Page 35 of 37 FirstFirst ... 253334353637 LastLast

Thread: Tonights latest

3,491 Posts
    It was Halloween. Parents have different stuff to do with their children (eh, eh). Our crowd of 100-150 was no more reflective of our usual support than Bohs' (frankly pathetic, but hey, we'll skip over that) support of 200-250.

If Bohs win their court case on Tuesday, will the celebrations be long and hard in Phibsboro? No they won't. No Dublin team has any major connection with their locality.

Surprised at the tabloidesque reaction from Reiteoir, letting one e-mail from someone I've never heard of colour his views.

Still, we'll have a club next year. It's not every eL fan can say that for certain.

On the game, thought Bohs were very poor. I appreciate they didn't care as the league was wrapped up, but I was genuinely surprised that a team who've strolled through the league could actually play as badly as that. Still, roll on re-grouping in the First.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 01/11/2008 at 1:06 AM.

stu, this kind of post is the very reason why plenty of loi fans w9ill be glad ye are going down, its bitterness at its best... i understand you may be upset because your team is going down but at the end of the day your team had a chance to stay up tonight and yet ye couldnt even muster up 100, thats not good going!

but yet all you do is give out about the fact that bohs did not bring more fans ( to a meaningless game for them on a night where there was a fair chance that they couldnt find their penis for a while afterwards)

belfield isnt a great place to go... get your own fans and dont be whinginging

It was Halloween. Parents have different stuff to do with their children (eh, eh). Our crowd of 100-150 was no more reflective of our usual support than Bohs' (frankly pathetic, but hey, we'll skip over that) support of 200-250.
    Meaningless game for us and the worst away trip in Ireland. Seriously, I was out in Belfield anyway and it took a major act of will to stay for the match, whereas I'll gladly drive to Cobh next week. It was anything but menaingless for you lot.

If Bohs win their court case on Tuesday, will the celebrations be long and hard in Phibsboro? No they won't. No Dublin team has any major connection with their locality.
    Get real - maybe UCD fans would celebrate a court case, just like you celebrate your solvency - if we win the cup though, people in D7 will know all about it

Surprised at the tabloidesque reaction from Reiteoir, letting one e-mail from someone I've never heard of colour his views.
    YOu must admit, its a bit off the radar from a UCD fan....

Still, we'll have a club next year. It's not every eL fan can say that for certain.
    So will we.

On the game, thought Bohs were very poor. I appreciate they didn't care as the league was wrapped up, but I was genuinely surprised that a team who've strolled through the league could actually play as badly as that. Still, roll on re-grouping in the First.
    Brennan and Fenn were left out because they arrived late. It was McGill's first start (I think) - Singh hasn't played in an age. Cronin hasn't started in long time; nor has Oman - my guess is, a lot of players were being looked at in light of next season, and their future at the club. Agree it wasn't pretty, but you should have seen us against Pats last week when it counted....
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

No Dublin team has any major connection with their locality.
    I disagree with this

I can see why people are complaining about UCDD crowds, but in fairness, if Bohs can only muster up 200-250 for a match being played across town, its not UCDD who should be worrying about their support !

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    I can see why people are complaining about UCDD crowds, but in fairness, if Bohs can only muster up 200-250 for a match being played across town, its not UCDD who should be worrying about their support !
    Agree with that, terrible crowds from both sides to be honest. You'd expect it with UCD though but Bohs have plenty more fans than that, and regardless of whether the league is wrapped up or not, there's no defending that turn-out.

nobody has said bohs shouldnt have had more at the game,
    the point is this was a relegation scrap for ucd yet they didnt even muster up 100 fans and then their fans come on here giving out about the bohs crowd???????? makes no sense

Delighted they've been relegated.

Delighted to be certainly up for next year. Our longest run in the Premier continues...for another year at least.

It was great that RTÉ managed to pick the most entertaining Bray match this year to cover.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by topia View Post
    nobody has said bohs shouldnt have had more at the game,
    the point is this was a relegation scrap for ucd yet they didnt even muster up 100 fans and then their fans come on here giving out about the bohs crowd???????? makes no sense
    You'll find sonofstan, a Bohs fan, was the one who came on here moaning about UCD's attendance.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    You'll find sonofstan, a Bohs fan, was the one who came on here moaning about UCD's attendance.
    And you'll also find that i never said anything about whether our crowd was satisfactory or not until Stu criticised us (for having twice as many fans there as the home team....)
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    And you'll also find that i never said anything about whether our crowd was satisfactory or not until Stu criticised us (for having twice as many fans there as the home team....)
    The whole petty discussion has its origins in you moaning about our home crowd.

3,491 Posts
    Nope, it has its origins in me pointing out Bohs' appalling travelling support last night. The difference, of course, is that we fully accept our crowds are small, whereas Bohs have some delusional notion that they're the "Big Club", and yet they can barely muster 200 for a trip across town to watch the champions?

jesus its like being in school...he started it!

the bohs crowd wasnt good, the ucd crowd was pathetic at best for a game of such importance to them...we should just agree that the crowd was not good and let ucd prepare for the 1st division

3,491 Posts
    The game was of no importance to us.

Nope, it has its origins in me pointing out Bohs' appalling travelling support last night. The difference, of course, is that we fully accept our crowds are small, whereas Bohs have some delusional notion that they're the "Big Club", and yet they can barely muster 200 for a trip across town to watch the champions?

bohs fans all accept that the crowds are not good enough but i still dont understand why you feel the need moan about it when you didnt even have 1/3 of the crowd there yourselves, how was it of no importance to you lot? you had a chance of staying up didnt you? i think if any other team had been in your position last night it would have attracted a decent crowd
    Last edited by topia; 01/11/2008 at 11:28 AM.

Getting away from the sad discussion on crowd size (can we all agree that eL attendances are a disgrace and move on please)...

Who was that goon you had at right full last night, and what right has he to call himself a footballer?

3,491 Posts
    Brian Shortall. Why?

And we were down long before last night, so it was no importance. I'd say three wins from the last three games wouldn't've kept us up.

Fair play to Bray. Did us a massive favour.

Between us and Galway now.

Brian Shortall. Why?.
    Are you saying you don't know why?
    Kicked Harpal Singh about the place for fun, and openly and repeatedly went out of his way to threaten him. Not that the highly-trained officials took a blind bit of notice. I'm glad he, like you, is resigned to going down.

Page 35 of 37 FirstFirst ... 253334353637 LastLast