Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Squad named for Nottm Forest "challenge match"

lads, do any of you have an email addy for fai that can be used to contact someone with regard to making them aware of someones eligibility. i dont wanna say who as the player himself isn't 100% sure (he aint the brightest spark), but he's certainly an outstanding prospect and is likely to be travelling with squad.

Try info@fai.ie and you may get somewhere with that. Any clues on the player? Thought Waters or Tabb would have made the squad.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    lads, do any of you have an email addy for fai that can be used to contact someone with regard to making them aware of someones eligibility. i dont wanna say who as the player himself isn't 100% sure (he aint the brightest spark), but he's certainly an outstanding prospect and is likely to be travelling with squad.
    Just mail the email address on their web page see if it gets to someone in the know.

Get himself to the Irish embassy. If he's not eligible for a passport, he's not eligible for the team. If he does get a passport, then contact the FAI

3,310 Posts
    I mailed info@fai.ie a few years ago about a player that might have been eligible. They got back to me about a month later to let me know they had checked him out, and he was ineligible.

I'm really disappointed because Fahey and Brian Murphy are not nominated. I think's this two players are the brilliant actors of LOI this year. They deserve to get a chance in nationalteam, particularly in at match like this.

214 Posts
    I think I might know who Livehead is thinking off...... the guy is a very talented midfielder. Good prospect.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    I think I might know who Livehead is thinking off...... the guy is a very talented midfielder. Good prospect.
    A young Forest player with an Irish name?

Lewis Shay McGugan

^

wiki says he's played for England at U17 level so he's English. Fair enough.

No Clinto in the squad

Those of you who are complaining about the lack of Eircom League players in the squad seem to be missing the fact that there are league matches that weekend so rather than annoy EL managers Trap did the sensible thing and didn't call up any.
    Last edited by rambler14; 26/09/2008 at 12:53 AM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by disabledrog View Post
    R seamus coleman from sligo
    Thank feck, he has a more important job to do on the Saturday.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Sean St Ledger must feel left out , or is he injured and No Mc Cann either or John Joe O' Toole.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=3627
    St Ledger has been outstanding again for Preston this season, hang your head in shame DG!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by musicinmouth View Post
    We must have a terrible scouting team if they haven't been able to recognise how well James McCarthy and John-Joe O'Toole have been playing of late...
    Don "Job 4 Life" Givens? Say no more.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Don "Job 4 Life" Givens? Say no more.
    Hence no McCann in the squad.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Isn't Westwood the "good catholic lad"? Just remembered that now...

2,693 Posts
    In fairness, I'd say most of those we should be looking at are in the squad. You can't look at everyone at the same time.

I have long had grave doubts that we're looking at all the right players and these doubts remain but I still think it'll be a good chance for Trap to see these players up close and hopefully they'll impress.

244 Posts
    I like a lot of what Trap has done in terms of players chosen.

There are a few notable omissions- would have liked to have seen St. Ledger and McCann for sure, but overall I'm glad to see the likes of Lawrence, Folan, and Andrews get a look in after their moves to the Premiership.

On the goalkeeping front, I think this would have been a good opportunity to give Kiely some match practice in case anything happens to Shay, but I can appreciate Trap's desire to watch other goalkeepers in action.

I'm not going to lie and say I know enough about the players in the Eircom League, but there are a couple of players who would seem possibles for this sort of squad. Having a look at the likes of Fahey, Gavin, or Murphy wouldn't have harmed anybody, and would at least show players in the Eircom League that they are on the radar if they're good enough.

More positives than negatives though- overall I think it will be a good exercise. Wonder if it'll get picked up for TV?

Jonny Douglas could have been worth a shout in it?

Been Leeds' engine this year so far.

Granted I know they're League One side, but as a team they'd be more than able to cut it in the Championship, with the players they have.

Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    Having a look at the likes of Fahey, Gavin, or Murphy wouldn't have harmed anybody

As has been mentioned, it would have harmed their respective clubs.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    As has been mentioned, it would have harmed their respective clubs.
    As has been mentioned,they could have played the game on Tuesday or Wednesday.

Anyway,i am sure Trapattoni will know about Brian Murphy after this game
    Last edited by Bohemian1890; 27/09/2008 at 2:48 PM.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast