Thread: 10 titles = 1 star?

10 titles = 1 star?

I was just reading this piece on the Bohs site about tonight's match and I was a puzzled when I came to this bit:
    I would not be a great believer in tempting fate, mainly because there are more interesting things to tempt, but, if as expected Bohemians go on to clinch the 10th league title in their history they will have earned the right to adorn the famous red and black gansy with a gold star.
    I've never noticed one on the Rovers or Shels jersey. Would they be allowed to wear one by the FAI?

I know this happens in other countries like Germany and Italy but I've never heard of it here before.

Can anyone clarify?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    414 Posts
    Nothing to stop them. You'll find Wexford Youths have 3 stars above the crest representing Under 18 titles won.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    I was just reading this piece on the Bohs site about tonight's match and I was a puzzled when I came to this bit:

I've never noticed one on the Rovers or Shels jersey. Would they be allowed to wear one by the FAI?

I know this happens in other countries like Germany and Italy but I've never heard of it here before.

Can anyone clarify?
    Rovers definitely wear one, Shels did, not sure if they're still doing it.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Its not an official FAI policy but both Rovers and Shels have had stars at various stages.

The Wexford Youths one is cringe worthy

414 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

The Wexford Youths one is cringe worthy
    I tend to agree, but those titles do mean an awful lot to Wallace and they represent where the Youths came from. I think he should have left it at the two, adding a third this year was really pointless.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Wexford, hold on to the stars on the logo - in years to come when you have moved on to bigger things, which you will surely do, it's good to remember where you came from.

stars mean nothing
    see here http://www.getminted.com/sports/spor...ty%20crest.png

thought i'd post that before macy does

354 Posts
    Will be a long time until we get ours, just missing the one mind !
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Aberdeen had two on it for their two european trophy wins. One being the fecking Super CUp...

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I tend to agree, but those titles do mean an awful lot to Wallace and they represent where the Youths came from. I think he should have left it at the two, adding a third this year was really pointless.
    It's actually gone to 5 stars this year, adding the inter league and club titles this season. I don't belive in the stars at all and only one of the titles was won as a CLUB, the rest were representitive. The supporters club decided to remove them from our badge.

A truly great achievement to win so many under age titles, but not for the senior jersey, IMO

414 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    It's actually gone to 5 stars this year, adding the inter league and club titles this season. I don't belive in the stars at all and only one of the titles was won as a CLUB, the rest were representitive. The supporters club decided to remove them from our badge.

A truly great achievement to win so many under age titles, but not for the senior jersey, IMO
    Ya getting a bit mixed up there myself. Stars all over the place.

I think as a nod to the history of Wexford Youths the original stars are not a bad thing. I don't think more should have been added and I don't think it should change until the club wins a senior trophy.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    The supporters club decided to remove them from our badge.
    Fair play. It is a bit desperate putting them on the senior shirt alright.

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Nothing to stop them. You'll find Wexford Youths have 3 stars above the crest representing Under 18 titles won.
    The Limerick crest has two stars also - representing our two league titles. To be honest though I'm not too comfortable with it because a star is supposed to represent 10 titles, but its there so what ya gonna do! Would have to wait a very very very long time for us to genuinely earn two stars!
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    The Limerick crest has two stars also - representing our two league titles. To be honest though I'm not too comfortable with it because a star is supposed to represent 10 titles, but its there so what ya gonna do! Would have to wait a very very very long time for us to genuinely earn two stars!
    'Our' two league titles. A tiny bit spurious but sure what harm.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    'Our' two league titles. A tiny bit spurious but sure what harm.
    Maybe we get one for every year L37 stays in existence
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Maybe we get one for every year L37 stays in existence
    Historically that would be almost as difficult for us as earning the stars in the traditional manner. Especially with the name change next season. Happily, in the short term at least, it looks like our days of annual demise are behind us and being enjoyed by most of the other clubs in the league instead.

1,079 Posts
    I'm thinking of suggesting we put one on any time we get ten wins in a season.

I thought ye did that already *narf*.

We were going to put a star for every manager, but the jersey ended up looking like the sky at night.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

One more * and we get a Star!

1,519 Posts
    That would a far more appropriate system for League of Ireland clubs to use. One star for every season you finished with an asterisk by your name on the league table.