Page 11 of 36 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 2A 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by Easy Easy View Post
    What happining to Atlunkard? How many games lost this season already?
    lost 5 matches. extremely disappointing. especially after doing so well last season and had a chance of promotion with 3 games left to play. lost to st. pats sunday. not a bad side but very beatable. don't have the players this season. only hope now is for pallas to run away with it and everybody else fights out for 2nd place
    "It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"

Quote Originally Posted by lankyboy26 View Post
    lost 5 matches. extremely disappointing. especially after doing so well last season and had a chance of promotion with 3 games left to play. lost to st. pats sunday. not a bad side but very beatable. don't have the players this season. only hope now is for pallas to run away with it and everybody else fights out for 2nd place
    Thats a big change to what was been said about ye at the start of the season.Did ye lose players or something.After ye beat kp(lucky so i heard)the talk was about ye pushing to win the league.Pallas cant be all that good,dont get me wrong good side but are they unbeatable.Like last season they will fall away after christmas.If you look at the league table pallas are on 18points with 7games played,if anyone around them are with in 6points and same games played they have a great chance of going up.

Quote Originally Posted by untouchable View Post

The Hyde lads who signed this year are forwards. Flanagan's best position is centre half but I watched the game against Star and he played well at left full.
    What people dont realise is that Star apparently had the so called quickest player in town playing on the wing that day. I was at the match and to be honest i thought it was a tactical decision by KP to play Flanagan at full back to combat this.

Was this so called quickest player in town playing that morning? If he was i certainly didnt see him. With the exception of one missjudgement in the second half Flanagan had the winger in his pocket the entire game.

May i also add that it is extremely disrespectful to any player to have his name posted up here and for derogatory comments and remarks to be made against it. Its just not on.
    Last edited by Irishjon25; 13/11/2008 at 9:56 AM.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by Irishjon25 View Post
    What people dont realise is that Star apparently had the so called quickest player in the division playing on the wing that day. I was at the match and to be honest i thought it was a tactical decision by KP to play Flanagan at full back to combat this.

Was this so called quickest player in the division playing that morning? If he was i certainly didnt see him. With the exception of one missjudgement in the second half Flanagan had the winger in his pocket the entire game.

May i also add that it is extremely disrespectful to any player to have his name posted up here and for derogatory comments and remarks to be made against it. Its just not on.

Just to answer some queries above on Star.......No they didnt have that quick player available for that game along with 4 other regulars, and that winger that did play, that you say "Flanagan had in his pocket", scored 1 and set up another of the 4 goals.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Just to answer some queries above on Star.......No they didnt have that quick player available for that game along with 4 other regulars, and that winger that did play, that you say "Flanagan had in his pocket", scored 1 and set up another of the 4 goals.
    Did they score two goals from corners/crosses, one penalty and one from an error made by KP at the back? Not sure what he could have done to stop them.

For a guy playing out of position he was one of KP's better players on the day imho. Not going to get into a tit for tat here abbey i just dont understand how people can come on here and make derogatory remarks about the bloke when they are clearly not correct.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Irishjon25 View Post
    Did they score two goals from corners/crosses, one penalty and one from an error made by KP at the back? Not sure what he could have done to stop them.

For a guy playing out of position he was one of KP's better players on the day imho. Not going to get into a tit for tat here abbey i just dont understand how people can come on here and make derogatory remarks about the bloke when they are clearly not correct.

Not looking for a tit for tat, just stating facts.
    I dont know the bloke playing with KP, just giving you the facts from Star.

And I agree with you, remarks are uncalled for.

[quote=Irishjon25;1057483]What people dont realise is that Star apparently had the so called quickest player in town playing on the wing that day. I was at the match and to be honest i thought it was a tactical decision by KP to play Flanagan at full back to combat this
    I could not agree more about people coming on passing remarks.But if you were honest they would have done better with a more normal line out.Look anyway they done ok,manager done what he taught was best for the team,and really it doesnt matter were any of the back 4play.My god Irishjon you must be the last of the kp lads.Any other teams with players that can use the net.Am i the only castle man on this.

Playing Abbey at the weekend. First time playing down there, how is the pitch normally?

Thats a big change to what was been said about ye at the start of the season.Did ye lose players or something.After ye beat kp(lucky so i heard)the talk was about ye pushing to win the league.Pallas cant be all that good,dont get me wrong good side but are they unbeatable.Like last season they will fall away after christmas.If you look at the league table pallas are on 18points with 7games played,if anyone around them are with in 6points and same games played they have a great chance of going up.
    ya we lost 4 players, 4 excellent players at that. a few lads from the B's have been brought up to the A team and don't get me wrong they're talented players but it's a big step up from 4A to 2A and they're very young too. we had a great pre-season and we beat kennedy park 3-1 away in the league (far from lucky). we were the better team on the day despite what you might've heard. we were 2-1 up on pallas at half-time in the league. they scored 3 goals in the second half and beat us 4-2. in my opinion they're the best team we've played in the league yet, but in saying that if we'd scored the 3rd goal we would've beaten them. it's all if's and but's i know. but the reality is we're only a shadow of the team last season. for example we beat cals last season 3-0, beat aisling twice scoring 10 goals against them, lost to them this season. all's not right at present

-----------------------------------------------------
    Why did you lose 4 players?did they pack it in or transfer?
    "The World Cup is a truly International event." John Motson

Quote Originally Posted by Easy Easy View Post
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Why did you lose 4 players?did they pack it in or transfer?
    our left midfielder is playing rugby, our right back moved to dublin, one of the strikers packed it in, another striker got transferred abroad at work and our centre midfielder has to get a knee operation, hasn't played all season. on top of all that our goalkeeper gave up soccer altogether. we only had 11 players on sunday vs st. pats and 4 of them were B players. it's gonna be a long season

predictions for sunday 16/11/08 :

castle rovers 2 aisling/annacotty 1
    abbey rovers 0 kennedy park 3
    hyde rangers 1 hospital 4

Abbey 1 Kennedy Park 3

Only result i heard anybody got any other?

Quote Originally Posted by TopperHarley View Post
    Abbey 1 Kennedy Park 3

Only result i heard anybody got any other?
    hyde rangers-1 hospital -2
    good open game with hospital creating plenty of chances. Fair play to Hyde they never gave up the cause.

Quote Originally Posted by crusader View Post
    hyde rangers-1 hospital -2
    good open game with hospital creating plenty of chances. Fair play to Hyde they never gave up the cause.
    i take it you're a Hospital man? ye are going well this season

a good game played yesterday,castle against aisling,aisling winning 6-4, aisling went up 2-0 within 20 mins,castle came back to make it 2-2 by half time,castle went up 3-2 shortly after the break aisling replied through a penalty and went on to score 3 more goals, castle got a late goal,lots of chances in this game could have ended up any score,1 part of the pitch was very bad couldnt play at all both teams found it very hard to defend on it,ref was very bad gave castle soft frees all through the match,castle have a few handy players,1 really good player up front,think he played premier at 1 stage,derek o'hurley for aisling was very good cause all problems for castle center halfs,aisling are getting better but still conceading far 2 many goals.

Quote Originally Posted by Dkid View Post
    a good game played yesterday,castle against aisling,aisling winning 6-4, aisling went up 2-0 within 20 mins,castle came back to make it 2-2 by half time,castle went up 3-2 shortly after the break aisling replied through a penalty and went on to score 3 more goals, castle got a late goal,lots of chances in this game could have ended up any score,1 part of the pitch was very bad couldnt play at all both teams found it very hard to defend on it,ref was very bad gave castle soft frees all through the match,castle have a few handy players,1 really good player up front,think he played premier at 1 stage,derek o'hurley for aisling was very good cause all problems for castle center halfs,aisling are getting better but still conceading far 2 many goals.
    Every free kick castle got they deserved.And yes castle striker played premier.just one game were really if your honest the ref gave the game to aisling.

who the striker play premier with, was it star? were you playing or watching the match, or were you watching another match,even 3 or 4 castle players was saying the ref was on castles side,they were laughing about some of the frees ye were getting

Quote Originally Posted by Dkid View Post
    who the striker play premier with, was it star? were you playing or watching the match, or were you watching another match,even 3 or 4 castle players was saying the ref was on castles side,they were laughing about some of the frees ye were getting
    well the ref didn't do much good if castle still lost and conceded 6 goals?!

Your spot on the ref was shocking,but to be honest our midfield was just as bad.

Page 11 of 36 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast