Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Chadwicks Cup Final 2008

Wink

great win for s&f yesterday, hard work was made of it but great result, the boro players got carried away with themselfves thinkin they had it won by given smart comments to the lads and thats what lost it for them. a few of these lads have alot to learn about the game yet... i was quite amused with the comment "come to bosh tonight and ye can have a drink out of the cup".... happy days lads!!!

Well Done S&F. Congrats. Great way to round off the year.

Quote Originally Posted by BallyBoy View Post
    Well Done S&F. Congrats. Great way to round off the year.
    Ya great way to round off a good year for us, alot of work put in this year, so glad to see it pay off.

Quote Originally Posted by thekop View Post
    great win for s&f yesterday, hard work was made of it but great result, the boro players got carried away with themselfves thinkin they had it won by given smart comments to the lads and thats what lost it for them. a few of these lads have alot to learn about the game yet... i was quite amused with the comment "come to bosh tonight and ye can have a drink out of the cup".... happy days lads!!!
    that was a comment directed at me throught the second half from sideline and a few players! Dec tigue came on 16 min to go got the goal 3-2 and got the team going again, fitzi to score 2 free kicks at such a big stage the last one 5 mins to go there was only going to be 1 winner!! Tiger changed the game for us they couldnt handle his determination the minute he came on got the goal the crowd was heard......Gary byrne saving 3 penalties just unreal stuff..., fair play to Yohann.C came in and said some nice words after the match him and aidan flatley have changed both clubs on and off the pitch, nice to see two different teams in the mayo cup-final this year, Treble winners 2008.........

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thekop View Post
    "come to bosh tonight and ye can have a drink out of the cup".... happy days lads!!!
    Congratulations S&F. Gracious winners on and off the pitch. Apologies for whoever was making the above comments during the game. Definitely not indicative of the management, the players or the club.

It was a cup final! Hard to say who deserved to win or who deserved to lose. Penalties is hard to take but thems the rulez. From a Boro perspective we are disappointed with the manner we conceded the goals, but unfortunately its a bit too late to work at on training! We didn't play well, but created plenty of opportunities and should of finished the game as a contest at 3-1.

For S&F, Jordan was very quiet after he got clattered for the deserved penalty. Fitzy was well marked and didn't do much but his two free kicks were top class. Alan Mc played well. It probably wasn't S&Fs best performance but they won't care at this stage. They didn't have a lot of attacking threat from midfield.

The Boro penalty was dubious, didn't see a lot wrong with it. With Stevie G missing, i guess it doesn't matter. I thought we had won it in the second half of extra time with a scrambled goal. Still a bit of confusion as to why it was ruled out. But I thought the referee and linesmen had good games overall. We'll definitely be back next year. And hoping to meet S&F again in the Connacht or FAI cups. Gary"****ing"Byrne! When did he learn how to save a penalty He even saved one with his balls.

was a good game to watch as a neutral yesterday, 6 goals and 2 pens in normal time, a dis-allowed goal in extra time, which was foul from where i was standing and peno's. cant ask for more in a cup final. I thought the boro played well, s&f didnt really seem to start at all yesterday but they'll be quite happy to have the cup after not playing well.

thought it was a good battle in the middle of the park yesterday between alan mcdonnell and stevie gavin, both very determined players.

think the never say die attitude with the s&f players got them through yesterday, alan mc keepin his team on there toes and never letting the score get to the players. the boro had more attacking options than s&f, there 2 strikers played very well, they caused alot of problems for the s&f back 4.

but all in all good game, good to see 2 different teams in it.

well done to both clubs, and well done to s&f and a great season..

well done to both clubs

fair play to both clubs on getting to the final, a good session was had monday with both sets of players in the castle!! we'd all wanna watch out next year though lads, according to leveller there's only 1 team in mayo so none of us have a chance!!!!
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

congrats to s and f on winning the cup final last week.they've had a tremendous year throughout the season and fully deserve the plaudits they get.hard luck to snugboro but i'm sure that they'll be back again next year and will build on their achievements from this year

Sorry threefivetwo but...

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    fair play to both clubs on getting to the final, a good session was had monday with both sets of players in the castle!! we'd all wanna watch out next year though lads, according to leveller there's only 1 team in mayo so none of us have a chance!!!!
    ...the super league is now a 4 tier:

Westport
    ---------
    Celtic
    Ballina
    S&F
    Snugboro
    ---------
    Erris
    Ballyheane
    Manulla
    ---------
    Bangor Hibs
    Fahy

There is a difference in quality between all sections. Obviuosly when we prove ourselves we'll join Westport in the top tier

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post

Westport
    ---------
    Celtic
    Ballina
    S&F
    Snugboro
    ---------
    Erris
    Ballyheane
    Manulla
    ---------
    Bangor Hibs
    Fahy

There is a difference in quality between all sections. Obviuosly when we prove ourselves we'll join Westport in the top tier
    i think that its a bit premature putting s and f in the 2nd tier of your version of how the super league breaks down.granted they've had a great season this year and will probably do really well in the super league next year but the jury will be out on them at that level until they prove themselves consistently in the super league next year.

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    i think that its a bit premature putting s and f in the 2nd tier of your version of how the super league breaks down.granted they've had a great season this year and will probably do really well in the super league next year but the jury will be out on them at that level until they prove themselves consistently in the super league next year.
    two fahy men not exactly seeing eye to eye!!

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    two fahy men not exactly seeing eye to eye!!
    Two words:
    Louisburgh man

Westport
    ---------
    Celtic
    Ballina
    S&F
    Snugboro
    ---------
    Erris
    Ballyheane
    Manulla
    ---------
    Bangor Hibs
    Fahy

Who said Bangor Hibs r gonna be there???? The play off is this Sun.......

Quote Originally Posted by Kilmore Fan View Post
    Who said Bangor Hibs r gonna be there???? The play off is this Sun.......
    Best of luck, it will be a tough game for ye...

Cheers! We will deffinately be giving it our all. Although Judging by the weather forecast we may need snorkels and flippers

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123