Thread: Irish Times 23.9.08

Irish Times 23.9.08

EMMET MALONEON SOCCER: HAVING BEEN described by a local paper after his intervention to save Limerick 37 as the city's own Roman Abramovich and observed that he saw it all as "a unique business opportunity", New Jersey-based lawyer Jack McCarthy could be forgiven these days for wondering quite what he let himself in for back in January.

Born in Princeton.....

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...105127899.html
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    EMMET MALONEON SOCCER: HAVING BEEN described by a local paper after his intervention to save Limerick 37 as the city's own Roman Abramovich and observed that he saw it all as "a unique business opportunity", New Jersey-based lawyer Jack McCarthy could be forgiven these days for wondering quite what he let himself in for back in January.

Born in Princeton.....

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...105127899.html
    any idea wht this training centre is about?

Nice article, well written and very positive. You can't knock his ambition, and thankfully this time its realistic ambition, not unattainable waffle as came from previous regimes.

Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    any idea wht this training centre is about?
    Nice write up in todays chronicle about it aswell.

380 Posts
    Piece about the training site on rte.ie

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/...imerick37.html

yer only a joke of a club ye dont even have yer own pitch etc etc.

and thats only phase 1

25 Posts
    Where is this soon to be completed Knockalisheen link road, I didn;t even know it had started and I pass by that way on the way home from work every evening

The road will stretch from the back of the new tesco on the ennis rd and will cross the road (poss a roundabout) on the meelick road. It will run up the side (right) of the new facility and connect over to annacotty. The road is aimed at reducing the traffic flow at Kilaloe by making persons drive past birdhill and cross on this new road onto the n18. Two pitches (one all weather) and 5 a side pitches and more to follow in phase 2. Homes for our Ladies, under 20, and A sides and training facilities for all.

Great news and article lads. Setting ourself up as a conveyor belt for the finest young Irish players is the way forward. This league will never be up to the standard to keep the best Irish players in this country, but if we can train them up, get some good years out of them and then sell them on for the kind of deals Cork City have done then we would establish ourselves as one of the top clubs in this country yet again

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    yer only a joke of a club ye dont even have yer own pitch etc etc.

and thats only phase 1
    Sorry i questioned your superior Knowledge!
    Whats this i see about us going back to The Markets Field?
    What ye all think about that move?

47 Posts
    Best of luck with the training facilities. That's the right way to invest in a club

Pity about it being in Clare though....

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    That the same auld gaa attitude that has held this country back for decades!
    Besides it will all be Limerick soon!

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post

Along side the new Equestrian Centre
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Besides it will all be Limerick soon!
    Agreed, we in limerick shall take this innitial six or so acres as the start of the great annexisation of the livingspace we require and rightfully return Thomond to our riverside city. We shall also drape Cllr Crowe in Limerick colours and make him walk down O'Connell st with nothing else on

as for equestrian centre! you need horses for that not Harces! sham

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Agreed, we in limerick shall take this innitial six or so acres as the start of the great annexisation of the livingspace we require and rightfully return Thomond to our riverside city. We shall also drape Cllr Crowe in Limerick colours and make him walk down O'Connell st with nothing else on

as for equestrian centre! you need horses for that not Harces! sham
    My outpost in Westbury serves well as a spy tower, soon all this land before will fall into the hands of the Riverside Masons.