Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Game Off

Quote Originally Posted by the dazzler View Post
    lim37 could well be fined or docked points crazy we should have just got on with it not as if we can afford the cost of the traveling
    Whos we?
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

lim37 i know i dont get to many games but still i support limerick

27 Posts

Question

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    Whos we?
    cop on will you,this constant grilling of people posting here is becoming tedious.anyone who is not a diehard fan does have the potential to become one,a bit of respect wouldn,t go amiss.

Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    cop on will you,this constant grilling of people posting here is becoming tedious.anyone who is not a diehard fan does have the potential to become one,a bit of respect wouldn,t go amiss.
    You really need to check some these people's posts in the past before defending them.

at the end of the day i still want limerick to do well might not have agreed earlier this season the way certain things were done but its over now get on with it as for what happened tonite kerley should just have played the game and sorted it out afterwards

Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    the darkness isnt good enough for anyone.where did wexford warm up?
    Apparantly they didnt!!!
    I know Mick had his team beat 6-1 live on national tv at home in a cup final while wearing pink but theres no need to be ratty with us!
    His comments on newstalk have a lot of people losing respect for the man also, i mean we bring a full squad for a nothing game on a monday night and he says what he says....
    I did feel we shouldnt have fecked off when we did however i now feel had MK stayed then we would have been forced to play and without a proper warm up and that wouldnt have been on. It does however leave us open for punisment from the FAI.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Denis The Red View Post
    What's a 10 minute warmup going to do to a pitch that's supposed to hold 90 minutes tonight.
    This seems to be the unknown aspect of it all. They were offered the main pitch 40 MINUTES prior to KO and refused. I'm sure a request to the officials for a 10-15 minute delay would have been acceptable, given that I'm sure the officials had travelled a distance themselves. I've never heard of a pre-match routine including warm up and last minute team talk that lasts an hour. There's more to this than we know at the moment

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Apparantly they didnt!!!
    did not warm up as Limerick had left by half seven so then had training at 8pm instead

I know Mick had his team beat 6-1 live on national tv at home in a cup final while wearing pink but theres no need to be ratty with us!
    His comments on newstalk have a lot of people losing respect for the man also, i mean we bring a full squad for a nothing game on a monday night and he says what he says....
    I did feel we shouldnt have fecked off when we did however i now feel had MK stayed then we would have been forced to play and without a proper warm up and that wouldnt have been on. It does however leave us open for punisment from the FAI.
    Not been ratty with ye as you put it Derry only team in 18 months who have warmed up on main pitch not like Limerick have never been to Wexford to play before and have tried this before without lighting being a reason so I don't really buy the health and safety reason to be honest.

Limerick where not going to be forced to play without a proper warm up told at 7.20 with players already togged out that could warm up on main pitch. More than enough time as would not have come out till then or later anyway.

Mick should not have said about Limerick team selection on newstalk though either that was going to far but who has never said things in the heat of the moment that should not have been said.
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

As a builder we shouldn't really expect Mick to know much about health and safety and, in fairness, as soon as the dreaded H&S words were mentioned he did offer up the main pitch.

Two things: 1) It's pretentious as hell for the team not to warm up on their main pitch, but at the end of the day if that's what they want to do then that's just how they run their shop.

2) It is true (and their seems to be no argument about the fact) that once the offer to warm up on the main pitch was made, and allowing for the possibility of a delayed start, there was no reason to call off the game. I suspect the line that will be fed to me is that given that there was a dispute the players' morale and focus could have been lost. To which I would say: 1) It's the first division of the eircom league and 2) the dispute would have affected both teams (if at all).

From the facts as I see them, the reaction from Limerick may have been slightly irrational. But in hindsight, given the way Mick has behaved himself on national Radio, it was too good for them.

As to the (frankly ludicrous) allegations made by Wallace that the omission of two of our best players from the starting 11 would indicate that something's afoot: We're playing 3 games in 7 days! The Youths may have delusions of grandeur but a huge game it was not. We're travelling to Longford on Saturday and it seems logical that a few players would be rested for a game against a team that we should beat all day long.

Here's to a new bitter rivalry!
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

Quote Originally Posted by Youths4Ever View Post
    did not warm up as Limerick had left by half seven so then had training at 8pm instead

Not been ratty with ye as you put it Derry only team in 18 months who have warmed up on main pitch not like Limerick have never been to Wexford to play before and have tried this before without lighting being a reason so I don't really buy the health and safety reason to be honest.

Limerick where not going to be forced to play without a proper warm up told at 7.20 with players already togged out that could warm up on main pitch. More than enough time as would not have come out till then or later anyway.

Mick should not have said about Limerick team selection on newstalk though either that was going to far but who has never said things in the heat of the moment that should not have been said.

Is this a fact?

If the pitch was offered then I feel L37 should have went ahead with the game. Especially if any L37 supporters were at the game...

Quote Originally Posted by see's it;
    i was told the kitman forgot the gear and limerick were offered the pink strip,mike didnt like it so told the boys get back on the bus.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    I'll give you until the morning to offer proof of this or edit your post before giving you an infraction for unsubstantiated allegations... the whole situation is ludicrous enough without you making comments like that without any inclination as to whether you're joking or not.
    living up to your name there

just on today fm there that limerick have just released a statement basically saying "that to suggest limerick travelled all the way to wexford with the intention of not playing the game is ludicrous".

i just want this sorted asap and to move on at this stage whatever the outcome.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 07/10/2008 at 9:13 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Wexford manager Mick Wallace had the following comment to make:
    ".... In our 18 month history in the First Division, no team in the league has warmed up on the match pitch before the game."

That's straight out of Futurama.

I think it was Dr. Zoidberg said it, followed by "I appreciate it's not a very old tradition ...but it is a proud one".
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

To be honest I think its not very good PR for the club. Once the referee had indicated that the match could go ahead and the team sheets submitted, then there was no reason it shouldn't. There is no rule in the book that states the main pitch has to be used for the warm up, and since no other EL team has warmed up on it for a league match, then why should we be made an exception? If it's true that Mick Wallace allowed the use of the main pitch 40 mins before kick off, well that just makes the situation worse.

Putting the squad back on the bus and going home was embarrassing and childish. We should have fulfilled the fixture, then made our complaints to the relevant authorities in the correct manner. That way we would have come out of it with our heads held high, with credibility intact and not open to any 'allegations of unrest in the camp' or whatever. We will lose the points, no doubt about this, and also face a hefty fine.

I don't agree with having to warm up on a badly lit back pitch either, but as everyone else has done it, including ourselves for the previous 4 or 5 times we've played there, we should have known well in advance that this was going to be the situation.

Mick Wallace should also learn to keep opinions about what he thinks about LIMERICK 37 team affairs to himself, and not air them on national radio.

Even though it was bright when warming up i just thought i'd point out that limerick warmed up on athlones back pitch a few weeks back without any complaints.

57 Posts
    Whether Wexford offered the main pitch is open to dispute afaik.

I still think we should have played not least for the fans who made the journey.

However to suggest we didn't want to play the game because of injuries or disputes etc is ridiculous.

The only good thing about the night was the bowl of pasta in Wallace's wine bar.

Just in case Mick Wallace is reading this the reason that Gary Sheehan and John Tierney were listed as subs is because the prevailing opinion is that your team is fairly crap and with fixtures piling up it made sense to rest them for this one as opposed to a more uh... tricky fixture.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    To be honest I think its not very good PR for the club. Once the referee had indicated that the match could go ahead and the team sheets submitted, then there was no reason it shouldn't. There is no rule in the book that states the main pitch has to be used for the warm up, and since no other EL team has warmed up on it for a league match, then why should we be made an exception? If it's true that Mick Wallace allowed the use of the main pitch 40 mins before kick off, well that just makes the situation worse.

Putting the squad back on the bus and going home was embarrassing and childish. We should have fulfilled the fixture, then made our complaints to the relevant authorities in the correct manner. That way we would have come out of it with our heads held high, with credibility intact and not open to any 'allegations of unrest in the camp' or whatever. We will lose the points, no doubt about this, and also face a hefty fine.

I don't agree with having to warm up on a badly lit back pitch either, but as everyone else has done it, including ourselves for the previous 4 or 5 times we've played there, we should have known well in advance that this was going to be the situation.

Mick Wallace should also learn to keep opinions about what he thinks about LIMERICK 37 team affairs to himself, and not air them on national radio.
    Probably the most concise post on the subject, including the last line

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    On the main forum I've just been told that half the pitch is floodlit, although normally those lights face away from the pitch and on to the car park, and even when they face the half of the pitch they are of a poor standard. You and Wallace may not care about player's safety, but that sounds completely unsuitable
    Player safety? Are you for real, theyr`e not rugby tackling each other, only setting up a few bollards for some passing drills and stretching before the match.
    Wallace owns those grounds and is entitled to do what he likes with his pitch.
    Derry city who are a pro outfit had no problem with it last week at the league cup final but lim37 are too good for this.
    Wallace is right when he said there was an internal problem with lim37 and they were looking for a scapegoat last night.
    I`m afraid lim37 are going to pay heavily for their arrogance as they should of played on and protested later.
    They had no thought for the local and travelling supporters as well.
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    Derry city who are a pro outfit had no problem with it last week at the league cup final but lim37 are too good for this.
    I agree with the rest of your post, but Derry City did have a problem with it, and insisted upon using it for the warm up. They are the only side to have done so.

Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast