Page 21 of 37 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: Tonights latest

2,771 Posts
    give me 30 minutes Sinead, its only 4.15 here and im still at work... ill have a pint for derry and a can for Bohs.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Well enjoy, just having a nice chilled Coors tonight myself. Here's to next season, cheers.

2,771 Posts
    same to yourself - have a good one. cheers.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    ????

Makes no sense.

U23 game is not until next Tuesday so why wouldn't O'Shea be available to Galway tonight
    Luckily the FAI provide more teams than Senior and U23.
    There was an U21 friendly on Tuesday in Vilnius....that's in Lithuania.
    http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=3703
    "...It was one-way traffic for most of the second half, with Ireland dominating the game and enjoying great space down both flanks through the lively Scannell and debutant Jay O’Shea.

The two wingers combined on 50 minutes and almost broke the deadlock when Scannell pulled the ball back for O’Shea, whose shot from eight yards was well saved. "

Both Journalist and Hack.
    I cannot provide you with the answers to all the questions you asked, because some of your questions didn't include words "..????...".
    I cannot and won't help you.

Clear a path and apologise to both Galway Utd. supporters and Bray Wanderers football supporters who may have an answer for me.
    You don't.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

So what was the question again harpo because like soccerc I couldnt understand what you were saying either?

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    GUFC 4-0 Bray

Just 2 points behind harps now with the game in hand !

I would just like to also thank bray for giving us Jay O'Shea !
    You applauded Bray for Jay.
    So did Bray make Jay availabay?
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    You applauded Bray for Jay.
    So did Bray make Jay availabay?
    O.K. I applauded bray because they let go O'Shea and let us pick him up on a free. The lad is a little genius and has great things coming to him if he continues his form. Thank God we already have him contracted for next season.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Thank God we already have him contracted for next season.
    will he stay though?

very doubtful, but I would expect Leeson to get an offer that would greatly benefit GUFC financially. He off to birmingham city for trials when the current season ends.

147 Posts
    Not a notion will O'Shea stay, unfortunately, but he might well give us the present of top flight survival before he goes.
    As for the brandishing of handbags between Bohs and Derry fans after tonight's result, I really have to wonder if Derry fans have any grasp of reality. Doesn't matter if ye beat them 10-0 in yer 4 meetings, they strolled it to the league title, ye picked up the league cup - third in importance of 3 domestic trophies. Ye can still win fai cup, but . . . . Bohs cantered to the league. We trounced Bray tonight, knocked them out of 2 cup competitions, but they still look like being a Premier Division side next season, we are still in relegation trouble. Think I'll take any comfort from results between the sides? Not a chance.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Harps are terrible. None of the bottom 4 teams deserve to stay up.

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    I really have to wonder if Derry fans have any grasp of reality. Doesn't matter if ye beat them 10-0 in yer 4 meetings, they strolled it to the league title, ye picked up the league cup - third in importance of 3 domestic trophies. Ye can still win fai cup, but . . . . Bohs cantered to the league.

WoodquayBoy, any particular reason that you're taking one post by ONE Derry fan and then tarring the rest of us with one big brush?

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Both teams visited Flancare recently and Limerick genuinely impressed me a good deal more even though Waterford beat us 3-0 and Limerick 2-1. Limerick are playing really good football at the moment.
    Limerick are coming next year lads.

First Division watch out.

Genuinely a cut above since we got our squad sorted, absolutely wee-weed on Waherfurr tonight.

Happy Days are here again

1,104 Posts
    What's particularly impressive is that I heard a figure for your wage bill and all I'll say is you're definitely the best value for money side in the division at the moment (well I suppose I'll exclude Wexford as they're amateur). It was no great secret that there was an awful lot of young lads playing football in Limerick but ye seem to have got a good lot of good young players to come and play for ye for little money this year as opposed to previous years. We'd be looking to operate the same model but it's harder obviously when the surrounding population is less. Having said that there's been a few lads have shown that they want to make a career for themselves if given the chance.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    What's particularly impressive is that I heard a figure for your wage bill and all I'll say is you're definitely the best value for money side in the division at the moment (well I suppose I'll exclude Wexford as they're amateur). It was no great secret that there was an awful lot of young lads playing football in Limerick but ye seem to have got a good lot of good young players to come and play for ye for little money this year as opposed to previous years. We'd be looking to operate the same model but it's harder obviously when the surrounding population is less. Having said that there's been a few lads have shown that they want to make a career for themselves if given the chance.
    Think 2,000 yo yo.

Now subtract a bit and you're there or there abouts.

I kid you not people, I know for a fact.

Of our starting eleven tonight (which wee-weed all over Waherfurr just to remind ye again) nine of the lads were local with the two exceptions being from Waherfurr and Galway (No Jackeens, an important point for most self respecting Limerick fans)

Of that starting eleven, nine players were aged 22 or under (Wayne Colbert is 22)

Another thing we have going for us in Limerick is the fact that we have players of the calibre of Tommy Barrett, Wayne Colbert and Pat Purcell who would have waltzed on to any team in the First Division but chose to play with Limerick for a relative pittance because it's their local club and they're bloody well proud to do so.

At the moment we have head and shoulders the best midfield in the division, with the four lads having a combined age of 78!!

We also have two whippets upfront and in this division defenders haven't a notion what to do when faced with pace and balls along the floor. The four Waherfurr lads tonight were made to look like monkeys.

Also word around town tonight (from far more reliable sources than usual) of yet another ground move next year.

Happy Days are here again. *

* Traditionally we have always found a way to balls these things up so no need to quote me in twelve months time when we are languising in midtable thanks!!

The oddest thing about our rise this season is that I can actually see what Galway were talking about 2 years ago when they were talking about leaving the deadweights behind them

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    The oddest thing about our rise this season is that I can actually see what Galway were talking about 2 years ago when they were talking about leaving the deadweights behind them
    Ya but they had Ciaran Foley and Fran Carter lowering their culture rating by approxiamately 619%

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe
    I wrote "I suppose we'll hear the usual excuse."

Right on cue
    Chapter 1 of the Drog-esque slide completed.

Only one place left for Derry to visit in the league. See yis in 3 weeks.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Not a notion will O'Shea stay, unfortunately, but he might well give us the present of top flight survival before he goes.
    As for the brandishing of handbags between Bohs and Derry fans after tonight's result, I really have to wonder if Derry fans have any grasp of reality. Doesn't matter if ye beat them 10-0 in yer 4 meetings, they strolled it to the league title, ye picked up the league cup - third in importance of 3 domestic trophies. Ye can still win fai cup, but . . . . Bohs cantered to the league. We trounced Bray tonight, knocked them out of 2 cup competitions, but they still look like being a Premier Division side next season, we are still in relegation trouble. Think I'll take any comfort from results between the sides? Not a chance.

Look Wood boy........we as Derry fans don't worry about lower yoyo table teams.

If you cared to watch posts from both sets of fans over the past few years you would realise that Bohs gave us no credit when we beat them in last years LC final. That was there only chance to qualify for the Setanta cup.

They were not happy chappies at the time. This year we won it for the 4th time in a row and we beat the BIG club 4-1 in the 1/4 final. Since that they have only called us the "minnow club" etc, so why would we now go and congratulate them after taking crap for over a year?

They have failed to beat us in Dalymount in FIVE years, and once again we disrupt there party.

They even take 5 flags of our younger fans at the game tonight incase the camera's pick up whats on them.

So the record this year for the BIG club V us minnows is

Derry V Bohs 2008

Played 4

Derry won 2 drew 2

goals for 5 against 1

And if Bohs had beat us last year in the "minnow cup" they could haqve played in this years Setanta cup..........Maybe thats too minnow for them as well.

Derry= holding our own financially.2008

Bohs= €2.1 million overdrawn.2008
    Last edited by Candystripe; 18/10/2008 at 4:53 AM.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    Did the commentator just say Paul McTiernan is one of the young guys to get his chance?
    Yeah heard that too - he's was absolutely shocking as a commentator - he didn't know any of the players at all!

At the very end Rico was trying to say something to wrap it up - probably something like "I find it hard to see how Harps are actually not bottom playing like that" but he cut over him TWICE!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Page 21 of 37 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast