Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2008/09

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by On The Ball View Post
    It's mark and stop giving him a big head.He knows hes good already.How do people think corbally and wembley will fair out?
    I fancy Corbally after their big win last weekend, but then again Wembley can play nice football at times.
    I cant see Corbally losing though.

Quote Originally Posted by On The Ball View Post
    It's mark and stop giving him a big head.He knows hes good already.How do people think corbally and wembley will fair out?
    Who is at home?if corbally are i fancy them to get a draw.they will be encouraged by there win last week.im going to say 1-1 anyway

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    I fancy Corbally after their big win last weekend, but then again Wembley can play nice football at times.
    I cant see Corbally losing though.
    Ya i cant see corbally losing to wembley at home either. Should be a good game. I predict Corbally 3-2 Wembley.

Well the players above I named were all of one age group (minor), add to that the players a year ahead of us that were just out of minor, plus the players that were just U-17 coming into minor, and I'd say you'd be talking a top 3 Prem team today easily.
    Pike U-16's, arguably one of the best from Limerick, Alan Barry, Karl Meehan(best of the lot IMO), Pa McGarry, Dermot Phelan, Pat Purcell(If I remember correctly), Noel Noonan, etc. Funny how clubs are still hoarding players under-age to the present day..

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/7505/scan0003ao2.jpg

Jamie Dundon was a fine player too,is he playing with anyone now

Smile Pike photo

Christ noonan and mcgarry havent changed one bit, meeehan,s hair is cruel.
    Who was in goals

Quote Originally Posted by W.R.F.C View Post
    Who was in goals

Man they were some ropey haircuts!!good picture though!!

As for hula, an average centre half, solid if nothin else, still at the moment the boro could do with him!!

Quote Originally Posted by W.R.F.C View Post
    Who was in goals
    He went for that haircut again a few years back.He looked the same and as you can probably tell,it didn't suit the second time round either.

32 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Hoop View Post
    Pike U-16's, arguably one of the best from Limerick, Alan Barry, Karl Meehan(best of the lot IMO), Pa McGarry, Dermot Phelan, Pat Purcell(If I remember correctly), Noel Noonan, etc. Funny how clubs are still hoarding players under-age to the present day..

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/7505/scan0003ao2.jpg
    I remember many a battle against them, and we won more than we lost against them.
    Team (as per picture).
    Back row : Alan Barry, Noel Noonan, Kieran Stewart, Anthony Bourke, Donal Lavery, Pat Purcell, Dermot Phelan.
    Front Row : Jodie Delany, Ger Nash, Pat McGarry, (?), Karl Meehan, Jamie Dundon.

To answer one of the above questions, Jamie Dundon is signed with Hill Celtic this season as far as I know and why wouldnt he be a fine player back in the day??? He was 2/3 years overage and got away with it for years (as he produced a false birth cert, and he'll tell you that himself).

Thumbs up pike photo

Taught it was stewy alright, sound foor clearing that up abbyvale

missing player

I remember many a battle against them, and we won more than we lost against them.
    Team (as per picture).
    Back row : Alan Barry, Noel Noonan, Kieran Stewart, Anthony Bourke, Donal Lavery, Pat Purcell, Dermot Phelan.
    Front Row : Jodie Delany, Ger Nash, Pat McGarry, (?), Karl Meehan, Jamie Dundon.

To answer one of the above questions, Jamie Dundon is signed with Hill Celtic this season as far as I know and why wouldnt he be a fine player back in the day??? He was 2/3 years overage and got away with it for years (as he produced a false birth cert, and he'll tell you that himself).
    Abbeyvale, thats Paul Finucane between Pa McGarry and Karl Meehan.

Quote Originally Posted by Bonovox View Post
    its not paul would be a few years younger than that

Quote Originally Posted by hula4 View Post
    its not paul would be a few years younger than that
    Paul would be 26 or 27 at the most!!

The guy looks like him though buy Paul played schoolboy football with Granville unless he signed later with Pike!Not sure..........

Quote Originally Posted by Abbey Road View Post
    Paul would be 26 or 27 at the most!!

The guy looks like him though buy Paul played schoolboy football with Granville unless he signed later with Pike!Not sure..........
    he played with granville until the kennedy cup then went to pike for under 15s and 16s after that, i was on the bench for the same team under Pa Mul and we would have been a couple of years younger than that team

Quote Originally Posted by Balbec77 View Post
    is it mark hula ye are on about if so he played interfirm with us this summer still a great player
    Top player is Mark Houlihan and still young!Would walk on to any premier team in town at present.

Quote Originally Posted by Abbey Road View Post
    Top player is Mark Houlihan and still young!Would walk on to any premier team in town at present.
    stop taking the **** outta me you!! i know who you are!! leave that subject lie please

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bonovox View Post
    I dont think it is...........I would remember his name if I heard it again..........but a Paul Finucane doesnt ring a bell.

Quote Originally Posted by hula4 View Post
    stop taking the **** outta me you!! i know who you are!! leave that subject lie please
    I'm an honest man as you know!!!

Will leave subject lie just for you.Unfortunately others will agree on my opinion on you.To hell with any begrudgers...............

Its amazing to see the few who made it through to play at premier level in Limerick, Its mostly down to the attitude of the player.

I dont think it is...........I would remember his name if I heard it again..........but a Paul Finucane doesnt ring a bell.
    its def not paul as he wouldn't have been old enough, and the pike under 16's team he was on would have had gary power, jamie o'brien, and i think niall mc played with em up as far as 16's, just before he signed for forest, could be wrong though