Page 10 of 13 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Game Off

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GenerationXI View Post
    He definitely deserves some sort of reprimand although, to be honest, I think the league should take into account the fact that he's clearly incurred expense in obtaining and installing proper lighting on the second pitch. A slap on the wrist for both clubs and maybe even force them to play the replay at a neutral venue so both sides incur travel costs and neither is ensured of revenue.

I know things are getting heated here, but really it's not a big deal at this point. Although a new wave of bile might be unleashed when we see what steps are actually taken!
    No bile Mr GenerationXI, we don't do that kind of thing. Initial reports are (as I expected) a 3 points award to us and a fine to L37. I don't know how any other outcome could have been expected or you would have had the precedent of teams leaving grounds all over the place for spurious reasons. No word yet on any sanctions against the Youths, though I'll have to admit we didn't cover ourselves in glory over questioning team selection. As I said before, I am a footballing man and I don't think that was a matter for a public airing

Limerick appealing decision to award wexford points and €1000 fine.

Limerick are still looking for a retraction from mick wallace for his comments. they also go on to say that Limerick sent an official letter in July stating their concern about warming up on the back/second pitch in ferrycarraig and the eircom league's response was not very clear. they feel if they had been responded to clearly in july then none of this would have happened. They also mention that in the referees report he was happy about the way limerick conducted themselves on the night and he was not impressed by the wexford stewards so they feel the referees report was not taken into account enough.

Thats the jist of it anyway...

Limerick react to outcome!

Reaction here
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    Reaction here
    Interesting reaction, so perhaps the matter is not over yet. There is, however, a basic flaw in the defence by arguing that all matters should be based on the referee's report. This is not the case. Incidents such as this are governed by the rule book, taking in to account the reports of the referee, both teams and the FAI observer.
    In addition, it now transpires that L37 questioned the standard of lighting some months ago and got an inconclusive response. I'd let that argument drop if I was involved with the club, as it could be considered that perhaps there was a premeditated decision taken to cause a fuss on the night.
    Last edited by oldyouth; 18/10/2008 at 7:28 AM.

everyhing isn't as black and white as that (was mostly pitch black) but there is a grey area to, where Wally and his gang wouldn't allow limerick warm up on their precious pitch and expected us to use an area deemed dangerous by the match official, and were then aggressive to our players and officials (allegedly, but true). What else would you expect from the FAI

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blueblood View Post
    everyhing isn't as black and white as that (was mostly pitch black) but there is a grey area to, where Wally and his gang wouldn't allow limerick warm up on their precious pitch and expected us to use an area deemed dangerous by the match official, and were then aggressive to our players and officials (allegedly, but true). What else would you expect from the FAI
    I still think L37 are harming some of their arguments with exageration and inaccuracies with pitch black, dangerous and aggressive as examples. I don't think the rule book is grey at all on not fulfilling a fixture but the conduct of both teams is a matter for consideration, debate and opinion

As for 'allegedly, but true', I'm lovin' it

Oh everyone except Wally and his gang are exagerating (including the referee), Wexford deserve to be punished, even Wally's coments alone deserve a big fine, and possibly more. How is 'dangerous' and 'aggressive' exagerating? Sorry ye werent aggressive ye were, according to the ref ,'abusive' which is probably worse. That 'pitch black' comment followed by a little yellow smiley face is called humor but maybe thats not your thing

Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    In addition, it now transpires that L37 questioned the standard of lighting some months ago and got an inconclusive response. I'd let that argument drop if I was involved with the club, as it could be considered that perhaps there was a premeditated decision taken to cause a fuss on the night.
    I too find this to be rather the fulcrum of the whole affair and that it has only come out now is ludicrous. If Limerick got an 'inconclusive' answer to their query is one thing, that they didn't ensure the issue was sorted between July and October is downright idiotic. If they knew there were issues with the pitch - as this earlier correspondence would seem to indicate - then they should have endeavoured to obtain permission in advance of the fixture to warm up on the main pitch. I can't back the club up if they were seeking to rely on an 'inconclusive' ruling of the FAI when they could have sought assurances from either that body, the match officials (who are chosen in advance) or, indeed, Wexford Youths themselves.

The fine seems fair and the walkover too. Mick Wallace has lost a lot of respect across the board for this, but an official repeal of his comments must be called for. It's downright unprofessional.
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

What was always a good natured fixture will now become quite nasty between our clubs for the near future.Wallace in particular will get a very hard time(and deserved so).We always took the P$$% in a fun way but i fear it will be of a more aggresive manner next time.I always admired Wexford and Wallace and what he has done however i can only hope and pray that the current financial crises ruins him.
    Cannot believe Wexford got no punishment for their part in this debacle.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    What was always a good natured fixture will now become quite nasty between our clubs for the near future.Wallace in particular will get a very hard time(and deserved so).We always took the P$$% in a fun way but i fear it will be of a more aggresive manner next time.I always admired Wexford and Wallace and what he has done however i can only hope and pray that the current financial crises ruins him.
    To wish someone ruin over a football match a few comments is a bit harsh in fairness.

Wexford may be still be punished for this but dont forget Wexford have already lost a good bit of money on this game. cost of printing up programs tickets, food that had to thrown out. Not using this as an excuse to escape a fine as I do believe should get punished for comments and have previoulsy stated Wallace comments where not right
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

you see its starting already!
    your right of course and i was only baiting the wexford fans, its only football at the end of the day. Still angry that so far you lot have got off.
    I believe we should just pay the fine and move on.

47 Posts
    So many reasonable comments from L37 fans to date and then this. Why should the fixture be 'nasty' in future, unless that is what you desire. Now you're talking about aggression and hoping for the ruin of a man just because he made comments that he should really have kept to himself. You are not a footballing person and I doubt many genuine L37 supporters are proud of your comments. Look to the likes of Generation XI for clear concise arguement and my friend Jebus on how to direct your thoughts with a bit of passion (and a little humour).
    The fact you half retracted it later on is no excuse.

Jeez you are sooooooooo uptight. I,ve been supporting Limerick for longer than most here and if you cant see some of the humour in my comments,sorry .As i said in my last post iTS ONLY FOOTBALL!!!!!! I was only rising you lot.
    If you want this to be super serious we can go that route.

Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    I doubt many genuine L37 supporters are proud of your comments.
    Whether meant in jest or not I can promise you there's a sizeable minority (myself included) who wholeheartedly agree with them.

And before you start bleating on about genuine fans, I've spent over two thirds of my life following our loveable losers in their various guises

Look to the likes of Generation XI for clear concise arguement

The funniest thing I have read on any forum, ever.

And I'm a regular over at football365.

47 Posts
    Whether meant in jest or not I can promise you there's a sizeable minority (myself included) who wholeheartedly agree with them.
    I had no doubt where you would have stood on those comments LTID

Oldyouth,I think i need to explain to you my comments as you seem to have difficulty reading between the lines. As you you've never been to a Lim v shels game at Jackman(i presume) you'll not know how heated our supporters get and some of the chants and songs can be very "nasty and aggresive" and it is in this context i was giving a personal opinion.I meant it in no way to mean in a physical manner.
    I would appreciate if you keep your personal attacks on me to a minimum.
    In relation to "you are not a football person" thats rich coming from a place where you could'nt mention the word football outside a GAA context till the late 90's without incurring the PPs wrath from the pulpit on a sunday morning.
    You've been very selective of my posts which seems to be a wexford thing at the minute.

47 Posts
    Jeez you are sooooooooo uptight. I,ve been supporting Limerick for longer than most here and if you cant see some of the humour in my comments,sorry .As i said in my last post iTS ONLY FOOTBALL!!!!!! I was only rising you lot.
    If you want this to be super serious we can go that route.
    Even if you said them in jest, it has had the effect of LTID to declare that he (and a majority) wholeheartedly agree with your comments. Effectively. you have stirred up a situation that has no place in football or a discussion about football. If you want Wexford Youths to be the new Shels for your 'nasty and aggressive' songs, look elsewhere, we are here to play football.

