Page 11 of 17 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: Another Nordie thread

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post

I am happy that on the night, our team/manager wanted to win a football match, for the right reasons and in the right manner, with my greatest (footballing) regret being that we didn't quite manage it.

Que Sera Sera...
    Well just got around to reading this post, think everyone will have to agree to disagree on this one. But Ealing Green are you seriously saying that your biggest footballing regret is that you didn't stop us from qualifying for USA 94? That's a bit more than mere sporting rivalry no?
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    Well just got around to reading this post, think everyone will have to agree to disagree on this one. But Ealing Green are you seriously saying that your biggest footballing regret is that you didn't stop us from qualifying for USA 94? That's a bit more than mere sporting rivalry no?
    So if we draw England in the qualifers for Euro2012. We win the group early. They come to Lansdowne needing a draw to qualify as runners up otherwise Romania (lets say) go through do you think we'd be indifferent as to the result? Lansdowne would be rocking if we beat them.

Yeah well said, Its rivalry and nothing wrong with it as long as it does not go overboard.
    In Trap we trust

630 Posts
    Originally Posted by EalingGreen

I am happy that on the night, our team/manager wanted to win a football match, for the right reasons and in the right manner, with my greatest (footballing) regret being that we didn't quite manage it
    I wonder were you as happy and proud when in 1985 Nothern Ireland and England arranged(played would not be the right word) a nil;nil draw at Wembley so that Nothern Ireland could go to Mexico86.

With reguard to the Ireland v Northern Ireland match the right result was achieved in the end so maybe the players were more relaxed about the result than the supporters of either side.
    Last edited by seanfhear; 14/10/2008 at 1:19 PM.

1,928 Posts
    So if we draw England in the qualifers for Euro2012. We win the group early. They come to Lansdowne needing a draw to qualify as runners up otherwise Romania (lets say) go through do you think we'd be indifferent as to the result? Lansdowne would be rocking if we beat them.
    Gspain,you missed Docboys point,
    Lansdowne road would be rocking for any game where are beating the English but it would be a 100 miles from a greatest football regret that they get a gammy draw in a tense game and qualify.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    Er...I think he means his biggest regret in that game. Not in his entire football-watching life, like

Quote Originally Posted by Sean Fhear
    I wonder were you as happy and proud when in 1985 Nothern Ireland and England arranged(played would not be the right word) a nil;nil draw at Wembley so that Nothern Ireland could go to Mexico86
    Are you one of the Romanian Sean Fhears then [don't write in- I know what it means]. Incidentally, the Swedes also gurned when we allegedly co-operated with the Scots to knock them out of WC 1982. Top tip- before whining about non-existent countries diddling ye out of a place in the sun, it's probably best not to lose to them home and away...

In the 1985, we set out negatively for a draw and got it. They wanted to win 4-0 or 5-0 and didn't. Life's tough.

PS apologies for namedropping- especially after chiding 3rd garda for it- but I was talking to Newstalk 106 hack Ken Early about this recently. He said that RTE's ad rates (and thus, presumably the expected audience) for England games not involving your team are higher than for anyone else Worldwide, including Brazil and Argentina. Which suggests that far from being obsessed by the problems of their neighbours, a significant proportion of RoI fans/ viewers are quite pleased to cheer them on?

PPS I'll post up a brief video clip of our fans' sing-song in the North Tribune in Maribor. My camera films in 'Quick Time' Mac program, but when I try to upload/ convert, it either loses most of the content (youtube) or is v. poor quality (Windows .wmv file). Any tips, and with apologies for the tangent? The file is about 4 minutes and 80 MB btw. Ta in advance.
    Last edited by Gather round; 14/10/2008 at 1:51 PM.

1,928 Posts
    PPS I'll post up a brief video clip of our fans' sing-song in the North Tribune in Maribor.
    Overly concerned about NI fans goody goody image? I´d be more concerned about the result

My camera films in 'Quick Time' Mac program, but when I try to upload/ convert, it either loses most of the content (youtube) or is v. poor quality (Windows .wmv file). Any tips, and with apologies for the tangent? The file is about 4 minutes and 80 MB btw. Ta in advance.
    I use Handbrake when converting video file formats on a Mac.
    But 4 minutes 80mb size of camera quality video will look poor if shrunk.

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    Aye, I'd agree it was harmless and a laugh with maybe some self-parody thrown in.

It's hardly strange that Scottish and Welsh fans don't sing it. They're less appreciative of irony than we are

GR I think this is the problem with NI supporters. You may regard it as harmless and the motive may indeed have been self-parody (but i am not sure it was), but would the same fans have derived the same sense of harmless fun from singing "A Nation Once Again."I suspect not. It's great that the IFA are stamping out blatently sectarian chants, and the grass roots stuff is also commendable, but you need to go further to change the fundamental ethos of unionism that surrounds the team.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    Er...I think he means his biggest regret in that game. Not in his entire football-watching life, like

PS apologies for namedropping- especially after chiding 3rd garda for it- but I was talking to Newstalk 106 hack Ken Early about this recently. He said that RTE's ad rates (and thus, presumably the expected audience) for England games not involving your team are higher than for anyone else Worldwide, including Brazil and Argentina. Which suggests that far from being obsessed by the problems of their neighbours, a significant proportion of RoI fans/ viewers are quite pleased to cheer them on?

To be frank your first point is ********, you honestly think that by saying 'with my greatest (footballing) regret being that we didn't quite manage it' he was talking about his biggest regret in that one game? Sorry but that makes no sense whatsoever, how many regrets per game do you guys have?

As to your second point I'd say that the vast majority of people watching England in Ireland are watching them to cheer on the opposition, just because there are high viewing figures in no way correlates to there being high support for England in major championships, people watch to see them fukk up. For right or wrong that's a fact, watch England play in any pub in Ireland and see the cheers that go up when the opposition score. I was chatting to a few English lads during the England match last Saturday and had a good bit of banter with them over it, all good natured but it still took them a while to get why we weren't cheering them on (as they always cheer us on apparantly). Told them I'd watched Germany play Costa Rica during World Cup 2006 and every Englishman in the pub was cheering on Costa Rica and used that comparison and they understood. But it's only football banter at the end of the day.

As for Ken Early, the man talsk more sh1te then any broadcaster I know so I wouldn't put great stock in anything he says, he's an embarrassment on the radio.

630 Posts
    Originally posted by Gather Round

In the 1985, we set out negatively for a draw and got it. They wanted to win 4-0 or 5-0 and didn't. Life's tough
    This game was played in the style of the infamous Germany/Austria world cup tournament game e.g. the right result(?) was achieved for both sides.
    Its amazing what one misses when supporting your own team.
    Funny after all the controversy on the infamous night in Windsor park the players achieved(?)the right result.
    I had not realized that the Scots had helped you to qualify in 1982 but as you may know that they gifted us entry to Euro88 with a fabulous performance in sofia.

Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    This game was played in the style of the infamous Germany/Austria world cup tournament game e.g. the right result(?) was achieved for both sides.
    Funny after all the controversy on the infamous night in Windsor park the players achieved(?)the right result.
    I had not realized that the Scots had helped you to qualify in 1982 but as you may know that they gifted us entry to Euro88 with a fabulous performance in sofia.
    seanfhear not sure i fully understand what you are saying in your 3rd sentence, but if you are saying what i think you are way off. Ireland just about got there relying on other results, you can hardly say thats what they wanted to "acheieve"......

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    Overly concerned about NI fans goody goody image? I´d be more concerned about the result

I use Handbrake when converting video file formats on a Mac.But 4 minutes 80mb size of camera quality video will look poor if shrunk
    No, I'm relaxed and quite welcoming of any goody-goody image we have (or don't). There is an increasing number of older fans, women and kids going to the away games now. As well as the C*th*lics that 3rd Garda's thinks are entirely absent.

Thanks for the technical tips. I'll remember to split longer files generally

Quote Originally Posted by Third cop
    would the same fans have derived the same sense of harmless fun from singing "A Nation Once Again"
    No idea. I've never heard any of them singing it.

Quote Originally Posted by Third cop
    you need to go further to change the fundamental ethos of unionism that surrounds the team
    Disagree. Don't have one, ergo don't need to change it. If I (and hundreds of others) want a unionist sing-along, we really don't need to travel 1500km through the night to do it. There's a number 4 bus to Stormont every few minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by D9 69
    Sorry but that makes no sense whatsoever, how many regrets per game do you guys have?
    Oh, regrets aplenty. You seen our defence?

No doubt EG will be along presently to explain. I stand to be corrected if necessary.

Quote Originally Posted by D9 69
    As to your second point I'd say that the vast majority of people watching England in Ireland are watching them to cheer on the opposition, just because there are high viewing figures in no way correlates to there being high support for England in major championships, people watch to see them fukk up. For right or wrong that's a fact
    You may well be right that it's a majority. I doubt it's 100%, but sad that so many thousands of football-loving Irishmen go to the trouble and cost for some team they're not even playing.

Point taken about it being only banter, but Ken Early's a sensitive lad. I'll warn him to be careful around D9.

Quote Originally Posted by Sean fhear
    This game was played in the style of the infamous Germany/Austria world cup tournament game e.g. the right result(?) was achieved for both sides. Its amazing what one misses when supporting your own team
    I think not. The Romanians protested half-heartedly; we replied as I've suggested; no-one else in Europe was particularly bothered (as distinct from the Austria game in WC 1982, or you could have mentioned Peru-Argentina in 1978).

57 Posts
    The game was shown live on RTE AFAIK. The above comment is a deep insult to Pat Jennings in particular who made some great saves that night.
    I remember watching it on tv and it was tight right until the end. I think Dixon had a great late chance. NI also beat Romania home and away in that campaign.

I agree the Romanians think it was fixed but many Danes also think the 1993 game was fixed. I guess they haven't seen the play.
    I had an argument with a Danish fan on this issue 2 years ago in Germany.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    The game was shown live on RTE AFAIK. The above comment is a deep insult to Pat Jennings in particular who made some great saves that night.
    I remember watching it on tv and it was tight right until the end. I think Dixon had a great late chance. NI also beat Romania home and away in that campaign.

I agree the Romanians think it was fixed but many Danes also think the 1993 game was fixed. I guess they haven't seen the play.
    I had an argument with a Danish fan on this issue 2 years ago in Germany.
    Dixon missed three greaty chances as I remember. Apart from the double in the friendly against Germany (the Germans were jet-lagged straight off a night flight), did he really look the part in international football?*

A large number of England fans sang "it's a fix". But hey, we saw only this weekend how hard to please they are- booing when three or four up

Closer to the present, weren't Denmark, Sweden and Italy involved in a Eurovision-voting type row at Euro 2004?

* GSpain and I are both, er veteran Chelsea fans
    Last edited by Gather round; 14/10/2008 at 3:46 PM.

1,928 Posts
    Maybe November 1993 in WP was a fix, with a good alibi. I'd keep an open mind on that one.

Whereas we all know Pat Jennings could have made those saves blindfolded at Wembley.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Maybe November 1993 in WP was a fix, with a good alibi. I'd keep an open mind on that one.

Whereas we all know Pat Jennings could have made those saves blindfolded at Wembley.
    why would ye keep an open mind, of course it wasn't we needed to win that game, only a peach saved us.

1,928 Posts
    Do you use 'ye' when referring to the singular 'you'?

I use 'you' when you use 'ye'

"ye" is generally the plural 'you' as in the dubs say "yous lot", is covered by the term "ye", pronounced yeeee, the term "ye" for singular 'you' is used but is pronounced "yeh", subtle but very important difference. Its all down to how you say the sentence as opposed to reading it.

630 Posts
    If any of us were supporting the teams relying on genuine competitive games in any or all of the games mentioned earlier I think that we would notice that though these games were supposedly competitive the result worked out that the teams that needed a certain result always got the result.Funny how it happened everytime especially with all of the players involved mostly playing in the same league in England.

170 Posts
    Funny how it happened everytime especially with all of the players involved mostly playing in the same league in England.
    Aye, hilarious. They're all one big happy family in the same league in England.

Page 11 of 17 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast