Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Whats left in our Season?

Galway 1-0 down. Come on

Going on the basis that Drogheda get deducted 10 points, as it stands if we win our last 3 games we'll be guaranteed Europe

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Going on the basis that Drogheda get deducted 10 points, as it stands if we win our last 3 games we'll be guaranteed Europe

I think you's only need one more win to get a euro spot.

You's are 5 points clear of shams, I'm asumming that both Drogs and Cork can't qualify for 3 seasons.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    I think you's only need one more win to get a euro spot.

You's are 5 points clear of shams, I'm asumming that both Drogs and Cork can't qualify for 3 seasons.
    No one seems to know the story with this, its the whole does examinership=administration. If so yes, Drogs and Cork cannot play in europe for 3 years. Id say the FAI dont even know the answer.

I would prefer we won our last 3 games to ensure tho.

PS Candystipe>> thanks for yer result today. :-)

exciting times to be sure, to be sure

Exciting times is right, think we all need to do our bit and get behind the team this weekend lads.

We won't know till Monday what punishment Drogs will get, more than likely they will get a 10 point deduction as the Licensing Committee will not be meeting till then.

drogs deducted 10 points
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

The FAI will lend their support to Cork City in their bid to get back into European football next year.

“When a club is in examiner ship they usually get a three year European ban, but if Cork do qualify and get a top four finish then that’s something we would have to explore,” said a leading FAI source.

More.

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    drogs deducted 10 points
    If this is true I tought they might say something about it on MNS tonight.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    If this is true I tought they might say something about it on MNS tonight.
    It's true. Not long after been announced, MNS is a live show.

The FAI will lend their support to Cork City in their bid to get back into European football next year.

“When a club is in examiner ship they usually get a three year European ban, but if Cork do qualify and get a top four finish then that’s something we would have to explore,” said a leading FAI source.

More.
    To be fair i would be worried a little more if the FAI came out and backed them. But no sources in this and they can't fight UEFA too much either.

It's true. Not long after been announced, MNS is a live show.
    Ahh right I tought it was announced earlier. So do's this mean a win against Cork on friday will guarantee us 4th ?
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Ahh right I tought it was announced earlier. So do's this mean a win against Cork on friday will guarantee us 4th ?
    No not neccesiraly, if Cork lose against Pats tomorrow evening, and we beat them it means were guarenteed Europe.

There is a few twists in this tale yet to be heard.....Drogs are appealing their deduction on a "special and Unique set of circumstances" and the FAI are firmly behind cork representing the EL in europe as below from the FAI website;

"St. Patrick's Athletic v Cork City
    Richmond Park - Tuesday - 7.45pm

Cork City will move into a European qualification place if they can overcome St. Patrick's Athletic at Richmond Park this evening (kick-off 7.45pm)."

As well as Setanta seemingly not wanting us in their premium competition........you could become a paranoid being a BOR supporter!

Brilliant - the ban appears to be meant to apply only if a team doesn't actually qualify for Europe.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

I told ye all that some fecker would find a way of cheating us out of a bit of glory!

A bit of European action'd be class but failing that a trip North to Linfield or the Glens in the Setanta would be some craic instead
    Keep on keepin' on.

Obviously the European ban doesn't apply if you're a "big" club. :/

415 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    very bad news. Just hope Bohs do us a favour.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast