Thread: O'Connor and last night's game

Why do ppl always pretend not to know anything about the premiership.

Sure i thought u were an everton fan james.

If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

whatever and tbh i used to know alot more bout the old div1, when sports stadium had the rights for live sat soccer games
    cant honestly remember the last live full premiership match i saw.. saw 1st half of arsenal man u and the last 10mins of 2nd half but b4 that.. maybe 2 or 3 years b4 i saw anything other then goals..

never had skysports at home makes a big diff..

anyways anyone got an update on dan o connor and the meeting that was meant to be on last night in cork with him and the city officials !

Originally posted by Conor74
    I know, I prefer to watch it from a barstool meself... .
    as oppose to falling asleep on one

Is not virtually everyone a PREM fan in disguise given that's want most of us were at least brought up on??

Originally posted by WeAreRovers
    When O'Callaghan scored against us the other week he ran straight to the Rovers fans, giving it loads, all the usual gestures etc.
    What "usual gestures" was he making? I only saw him run towards ye lot and show off his t-shirt, I don't think he made any obscene gestures. I can't see how you can think this was any form of incitment, WAR.
    In fact, I think it's laughable to compare it with what Dan Conor did on friday.
    Champions!

Originally posted by Colm
    What "usual gestures" was he making? I only saw him run towards ye lot and show off his t-shirt, I don't think he made any obscene gestures. I can't see how you can think this was any form of incitment, WAR.
    In fact, I think it's laughable to compare it with what Dan Conor did on friday.
    Tell me Colm, have you ever seen or heard anybody associated with Cork City ever do anything wrong at all?

sry SLK i think colm had his eyes closed that one time

Originally posted by Colm
    Read my post again. I said the incident was too petty to follow up. My point was that the Cork cop felt it was incitement and was prepared to back us up. As far as I'm concerned when an opposition player runs to us it's a (back-handed) compliment - and that includes Tony Dirtbird.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

we dont give a fu@k about rovers
    basically who does
    fu*k off WAR

It does bring me on to a relevant topic though. When O'Callaghan scored against us the other week he ran straight to the Rovers fans, giving it loads, all the usual gestures etc. One of our lads complained to a cop on duty who agreed that it was incitement and that he would back us up (he gave his name/number and station.)
    To be honest, I would not be surprised if the Ref had it in his report. I thought at the time it wa stupid and felt George would get into trouble. It is the same sort of thing as the Connor incidents, but maybe on a lesser scale. Anything like that should be discouraged by a ban/fine.

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    Tell me Colm, have you ever seen or heard anybody associated with Cork City ever do anything wrong at all?
    I said I didn't think it was incitement, I didn't say that it wasn't wrong.
    It was a stupid thing to do, but it lasted for about 10 seconds and he didn't do anything offensive or try to incite a riot. Dan Conor did!
    Champions!

Originally posted by thecorner
    basically who does
    fu*k off WAR
    Insightful and well reasoned.

Loathe as I am to admit it, WAR does have a point.
    GOC was daft to celebrate in front of the scum. In a well run league, he’s be punished.

O’Connor should also be punished, but even more so, for spraying liquid onto the crowd and use of obscene gestures.

Read my post again. I said the incident was too petty to follow up. My point was that the Cork cop felt it was incitement and was prepared to back us up.
    Right, so ye lot chose not to follow it up. We aren't making the same decision. It was your prerogative then, just as it is ours now. You chose not to, we are chosing to do something about it. If George did something stupid he deserved to be punished for it. The cops down here thought connor was guilty of incitement and the FAI observer DID note it in his report, and waterford have said they will be taking action- so all of them deemed it serious enough to make an issue of it- why are we getting grief for thinking the same way?

Originally posted by liamon

GOC was daft to celebrate in front of the scum. In a well run league, he’s be punished.

O’Connor should also be punished, but even more so, for spraying liquid onto the crowd and use of obscene gestures.
    IMO, you can't even begin to compare the two incidents. What George did was a wind-up, nothing more. It's done in leagues across Europe EVERY week.
    The O'Connor incident was WAY more serious and WAY over the top. Personally, I think the f***er shouldn't have been allowed travel for the U-21 game v Switzerland. Also, if all the relevant authorities agreed it was incitement, why the Hell wasn't he arrested on Friday night???
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

As far as I'm concerned when an opposition player runs to us it's a (back-handed) compliment - and that includes Tony Dirtbird.

I'd say that's what he would have had in mind alright, nothing to do with rubbing in your face the fact that ye scummy, drugged up homeless c**ts had just secured another defeat at the hands of city and this time in a "home" game at Turners Cross.

Could you and your kind ever f**k off.
    Up she Flew!!

o'connor is a tosser of gigantic proportions. he should be given a good kicking off the eircom league. that said I still have no sympathy with the eejits who tried to rush him during the game. yeah conceding that goal was a sickener and the carry on of o'connor was thick to say the least but jesus some of our so called supporters should really grow up and stop acting the maggot. he incited the crowd so is that a excuse for some of the b**s**t witnessed after the game? what a bunch of sad f***ers- get a life!!!!!! what o'connor didwas hardly a war crime either.

are we that senstive supporters that we get so upset that we have to indulge in such oh-woe -is -me, heart beating every time a moron like o'connor surfaces. let's face it lads we really upset at leaving in the o.g.
    f
    or the record any player who taunts the opposition supporters no matter who large or small the offence given deserves a 2 match ban, simple as that. that includes george, o'connor and tony bird

on the subject of the game yeah city were s**t and dolan really deserves some right stick for that one. apart from george we were poor and at this stage i really wonder does denis behan have what it takes.

even before the o.g murray was in serious trouble. what was with with the fancy dan (sic) passing out of defence. didn't he realise we were being swamped in midfieldd and playing in a strong breeze.

anyway once again city choke in a big game. sickener
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

What did Callaghan have on his t-shirt anyway?

Originally posted by Schumi
    What did Callaghan have on his t-shirt anyway?
    John O'Flynn
    Played 45, Scored 30
    To Be Continued..............

Classic, if you ask me!!
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

Originally posted by thecorner
    basically who does
    fu*k off WAR
    Jaysus, who stole your soother? Clever the way you managed to get around foot.ie's censorship in TWO totally different ways. Buy that man a pint of Beamish (before they shut poxy place down) How many jobs has Cork lost in the last couple of weeks? Hard to believe with people of the calibre of thecorner around.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Jaysus, who stole your soother? Clever the way you managed to get around foot.ie's censorship in TWO totally different ways. Buy that man a pint of Beamish (before they shut poxy place down) How many jobs has Cork lost in the last couple of weeks? Hard to believe with people of the calibre of thecorner around.

Not funny. Beamish is a very important part not only of our economy, but of Cork history. And Beamish stout is waaaaaaaaaaay nicer than guinness.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.