Thread: Recommend a good pair of sensible trainers/runners

Recommend a good pair of sensible trainers/runners

...okay I need to get a new pair of runners for day to day use, walking to work etc.

I have chronic/recurrent/episodic tendonitis in both knees so my converse allstar days are well and truly over.

I need a pair of runners that have a a grand thick heel and sole that give plenty of cushion to the damaged joints BUT I don't want to to have to wear great big fluorescent white yokes with silver and fluorescent snot-green go faster stripes the like of which normally get worn in conjunction with shiney tracksuits and imitation Nike gear.

I'm currently wearing a pair of Reebocks that are nearly all black (my preference) save a slate grey thing on the sole. They are fine and have served me well but have seen better days.

My physio made a recommendation (before I got the reeboks) for a pair that I nearly fainted when I beheld. They'd have made a dedicated Honda Civic driver blush.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

You know you're getting on when the old reliable of converse for the summer/DMs for the winter just doesn't cut it anymore.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

You're not a good advert for dancing on the ceiling, Lionel
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Any good?

Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Christ is it open mic night here?
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Nike Air Terminators. Any footlocker has them, or a modern version. Made for Basketball players and super comfortable, they'll last you years, and look dang good too. I have two pairs myself.

For "runners" Asics can't be beaten. Had a small problem with my feet myself and I think the runners alone cured it.

30 Posts
    Asics or New Balance

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Christ is it open mic night here?
    Sorry Lionel....couldn't resist

On a serious note, I agree with the others in respect of Asics....I am a regular distance runner and swear by my Asics...very comfortable and supportive
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

I wear Asics running too, and would recommend them. Good support, but they might be a bit flash for what you're looking for. Maybe they do them in black too.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature