Cork or Derry at home
    Sunday 26th

Wish it was away.

Id feel more confident if it was away from home to be honest but we are there and looking forward to it.we lost to Harps at home in a semi final on a Sunday afternoon about 10 seasons ago if i remember correctly.

thats right - there was a massive crowd down ~7000 in the ****ing rain

was it minogue who scored for them or is my mind playing tricks on me
    more water!

1,552 Posts
    Speakie and Donal O Brien got the goals that day - they're here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHYYnf2d64I
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fj746I8gG2c

Great day, some crowd and a fantastic Harps side at the time.

1,552 Posts
    Class feature here from the cup meeting the year before: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-RDUWa7Lcc

That was my first ever visit to Terryland and to Galway and great craic it was too. I remember meeting the 3 Barbados lads in the Alley and they were dead sound. Lavine told me he would score a hat-trick at Finn Park in the replay.

He didn't though.

37 Posts
    We are potentially 90 minutes away from Europe.

If Bohs beat Pat's and reach the Final whilst also winning the League, then all we have to do is win our semi final and we will be in Europe. Bohs can't represent Ireland in 2 different European competitiions.

Mind you, that rule is changing next season which means beaten Finalists won't qualify for European.

Wishful thinking. We need to beat Cork in the League on Friday first.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

46 Posts
    Lads Its a good draw

we have a great chance of beating either team
    we could have beaten derry in league cup semi only for mark gough

Promo for this game has to start this week if we want 4,000+ people in terryland the whole of galway city and county must be made aware of this game and its importance

Lets hope the players will forget about the cup till for next 3 weeks as we have cork on fri,sligo sat week, and bray the week after as we need a min of 7 points to have a chance to stay up

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Speakie and Donal O Brien got the goals that day - they're here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHYYnf2d64I
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fj746I8gG2c

Great day, some crowd and a fantastic Harps side at the time.
    cheers - it was that name speak i was cursing!!!
    more water!

64 Posts
    Derry won 5-3 on pens tonight.

Galway United v Derry City at Terryland Park Sunday 26th October; 3.15pm.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    Derry won 5-3 on pens tonight.

Galway United v Derry City at Terryland Park Sunday 26th October; 3.15pm.
    Derry twice in less than a week and even maybe 3 times if a replay

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    Derry twice in less than a week and even maybe 3 times if a replay
    ...and they already knocked us out of the League Cup at the semi final stage in Terryland.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    ...and they already knocked us out of the League Cup at the semi final stage in Terryland.
    with the aid of mark gough

Play like we did in League cup we have a great chance we were on top till they got the peno and went 1up

They should be a good crowd at this game as Danial Nick and the rest of office have spent the deloping a promotion plan for this game we should aim for 4,000 utd fans at this game and derry want 1000 tickets also

Note for anyone who wants a ticket for new stand buy your ticket early as first 1500 tickets sold will be offered a seat in the new stand

Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    with the aid of mark gough

Play like we did in League cup we have a great chance we were on top till they got the peno and went 1up

They should be a good crowd at this game as Danial Nick and the rest of office have spent the deloping a promotion plan for this game we should aim for 4,000 utd fans at this game and derry want 1000 tickets also

Note for anyone who wants a ticket for new stand buy your ticket early as first 1500 tickets sold will be offered a seat in the new stand
    excellent news, fair play to all at Terryland.... if I bump into terry the tiger in town over the next three weeks, ill be sure to tell him about the game
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

64 Posts
    Last edited by Mr Maroon; 06/10/2008 at 11:07 PM.

Any chance.

I was thinking today is there any chance the semi could be played Sunday Evening or night?Does it have to be afternoon?It will take away alot of the atmosphere i think having it on Sunday afternoon.I suppose it has to be on at that time for t.v etc but its a shame.Terryland has been a lively place the last few home games in both stands and think will be a great atmosphere for this game.I just remember the Semi Final vs Harps in '98 on a Sunday afternoon was nowhwere near as good for atmosphere as the quarter final was vs Pats at night.Getting tickets tomorrow.

147 Posts
    They should try and move it back to the evening as itclashes with the county hurling final and the televised game between Chelsea and Liverpool, as far as I know. It is bad enough it is on the SUnday of a Bank Hoiliday, but those additional things will also hit the crowd figure
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

i suppose the atmopshere would be better in the floodlights but id say there is no chance of it changing once rte decided on the schedule
    more water!

75 Posts
    Club can do nothing about RTE calls the tune. Looks like the county final wont be on that sunday as Loughrea game is called off due to the death of Vinny & Johnny Mahers Mother.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    They should try and move it back to the evening as itclashes with the county hurling final and the televised game between Chelsea and Liverpool, as far as I know. It is bad enough it is on the SUnday of a Bank Hoiliday, but those additional things will also hit the crowd figure
    dont forget there is a race meet up in ballybrit that it is clashing with also !

As for atmosphere, there used to be great atmospheres up there on sundays when it was the old terryland, in the old shed! Cant see why that cant happen again one more time?

In Zhivago.

Great to see the staff in Zhivago know exactly what they are selling.The book of tickets is labelled "F.A Cup Tickets".