Thread: v Cork City

v Cork City

Coming up next week for my first time looking forward to seeing yer place.
    Predicitons: City 3-1 United

2-1 CITY more likely, we'll play 4-5-1 again so it'll be a real battle in midfield, can't see city scoring 3 to be honest, we haven't been conceeded lots of goals in many games (we've lost a lot of games by 1 goal)
    should be an ok game actually. mind you neither of us have much to play for after last weekends results, I think Harps did enough to save themselves at Bray, they need maybe 3 more points to be sure... we're not going to pick up 10 points at this stage....
    innit though??

we've had a lot of tight games with cork recently and i'm predicting a draw on friday. think it'll be 1-1 with russeller scoring
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Think we will win.

We owe someone a beating and it would be just like us to finally start winning when its too late.The lads in recent weeks have deserved a win for their efforts.Surely we wont go a full season without winning at home,thats brutal.
    UTD 1-CORK 0.

what is it nearly 10 years since we bet them in the league at home? a draw would be great yet - damn all use to us
    more water!

I can't see us beating Cork but I would say another 1-1 draw for the Terryland faithful to watch .

Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    what is it nearly 10 years since we bet them in the league at home? a draw would be great yet - damn all use to us
    It's actually been nearly 13 years! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kThtFm6sBqM&feature=user

If only Mull could play on Friday!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

13 years - feck me i am getting old!
    more water!

We are down to the bare bare bones. 3 more players injured against Derry so as it stands weve only 2 players for the bench and a couple making their first starts of the year.

Great chance for ye to pick up points

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    We are down to the bare bare bones. 3 more players injured against Derry so as it stands weve only 2 players for the bench and a couple making their first starts of the year.

Hopefully now, we need them too. I think it'll be a close game, we'll score early on and Cork will get a chance late on.... It's up to them weater they score it or not

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post

What would be your likely starting line up?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    What would be your likely starting line up?
    Not much choice

Devine
    Horgan Murray Sullivan Murphy
    Kearney Murphy Gamble Woods
    Dudfield Cambridge/kiely

Subs: McNulty, Cambridge/Kiely

147 Posts
    Woods, Horgan, Murphy, Gamble, Kearney - still a pretty strong side
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Woods, Horgan, Murphy, Gamble, Kearney - still a pretty strong side
    Only woods second start this year...he's pushing on.

No doubt we still have some quality players on show, but they are simply wrecked at teh moment from the looks of things. Weve basically had 13 players playing 2 games a week for about 2 months now and the injuries are piling up as a result.

The 120minutes in Derry and travelling Tuesday as well as the loss will take a lot out of them imo

64 Posts
    Surely there's A teamers/ U20s that could sit on the bench? Only 2 subs?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    Surely there's A teamers/ U20s that could sit on the bench? Only 2 subs?
    Id imagine there'l be a few more on the bench I just honestly cant name them. Woods, Cambridge Kiely etc were our A team

We had 6 on the bench in Derry(allowed 7) McNulty, Kiely, Woods, Dudfield, Kelly,Lordan.

Both Lordan and Kelly are injured and Woods Dudfield and one of Kiely or Cambridge will have to start.

So I dunno

Its all set up for.

Cork down to the walking wounded,tired and not really in need of pts,us with a full strength squad for once,we are fresh and we desperatly need the win.So from all my years experiences with Utd its all set up so for us to lose 1-0 with them scoring early and us camped in their half for the rest of the game hitting plenty over the bar.We've seen it happen a thousand times before.Cant wait for it though,its our 3rd last home game i think,how sad.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    its our 3rd last home game i think,how sad.
    third last in the league, there's the semi aswell

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    its our 3rd last home game i think,how sad.
    We're facing relegation not execution! we'll be in Terryland again next season... (god help us!)
    On a brighter note, with the turmoil in the league and only one club coming up.... if we go down we might stand a good chance of holding onto our better players, I think we'll lose O' Shea because, let's face it, he's a great player and someone will pay proper money for him, as for the rest I think they'll be interest in McCullogh Glynn and Lester, I really hope we can keep those three, I'd release Fitzer, Rogers, Jorgenesen and maybe Murphy. We have a chance of keeping almost all the local lads which would pt us in a good position for next season..
    innit though??

dunno id keep rogers if hes not too pricey - has come on a lot since his cic sa thoin!
    more water!