Thread: Limerick Division 2A 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by TopperHarley View Post
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    Only talk the truth my friend
    so there'd be 16 teams in a division? the season would go on til june, each team playing 30 matches??? it's fine the way it is
    "It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"

Summerville Rvs v Hospital, 2.00,

Kilfinane v Pallasgreen, 2.00
    predictions for these fixtures lads,considering a lot of people heading to dublin and boozing i don't think upsets are out of the question

Quote Originally Posted by no17 fan View Post
    Summerville Rvs v Hospital, 2.00,

Kilfinane v Pallasgreen, 2.00
    predictions for these fixtures lads,considering a lot of people heading to dublin and boozing i don't think upsets are out of the question
    if a lot of the summerville lads are gone to dublin for the rugby match then hospital have a real chance of winning this one. i'd fancy summerville to win it in any other circumstance.

kilfinane are tough at home, going for a draw on this one

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Foot.ie! Full League Restructure

There are currently 90 teams playing in 8 divisions in Junior football in Limerick (with some leagues having 12 teams, some having 10 teams and others having 11 teams and 9 teams, its all over the place).........

So heres a thought.
    Over the next few seasons why cant the LDMC put those 90 teams into a 6 division format.

Calling the leagues, Premier, and then Leagues 1-5.

That would be 15 teams per league (that would be a 28 game season) with the bottom 2 from each league being relegated each season, and the top 2 teams from the league below automatically taking their place (as currently happens).

Then the teams that finish 3rd & 4th in all leagues (except the Prem) would play off against each other in Hogan Park under lights, with the winners playing another play-off game against the team that finshed 3rd from bottom in the league above them with the winners getting promoted (or you could relegate 3 teams per division and the play-off winners from the league below would get promoted as the 3rd team, similar to England).

If the above was to happen it would keep the interest in all leagues going right till the season's end and you would have teams fighting at both ends of the table.

bit too much of a change for me, i like the idea of balancing up the divisions
    but 15 is too many for junior considering pitches,,,,

bit too much of a change for me, i like the idea of balancing up the divisions
    but 15 is too many for junior considering pitches,,,,
    With the wet weather over the last two years it should be decreasing the number of teams in each division rather than increasing it. Season will go til June this year for majority of teams in 12 team divisions.

Quote Originally Posted by lankyboy26 View Post
    not sure about promoting teams 2 divisions. its a good while since that happened. last year they promoted 4 teams from 2B into 2A, castle, balla C, pallas and kennedy park to make the division have 12 teams. they won't be doing that again. there won't be as much chopping and changing next season. only thing i could see happening is st. pats being relegated because they're in trouble with the ldmc
    if a team wins their league and league cup do they still just go up the 1 division?

Quote Originally Posted by slim-jim View Post
    if a team wins their league and league cup do they still just go up the 1 division?
    yes just the 1 division my friend. athlunkard won the league and 2A cup double in 2003 and went up to 1B

oh right thanks,1 last question...when a new team comes into the league(eg kilmallock,poloia alumia,pallas etc etc)how do they determin what division they start in?

Quote Originally Posted by slim-jim View Post
    oh right thanks,1 last question...when a new team comes into the league(eg kilmallock,poloia alumia,pallas etc etc)how do they determin what division they start in?
    in that scenario it is purely up to the ldmc who decides the division a new club can join. For example the polish team applied to join 2A but the council decided 2B

any results from the weekend lads hospital summerville called off i think summerville got a walkover and if thats true its a disgrace the match was called off on friday and to be honest i think balla and pallas have every right to feel agrieved with summerville only needing two more wins from the 5 remaining games for promotion and only 4 points behind pallas if they win the games in hand and a team to not even bother tryin to field a team i personnaly want to get out of this division on merit and not have gaa dictate who goes where

Quote Originally Posted by Begrudger View Post
    any results from the weekend lads hospital summerville called off i think summerville got a walkover and if thats true its a disgrace the match was called off on friday and to be honest i think balla and pallas have every right to feel agrieved with summerville only needing two more wins from the 5 remaining games for promotion and only 4 points behind pallas if they win the games in hand and a team to not even bother tryin to field a team i personnaly want to get out of this division on merit and not have gaa dictate who goes where
    totally agree hospital are a joke for this,

ladsthink what you may but we tried everything to see if firstly we could field some sort of a team as we hate the whole giving points to anyone especially considering the close nature of the division. and secondly despite all of your giving out about having games on over the weekend what with the rugby on when we tried to get a rescheduling of the fixture summerville refused to budge. now why should we leave a team turn up on a sunday to play us if we already know well in advance that we only had 7 players available for sunday. if you look back at the fixtures we actually had 6 games over a 15 day period and that included two games on the last bank holiday weekend. give us a break with your moaning.

Quote Originally Posted by crusader View Post
    ladsthink what you may but we tried everything to see if firstly we could field some sort of a team as we hate the whole giving points to anyone especially considering the close nature of the division. and secondly despite all of your giving out about having games on over the weekend what with the rugby on when we tried to get a rescheduling of the fixture summerville refused to budge. now why should we leave a team turn up on a sunday to play us if we already know well in advance that we only had 7 players available for sunday. if you look back at the fixtures we actually had 6 games over a 15 day period and that included two games on the last bank holiday weekend. give us a break with your moaning.
    3 handy points for us but as begrudger said balla can feel hard done by,,, how come ye couldn't field a team for such an important game fo yourselves rather than us

Willl ye just give it a rest lads..It happens sometimes..We got the walkover so lets move on..Pallas lost 2-0 to kilfinane so if we win our games in hand we are only 1 point behind them..Makes for interesting end to it all!!!
    We've a tough game in kilfinane this weekend in the cup..they are no push overs out there!!

Quote Originally Posted by svillerovers View Post
    Willl ye just give it a rest lads..It happens sometimes..We got the walkover so lets move on..Pallas lost 2-0 to kilfinane so if we win our games in hand we are only 1 point behind them..Makes for interesting end to it all!!!
    We've a tough game in kilfinane this weekend in the cup..they are no push overs out there!!
    yeah its not ideal but it does happen,didnt realise ye could catch pallas?

Quote Originally Posted by crusader View Post
    I think we were struggling for a team aswell not tryin to moan was just looking forward to the game and with so much at stake it would have been a cracker think its wide open for us to hunt down pallas now one more slip up and were ready to pounce would love to go up as league winners that is of course only if we win our remaining games

believe me it was a game we hated to give a walkover to ye. but it was just one of those weekends when players who gave up their last bank holiday for football needed to have time for wives/girlfriends or both. As well as that there was so much on around the country between rugby and rallies. we only have a small squad of players so if 7 or 8 lads cant make it we were only left with 7 players for sunday. apologies to balla but we were in a similar position ourselves as we had same points as balla.

Div 2A Lipper Cup

Hospital v Aisling Annacotty, 2.00,
    Kilfinane v Summerville Rvs, 2.00,
    St Pats v Kennedy Park, 10.30,
    Athlunkard Villa v Pallasgreen, 10.30.

Predictions anyone??

I would say wins for Hospital, Kilfinane, St Pats and Pallas.

By the way, where abouts is Abbeys pitch?

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Div 2A Lipper Cup

Hospital v Aisling Annacotty, 2.00,
    Kilfinane v Summerville Rvs, 2.00,
    St Pats v Kennedy Park, 10.30,
    Athlunkard Villa v Pallasgreen, 10.30.

Predictions anyone??

I would say wins for Hospital, Kilfinane, St Pats and Pallas.

By the way, where abouts is Abbeys pitch?
    Summer vill to hit kilfinane for 10!!

Page 25 of 36 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast