Page 139 of 141 FirstFirst ... 3989129137138139140141 LastLast
Results 2,761 to 2,780 of 2819

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by diego10 View Post
    load of crap about how killkallock deserved to stay up because they played good football, they were shockingly bad most of the season. only reason they stayed up is because balla threw the match. disgraceful.
    we didnt stay up by beating balla my dear boy.we had 4 points 6 weeks ago and ended up beating regional,carew,granville and balla and drawing with corbally and dromore thus giving us 18 points.maybe all these teams had there b and c teams playing had they.jealousy is a mighty thing as it makes people talk a lot of **** on here.thanks to the hard graft and not throwing in the towel by our lads is why we stayed up.thanks to all the genuine people that congratulated us on this site and my phone.

Quote Originally Posted by Football Alien View Post
    corbally were v bad against fairview, view strolled home at 4-1!! coll and collopy more then likely gone, theres more then 3 or 4 decent players out in the corbally squad, they have a good side just need to be more consistent and with a good few of their squad playin their first season in prem football it'll have been a good learning curve for them, but they def need to get a few players in, it'll be interesting to see who takes the managers job next year if christy and dave are gone

well done to kilmallock on stayin up, they got lucky that Balla were understrength and lost home advantage but they did what they had to and fair play to them!
    sorry F.A, but ive seen alot of corbally games this year and id be pushed to name any player from that squad who'd make it into any other premier team? they have a good set up but to few people have interest including the players,theres alot of rebuilding needs to be done there.

Quote Originally Posted by slim-jim View Post
    sorry F.A, but ive seen alot of corbally games this year and id be pushed to name any player from that squad who'd make it into any other premier team? they have a good set up but to few people have interest including the players,theres alot of rebuilding needs to be done there.
    your entitled to your opinion pal but i think jj, john bog, dave owens, clarke, fergal, barry and kevin hartnett and chucky are more then good enough to get on for most sides in town.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by footie freak View Post
    star out of promtion race and shannon beat summerville this morning. shannon now 4 point behind dines with 3 games to go, while dines have 2 games left and one of those games is mungret. between dines and shannon now, hard to call who will join mungret. will mungret be not too bothered while playing dines as mungrets hard work is done for the season. would be interesting to see....
    I reckon Mungret will put out a strong side when playing The Dines..its only fair to Shannon Town.

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by halo16 View Post
    why abbeyvale?have collopy and coll resigned?i know dave was away for a while but i thought he was back?shame really because they have a fine set up,and the lads imo are good managers with an interest.just a pity that they only have 3 or 4 decent players.there just doesnt seem to be the interest out corbally way to have a top junior team.what do you think abbeyvale?would like to hear your comments on the subject?maybe dared can enlighten us a bit further.
    From what I heard they have both stepped down.............

32 Posts
    WWW.LIMERICKSOCCER.COM is now updated.

Smile

your entitled to your opinion pal but i think jj, john bog, dave owens, clarke, fergal, barry and kevin hartnett and chucky are more then good enough to get on for most sides in town.
    i'll give you chucky

They've lost alot of players who are now regulars with good premier teams.If they could entice a couple of them back they could do well.getting them back is the problem.Fergal o connell and mark hannon would get on alot of other prem teams too.

Quote Originally Posted by On The Ball View Post
    They've lost alot of players who are now regulars with good premier teams.If they could entice a couple of them back they could do well.getting them back is the problem.Fergal o connell and mark hannon would get on alot of other prem teams too.
    mark hannon is a fine player who did well to come back from a bad injury if im not mistaken?i think that him,david owens,john mc,jj and maguire up front have worked hard to keep that team in the premier the last 2 years.young hartnett has the makings of being a good player.i dont agree with you that fergal would get on alot of other teams.he is dog lazy and you wouldt see him for dust when the going gets tough.ive watched afew games of corbally this year and hes not kicked a ball in hardly any of them.all ive seen is chucky and owens giving there all and carrying around 6 wasters.maybe with a different team o connell might have a better attitude but for me you can be as handy as you want but if the heart and desire aint there you might as well forget it.regarding your post on ex players
    1- aido fitz
    2-ian dunworth
    3-ronan sherlock
    4-peter ryan
    5-john o dwyer
    6-danny hanley
    7-dee ryan
    8-alan carroll
    9-nicky carroll.
    all 7 except the 2 carrolls who i think are abroad are playing premier in town with other clubs.corbally would be a different team who would be well up the table if them 7 were with them.i cant see any of them going back though.they all seem to be doing well with there respective clubs.
    i think corbally need massive changes to get up the table.wembley,AA and regional have consolidated themselves in premier comfortably over the last few seasons.of the other promtoted teams granville and corbally have struggled bigtime because i feel they cant keep players and cant attract good enough players.

have to agree with you about dave owens fine player and a nice lad

Quote Originally Posted by azizi View Post
    mark hannon is a fine player who did well to come back from a bad injury if im not mistaken?i think that him,david owens,john mc,jj and maguire up front have worked hard to keep that team in the premier the last 2 years.young hartnett has the makings of being a good player.i dont agree with you that fergal would get on alot of other teams.he is dog lazy and you wouldt see him for dust when the going gets tough.ive watched afew games of corbally this year and hes not kicked a ball in hardly any of them.all ive seen is chucky and owens giving there all and carrying around 6 wasters.maybe with a different team o connell might have a better attitude but for me you can be as handy as you want but if the heart and desire aint there you might as well forget it.regarding your post on ex players
    1- aido fitz
    2-ian dunworth
    3-ronan sherlock
    4-peter ryan
    5-john o dwyer
    6-danny hanley
    7-dee ryan
    8-alan carroll
    9-nicky carroll.
    all 7 except the 2 carrolls who i think are abroad are playing premier in town with other clubs.corbally would be a different team who would be well up the table if them 7 were with them.i cant see any of them going back though.they all seem to be doing well with there respective clubs.
    i think corbally need massive changes to get up the table.wembley,AA and regional have consolidated themselves in premier comfortably over the last few seasons.of the other promtoted teams granville and corbally have struggled bigtime because i feel they cant keep players and cant attract good enough players.
    that was my point too.Owens is good i suppose.Ive seen o connell destroy players,he is pretty windy though.if they cant get any of them players back they'll be struggling every season.theyve good facilities so you'd wonder why people wouldnt sign,theres a massive catchment in corbally.

32 Posts

Foot.ie!

1- aido fitz
    2-ian dunworth
    3-ronan sherlock
    4-peter ryan
    5-john o dwyer
    6-danny hanley
    7-dee ryan
    8-alan carroll
    9-nicky carroll.

Every club could have the same argument regarding ex players now playing Prem.........the problem is keeping your better players, and only a few clubs in town can do that.

Take Geraldines for instance, if they could have kept the players they lost over the last 10 seasons, added to that the great young players they have now, I have no doubts that they'd be fighting for the Premier Legaue title and maybe even the MJC & FAI.
    Last edited by abbeyvale; 25/05/2009 at 10:48 PM.

Fair play to Pike, overall i thought it was a fairly good season with a lot of good games. Cant wait for next season already!

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    just like they did for corbally last season!
    is it just me or is it every year this thread has something about balla throwing games,thats just the arrogance of balla pointless even talking about it cos it will happen again next year and the year after

Quote Originally Posted by hoops12 View Post
    is it just me or is it every year this thread has something about balla throwing games,thats just the arrogance of balla pointless even talking about it cos it will happen again next year and the year after
    Arrogance or just not caring and disrespecting the league because they had nothing to play for?

If you look at the team that played Id say Paul Quinn and the keeper are the only regulars that played against Kilmallock. Where were all the other players? Problem with Balla is they need the players that didnt turn up because they cant attract anyone else to the club.

Quote Originally Posted by faces View Post
    we didnt stay up by beating balla my dear boy.we had 4 points 6 weeks ago and ended up beating regional,carew,granville and balla and drawing with corbally and dromore thus giving us 18 points.maybe all these teams had there b and c teams playing had they.jealousy is a mighty thing as it makes people talk a lot of **** on here.thanks to the hard graft and not throwing in the towel by our lads is why we stayed up.thanks to all the genuine people that congratulated us on this site and my phone.
    well said and well done ye never gave up

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    thanks a lot

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    in fairness would kilmallock have had their last match as easy if balla had a full strength side out?? obviously not and they should have been playin in balla as well, but they can only play under the circumstances and team put before them

over the season i reckon the worst 2 teams went down but in sayin that kilmallock and corbally werent that far ahead of them, i dont think wembley and carew were either. wembley were consistent over the season at gettin the required results while Carew, Corbally, and Kilmallock were only getting them sporadically! it was a long hard season and at least these teams live to fight another day and try and build on the season!

1- aido fitz
    2-ian dunworth
    3-ronan sherlock
    4-peter ryan
    5-john o dwyer
    6-danny hanley
    7-dee ryan
    8-alan carroll
    9-nicky carroll.
    And the question is why have all these players left the club, their pulling players from the b and c teams who are'nt good enough,half the players in the A squad are'nt good enough,they've been in the relagation battle for the last few seasons so its only a matter of time before they go down, i mean it would be a ideal position for a well known manager to come in and shake things up bring in a few players and make a go of it

25 Posts
    And the question is why have all these players left the club, their pulling players from the b and c teams who are'nt good enough,half the players in the A squad are'nt good enough,they've been in the relagation battle for the last few seasons so its only a matter of time before they go down, i mean it would be a ideal position for a well known manager to come in and shake things up bring in a few players and make a go of it
    Like Pa Mull, you shouldn't really comment on what you know absolutely nothing about in fairness.