I am not having a personal attack on you but I am criticising your comments. I have a right to do so. By the way, I do consider myself a 'footballing man' and to clarify, I was not born and reared in Wexford, but have spent the last 23 years here. From the age of around 12, I have always tried to take in a couple of live games a week. Not stadium stuff but any old game be it schoolboy, parish sides or pub teams. My Saturday is spent with my son's team at U16 and I head out on Sunday morning to get the papers and then find a game on a local pitch. If there is none, I go up and watch the Youth's training session.
    I agree that this is a Gaaah stronghold but Mick Wallace is doing his best to promote the game down here and should not be called (by other Limerick posters) Hitler, Monkeyman, Doped up Gibbon etc. All through this debate, I have never put any abuse towards your players, management or club.

I have not been selective in picking out your posts for particular attention, it's just that they stood out

Again your missing the point.I'm not stirring up anything! I'm reading the situation as i see it.I'm personnaly a bit old in the tooth for all the chanting malarky and only wish to support my team in apositive manner.But i do think you'll need to face reality when you travel up here next time. On some of my earlier posts here i declared my admiration for Wexford and wallace and what you.ve done there.and wished that this situtation would end. Fair play to you on supporting local football as i do.My daughter made the Limerick ladies team this season and its a lot of my time travelling around to match's and training which i'm delighted to do.but i took offence to your "not a fooball person" comment when all i was doing is relating facts however unfortunate they are as i see them unfolding.
    I have no wish to fall out with anyone on this forum and i hope you accept my apology if i offended you.

47 Posts
    Again your missing the point.I'm not stirring up anything! I'm reading the situation as i see it.I'm personnaly a bit old in the tooth for all the chanting malarky and only wish to support my team in apositive manner.But i do think you'll need to face reality when you travel up here next time. On some of my earlier posts here i declared my admiration for Wexford and wallace and what you.ve done there.and wished that this situtation would end. Fair play to you on supporting local football as i do.My daughter made the Limerick ladies team this season and its a lot of my time travelling around to match's and training which i'm delighted to do.but i took offence to your "not a fooball person" comment when all i was doing is relating facts however unfortunate they are as i see them unfolding.
    I have no wish to fall out with anyone on this forum and i hope you accept my apology if i offended you.
    LK37 oldskool, that's the trouble with e-mail and posting on forums, you only see what is put in front of you and not the person behind it. I accept that you must indeed be a footballing man for supporting your daughter to play the game in the first place and then to travel with her to games.Fair play to you.

My biggest flaw is that I get overly defensive when unfounded criticism is pointed at my club, which I believe is unique in what it is trying to achieve, i.e top level football for lads who work and live in the area. I had abandoned LOI football for over 25 years until the Youths were formed and if the likes of Sporting Fingal landed next door to me, I don't think I would have bothered going to games.

We let all kids under 12 in to our games for free, to encourage an ongoing cycle of fans for generations to come and my sons travel to all the away games with the supporters club. It angers me to think they might have to stop doing this if it became possible for trouble to greet them at some grounds. (and there are some already that I won't let them go to) I hope this is not the case, so perhaps it is up to the likes of you and me to diffuse the situation.
    I reserve the right to disagree with any comments posted here but your apology is not necessary if they were made in the context you suggest. It was good of you to offer though

Ok,point taken and we'll agree to disagree on certain points but i accept your argument on makin things better .Most of the lads are very passionate about their club too and at the moment the apparent escape of wexford from some form of punishment in this debacle angers them and i can only say in my defence that i shot from the hip without too much thought.
    Next time your in Limerock for a game the pot noodles and tea are on me!

Page 10 of 13 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast