injury free.
    i would have to agree 100% with you joe,there is a lot more to this than meets the eye and i dont think we will ever get the full story.the players and supporters must have felt very frustrated on that journey home

I admire the loyalty you and your fellow supporters show your club, but people in glasshouses etc
    Totally irrelevant. Jackman Park is a kip. In fact it's probably the kippiest kip in this league of ours that specialises in them. I've never pretended otherwise and nor has anybody else from Limerick. The issue here, as far as the warm up goes, is that we make all of our terrible facilities available to everybody.

Mick Wallace, because he's a pretentious, vain ego with legs and lots of hair, refuses to do the same. He may see himself as some kind of corinthian paladin of righteousness and hope but he's squarely in Don Quixote territory for me now.

As for there being more to this than meets the eye of course there is and a lot of it isn't even that hard to figure out.
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 15/10/2008 at 10:07 AM.

30 Posts
    The only dressing rooms I've seen that are worse (or on a par anyway) than
    in the Jacks are the ones we had in St. Mels Park.

47 Posts
    Totally irrelevant. Jackman Park is a kip. In fact it's probably the kippiest kip in this league of ours that specialises in them. I've never pretended otherwise and nor has anybody else from Limerick. The issue here, as far as the warm up goes, is that we make all of our terrible facilities available to everybody.
    My point is that the big issue on the night seems to be Health & Safety. What would you call one toilet between 2 squads & 4 match officials in addition to a pitch, where by all accounts, you are more likely to twist an ankle than on a dimly lit training pitch with a perfect surface.
    I have no problem with clubs having inferior facilities to ours, we just got lucky having Mick Wallace, but when it you cite Health & Safety, people in glass houses etc

So, two wrongs don't make a right. Fact is that Jackman Park is a toilet. Fact also is that there was inadequate lighting on your training pitch. Difference being we are a broke, near pauperised club who at the moment cannot afford to do the necessary upgrades. Arguing about Health & Safety issues is of little consequence here. Both parties were very childish and immature in their attitudes to this fiasco, and both should get what they deserve. End of!!

Mick Wallace, because he's a pretentious, vain ego with legs and lots of hair, refuses to do the same. He may see himself as some kind of corinthian paladin of righteousness and hope but he's squarely in Don Quixote territory for me now.
    Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the top of the queue of those hoping to write Mr Wallace's biography.

My point is that the big issue on the night seems to be Health & Safety. What would you call one toilet between 2 squads & 4 match officials in addition to a pitch, where by all accounts, you are more likely to twist an ankle than on a dimly lit training pitch with a perfect surface.
    I'd call those facilities which have been approved for use in a league that they suit quite well really. Clearly, though, and leaving the hyperbole aside for a few moments, our pitch isn't as big a danger as the pitch offered to us in Wexford - if it were we wouldn't have batted an eyelid, given that we play and train on it week in week out. Simple logic for you to grapple with there.

Fact also is that there was inadequate lighting on your training pitch.
    An admission to this fact can be implied from the installation during the following week of new lights on the pitch in question.

Sadly jebus, I don't think this fiasco really will find an end soon. For two reasons: (i) It's an awful lot of fun really; and (ii) We're waiting for the FAI to make a concrete decision.
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

Foot.ie!

whats the story,i thought all the findings were to be announced today.the sooner we go back to making headlines for footballing reasons the better and put this embarrassing episode for the club behind us.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by jaorta View Post
    embarrassing episode for the club behind us.
    Are you Wallace in disguise?

Foot.ie!

no mike i just think as manager you threw the baby out with the bathwater.i thought you handled the whole situation perfectly and made me proud. you stood up for the little man(whoever he is)

Page 8 of 13 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast