Sorry mate. I was only a kid 20 years ago, I'm a bit vague about the details![]()
BTW For the England games in 1990 and 1991 the English FA denied there was any such agreement and said they were expecting GSTQ to be played. AnabF was played at Wembley. GSTQ was played at the 1995 friendly.
Sorry mate. I was only a kid 20 years ago, I'm a bit vague about the details![]()
Last edited by Gather round; 03/10/2008 at 12:45 PM.
It is absolutely certain that Jones was NOT at the 1993 game herself. In fact, she has been widely reported as admitting that she had no interest in football at that time, but had been prompted to pursue the idea for a play after reading newspaper reports of the match in the days following. This was also what prompted her to travel to USA94 i.e. research.
Interestingly, here is a post which someone purporting to be her son put up recently on OWC:
"I've never liked the play or remotely agreed with it's sentiments as she well knows from many arguments.
As far as I know any research was done from press and one trip to USA '94, which I can assure you I had no part of. At the end of the day it's a work of fiction and should be left at that. We know what it was like back then and we know what it's like now. If people chose not to recognise that then that's their issue. I loved Windsor then as I love it now, it's just somewhere I'd be proud to take my children to now"
There is no reason to believe that he is not who he says he is. It is notable however (imo), that her son is a long-time NI fan, including being at the 1993 game.
Eventually he (and his brother?) persuaded her to attend an NI game to see for herself. Subsequently, she has become a "fan", even having been seen at away games.
Which must indicate either that she is no longer bothered by the overtly sectarian behaviour which she deplored so readily in 1993, or that such behaviour is no longer a part of following NI.
I'd love for things to be amicable enough by then for both anthems to be played and respected by all (though I'm not entirely hopeful, tbh).
I'd love even more if before then, NI had adopted an anthem of its own to replace GSTQ, as Scotland and Wales have done. This is something worth doing for its own sake (imo), but it would also have the added bonus of avoiding controversy in games between NI and ROI (and Wales and Scotland, for that matter).
Wasn't it Jock Stein who said that?
Dinnae play friendlies, I mean.
Danny Boy? OK, I think it's a dirge, but maybe a bit less so than some?
On the other hand, we could have a militaristic one like you do.
I remember this one well. I actually supported NI in all games prior to this. That was before i was old enough to understand why Ireland was divided and before I found out what sectarianism was. If anyone does'nt know I suggest they get the video!
Anyone got a link for the play?
Marie Jones did her research with people who attended the game as well as newsp reports.
She has stated that a few times.
As I wrote, the play captures many situations quite accurately except for the dramatic Greystel 7 Ireland O chant.
Windsor pk was regarded by Nationalists as being a loyalist cesspit long before that game and for some years after that game.
The person who is claiming to be her son, appears to somewhat prejudiced himself, EG did not quote his reference to
'I would rather stab myself with a fork than watch the beggars'.
Did he (MJ's son) have special goggles that blanked out 11 of the 22 players, or what?
Geysir and Kingdom: Marie Jones's 'research' was superficial. She read the newspapers, spoke to a few people then wrote a polemic which distorted the main event on which the play is based. If you want to parrot cliches about loyalist cesspits and the like, we'll get little further than the thread locked. Plenty of nationalists supported NI in the 70s and 80s (arguably more than now), despite the violence being at a significantly higher level than in the mid-90s.
Wolfie: things might get worse. I mean, San marino have to win a game eventually...
Last edited by Gather round; 03/10/2008 at 1:31 PM.
KK leave out the talk of that, we have had it before.
This thread is great, thats another great response GR, maybe he suffers from a rare form of dyslexia where he only reads and understands 11 in a certain shade of green?
Was Republic anthem played when they stuffed the North 4-0 at windsor park.
And I mean stuffed them.... oooo ya
Great night that they were quite boys after that one...
Sorry about getting under the nose had to let it get out of system![]()
The threads featuring the OWC lads always start out as entertaining until we all plummet down the sink hole of the finer details of FIFA's current eligibility rules or the sub-clauses of the Good Friday Agreement.
Once they crop up it only serves to remind me that what we need is an actual match between Ireland V N.Ireland. No messin. Winner takes all - including bragging rights. Roll on Spring 2011.
Quoting years at random since 1975