Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 LastLast

Thread: Another Nordie thread

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    More hot air from Reykjavik. It's quite clear what FIFA's statutes mean, not that I agree with them. For players from NI wanting to play for the South, nationality isn't enough in itself for eligibility. I'll take FIFA as the authority thanks, not the web ramblings of a few Scandinavians.

An Irish nationality doesn't entitle to play for Northern Ireland? Aye, right.
    Whether you agree with them or not is irrelevant.
    If you state you have a clear understanding of the FIFA statutes why would you quote article 16 to support your contention?
    It's irrational.
    Ealing Green has already vainly tried to argue the validity of article 16 and you can guess where that ended up.
    The OWC board after about 200 pages (a bit slow up there) finally conceeded that article 16 did not apply.
    Now, do we have the last man standing who believes in Article 16?
    Not even the IFA believe in Article 16. As dumb and all as the IFA are on this issue, not even they argue Article 16.
    The IFA in their wisdom decided that article 17 must apply. Article 17, the one to do with acquired nationality. The IFA are much smarter that those who argue for article 16, the IFA decided to use the same argument that has already failed before

For players from NI wanting to play for the South, nationality isn't enough in itself for eligibility
    Automatic Nationality without residence requirements, as stated in article 15, is what is applied to 6 county born declaring for the Republic.

The FAI have the perfect right to make young Irish nationals born in the 6 Counties aware of their national team options and select those who put themselves forward for selection, like the 3 or 4 Derry lads in the last year.

2,771 Posts
    love the change of name - sums it up perfectly. I have been avoiding this thread as i just know exactly who would be posting and exactly what they would be posting.

UNBELIEVABLY BIG F*CKIN YAWN
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

so call me naive, but why have you come in to post the exact statement above?

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Perhaps, Paul, because even an "UNBELIEVABLY BIG F*CKING YAWNY" thread is more interesting than anything in Saska-UNBELIEVEABLYF*CKINGBORING-toon on a Tuesday morning...

2,771 Posts

Ignoring the fact that ive posed this question to you Paul a few times on the eL forum, suffice to say i find these arguments between the usual suspects so tiresome, unproductive and irrelevant. Rehashing the same ol crap over and over and over with no end product just seems like a big waste of time and i think the thread title (whoever changed it) says it all. What was a discussion about a show on TV descended over the course of a few pages to something so unproductive that it is hardly worth reading. And the length of some of the posts is crazy. How do people here have so much time to dedicate to trying to "win" an argument against some faceless poster on a website?

Anyway, you may all continue with this crap without further comment from me if thats what floats yer boat. Enjoy.

and yes, EG, the absurdity of your posts keeps me far more entertained than the goings on of downtown saskatoon on a Tuesday morning...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

215 Posts
    [quote=Gather round;1044531]

I doubt that, but go on, tell us. What neutral and inclusive anthem and emblems?

Maybe a simple green background (uncontentious colour) with the emblem of a unified FA. "Ireland's Call" works well enough for Rugby so why reinvent the wheel. But actually I am not advocating an AI team, just suggesting that the IFA and NI fans need to do a whole lot more if they are genuinely interested in building a cross community support base.

We grasp your witless wind-up well enough.

Dont understand why you presume that someone who does not agree with you is indulging in a wind-up? Maybe it's in your inability to comprehend difference that is the root cause of the problem.

Even if your anonymous mate actually exists (which I doubt), I'm not sure you fully understand how the shock-jock profession actually works. You claim said mate knows authoritatively that no Catholics attend NI away games. Did he do a survey as they entered the ground, or what?

Actually I run a successful PR business and work with journos (including this one) day in day out. I am even married to a journalist so I think my understanding of the profession is ever so slightly better than yours. My mate does exist but forgive me if I dont betray his identity to a person who has form for unprovoked verbal abuse. Think the "100% Protestant" reference was not intended as an authoritative piece of quantitative research, but a means of underscoring a point that very very few Catholics travel with the NI team, and having viewed Co Down Green's clips I think that even you might be able to understand why.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Ignoring the fact that ive posed this question to you Paul a few times on the eL forum, suffice to say i find these arguments between the usual suspects so tiresome, unproductive and irrelevant. Rehashing the same ol crap over and over and over with no end product just seems like a big waste of time and i think the thread title (whoever changed it) says it all. What was a discussion about a show on TV descended over the course of a few pages to something so unproductive that it is hardly worth reading. And the length of some of the posts is crazy. How do people here have so much time to dedicate to trying to "win" an argument against some faceless poster on a website?

Anyway, you may all continue with this crap without further comment from me if thats what floats yer boat. Enjoy.

and yes, EG, the absurdity of your posts keeps me far more entertained than the goings on of downtown saskatoon on a Tuesday morning...

Ok then. I'm not sure what question you have asked me before by the way.

Anyway whats so boring as the 'toon, is it worse than winnipeg?

But even if the same posts are rehashed(algorithm ya i am a nerd) over and over again, at least isn't it keeping interest in the board for those that want to debate it, from both sides of the footballing and/or political divide. Any converse, is good converse in my opinion anyway. You might even find that there is a little nugget of info that you didn't expect to find, even if its just a good one liner phrase, if not then just choose to ignore the thread, you have to see the irony of what you posted, just liike sideshow bob saw the irony when he used the TV as the medium to tell everyone he was going to blow up the whole world because they watched too much TV, no?

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by aidz1 View Post
    Jaysus lads,
    have ye no jobs???

Essays being written on here..

i have a suggestion for a new flag that would incorporate the island of ireland.
    Perhaps, some green that symbolises the nationalist community ( and also green for teh emerald isle) and perhaps some orange which could represent those living here of the unionists belief. And to merge the unity of the 2, some white for a bit of peace and love
    we could replicate those 3 colours on the french national flag and have said 3 colours vertically across.. any thoughts??
    Best post on this Thread by a mile
    Its really not that complicated!!!

2,771 Posts
    Ok then. I'm not sure what question you have asked me before by the way.

Anyway whats so boring as the 'toon, is it worse than winnipeg?

But even if the same posts are rehashed(algorithm ya i am a nerd) over and over again, at least isn't it keeping interest in the board for those that want to debate it, from both sides of the footballing and/or political divide. Any converse, is good converse in my opinion anyway. You might even find that there is a little nugget of info that you didn't expect to find, even if its just a good one liner phrase, if not then just choose to ignore the thread, you have to see the irony of what you posted, just liike sideshow bob saw the irony when he used the TV as the medium to tell everyone he was going to blow up the whole world because they watched too much TV, no?
    "Any converse is good converse"? did you ever watch Roddy and Sean Connor on MNS?

Anyhow, i dont come on here to learn new things, respect different opinions or pick up witty one liners - im just a cantankerous w*nker who doesnt see the point in trying to convert the opinions of others nor do i see the point in the Nordie Tag Team coming on here boring the t1ts off everyone with their "copy & paste" posts. I just wanted to get that off my chest. And i feel a lot better and a little less cantankerous for having done so.

Nowhere is worse than Winnipeg. No way.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i feel a lot better and a little less cantankerous for having done so.
    I'm pleased for you. So long as you can forget you're still living in Saskatchewan, you'll be fine, so....

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    I'm pleased for you. So long as you can forget you're still living in Saskatchewan, you'll be fine, so....

every little helps...

ive just brought this back up for SKSTU

but I was watching a bit of the news here(think it was channel 4 or 5) not sure, I was trying to find it on youtube, anyway I spotted a lot fellas with NI jerseys in the group of loyalists moving as close as they could to the republican silent protest to rub them probably. Anyway I didnt take much notice till I read the Irish Times yesterday and it was pointed out that there were quite a lot of people in the protest that were wearing NI jerseys that were chanting songs such as GSTQ with the no surrender chants, the famine is over, why dont you take a wash, etc etc . Im not trying to stoke the fire here, but one cant keep separating NI supporters and those that wear NI jerseys or say those ppl aren't supporters of the NI team, eventually you have to admit one and the same etc....

are you being serious? The IFA cant stop someone buying a football top and wearing it just like the FAI cant stop republicans buying a republic top and wearing it if they choose to get up to mischief.

Yeah but NI is a loyalist team. Ireland are not a republican team. That is the difference!

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    Yeah but NI is a loyalist team.
    Try telling that to e.g. Sammy Clingan or Chris Baird, or our latest call-ups, Paddy McCourt of Celtic, or Derry City's Niall McGinn, former Donaghmore and Tyrone U-21 GAA player...
    Ireland are not a republican team.
    So who's that team at No.38, then?
    http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ra...llranking.html

284 Posts
    ive just brought this back up for SKSTU

but I was watching a bit of the news here(think it was channel 4 or 5) not sure, I was trying to find it on youtube, anyway I spotted a lot fellas with NI jerseys in the group of loyalists moving as close as they could to the republican silent protest to rub them probably. Anyway I didnt take much notice till I read the Irish Times yesterday and it was pointed out that there were quite a lot of people in the protest that were wearing NI jerseys that were chanting songs such as GSTQ with the no surrender chants, the famine is over, why dont you take a wash, etc etc . Im not trying to stoke the fire here, but one cant keep separating NI supporters and those that wear NI jerseys or say those ppl aren't supporters of the NI team, eventually you have to admit one and the same etc....
    You really haven't a clue, do you?

36 Posts
    Feeney i think is also a catholic

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    Feeney i think is also a catholic
    Aye right, him and Ian Paisley...

57 Posts
    Yeah but NI is a loyalist team. Ireland are not a republican team. That is the difference!
    Damn those loyalists in their green shirts with a Celtic cross on it.

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Aye right, him and Ian Paisley...
    lol are u sure he isnt but ? any other catholics in the team or past ones??

Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 LastLast