Thread: Bunting

Bunting

Id have to say if a gun was put in my mouth & I was forced to select a favourite piece of party or festive ornamentation it would have to be Bunting. Cant say enough about the stuff. Lets you know from a distance if a village fete is on or a rudimentary Jumble sale in a meadow twixt June to August. Its the colours & shapes that give the Bunting creator leeway to express themselves. Perhaps a regional hurling final is on or a Dog show or some Gypsies selling Fireplaces after Mass on a Sunday. Bunting attracts you in, Bunting keeps you there & Bunting locks away all the fears, anxieties & loneliness we associate with modern life if all for a few minutes or hours depending on the occasion.
    Perhaps some of you here have a yarn or two that was associated to a Bunting influenced malarky or maybe you were at a party lately where Bunting was present? You probably have a favourite shape & colour for your Bunting, all views & general appreciations welcome so dont be shy.
    Bunting can be used to welcome home loved ones or those that have just finished a rehab stint so the World can literally be your oyster.
    Yup folks get typing as its the official Bunting appreciation thread, heres some Bunting pics to get those juices a flowin.......

Just look at the joy bunting can bring,

http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/5...rosarahdi0.jpg

Even this member of her Majestys constabulary is enjoying himself, why? Take a butchers over his shoulder. You guessed it!!!

http://innocentvillagefete.typepad.c...e_fete_013.jpg

And of course, "Flying high up in the Sky, we'll keep the red flag flying high, we love Bunting till we die, we'll keep the red flag flying high",

http://www.vam.ac.uk/images/late_vie...0159_image.jpg
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

112 Posts
    Are you that same bloke who turned up outside my door selling teak? And now bunting? Away with you now...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Are you that same bloke who turned up outside my door selling teak? And now bunting? Away with you now...
    Nothing worse than a teak selling, bunting loving Punk arriving at your door!

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Thats right Pauro, I also have a pair of elephant tusks for sale if anyone wants them. Got them off a Corkie who said Roger Moore used to own them. I can only assume by the size of your average Corkies mouth that they used them as toothpicks.
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

1,104 Posts
    I'll have them, a tenner the pair. Never could stand elephants, moody feckers never give ya any affection.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    Thats right Pauro, I also have a pair of elephant tusks for sale if anyone wants them. Got them off a Corkie who said Roger Moore used to own them. I can only assume by the size of your average Corkies mouth that they used them as toothpicks.
    Careful now..
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Red face regarding bunting

Reminds me of the time some university friends arrived at the door with several hundred yards of bunting after a night out "socialising".
    Pretty standard stuff, cables with your triangular flags, colours red white and blue, alternately like, obviously professionally made.
    It had come from a city centre petrol station, one of the big lads, Standard Oil or Tescaco or one of them.
    It adorned our Hazel Park living room for a time, and we were proud of it.

That Esso opposite the hospital isn't there anymore.
    Turned out the bunting was holding the forecourt up.

Surely there will be a Bunting appreciation on Sunday at the Premiership Legends game? Anyone bringing any along? Could be a laugh. Anyone?

Bunting ahoy!!!!!!!!!!!

Garth Merenghi

1,104 Posts
    Saturday Salmon Coloured. Bunting optional but welcome I'm sure!

186 Posts
    Another 5 minutes of my life i can never get back
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

47 Posts
    "Have you got the bunting?" "No! It's just the way my trousers are"
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

That first post MUST be POTM!!! :L