COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
"Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi". - Ian Holloway
I think Rambler 1 totally missed the point that was being made here -Mupphet talk to one side - The problem is not the people -volunteer workers or any others for using the side /main gate, its the persons who let them/ invite through for nothing which is the real problem, and one no one seems to be interesting in dealing with.
I'm aware that many of those volunteer workers do hold season tickets but there has to be structures and rules for these volunteers passing through the gate. Even though they are all well known faces to the person operating the gate, they still should be asked and seen to produce ID for the benifit of the watching public and visitors alike. But the even bigger issue of non-voluntary people/friends being allowed through with a nod and a wink has to be addressed. We are a laughing stock and need to grow up around this very worrying issue!
Lads,
First off, I'm very sorry to see CRFC in the position that it's in, I've a great deal of time for Cobh fans. And yes I'm aware that my own club isn't much better off than you as regards points or money...
What options do CRFC have? getting rid of the board doesn't make money appear and doesn't get the debts off ye're back.
Going back to MSL is not an option imo, I think it'll be hard for ye to keep the club going having been LOI for so long and then going back to MSL.
What's the situation with the ground? do you own it? Can you get investors in to sell them the ground and buy it back over 20 years?
It's not ideal I know but it'll allow you to bring in cash and then pay the investors off at a manageable rate over a long time.... it's hard to get sponsors/investors in... they see LOI as a bottomless pit that eats money and gives nothing back, a sell and buy back might work as it gives the investors the security of assets... I don't know if this is even on, and even if it is it's unpalatable but I'd hate to see Cobh or any other club fold.
Just look what happened to Home Farm... and to a lesser extent Kilkenny..
innit though??
This can be sorted out by installing 1 camera in the turnstiles (or a trusted observer) and by putting in a couple of scanners for season tickets
We had the same problem, I worked turnstiles and for 2 seasons I had about 20 adults going in just through my turnstile each game saying "I'm such and such, I have a season ticket, X said it was alright"
At first I told chancers that I didn't give a monkeys F*** who they were and no ticket meant no entry, I was soon set straight by the great and the good that certain people were such great friends of the club that they didn't have to touch vulgar money to come in....
Fair play to Nick Leeson and Noel Meehan, they soon put the kibosh on that bulls**t, but to do that you need the Chairman to back the people on the turnstiles 100% and if you don't have that a culture of letting people in for free gets stronger and the club lose thousands during a season because people let their mates in as well.
innit though??
OK then DR sorry about muppet bit but Ive just got so fed up this year with people havin a go at anyone who attempts to do anything to move the club forward, thats what im defensive about,,,if we had half the amount of help and goodwill for the club as "suggestions" as to whats wrong then we would be brilliant. It seams to be open season recently that anyone involved with the club is abusing it so hense the lack of understanding when anyone going in the main gate is "Cheating the club" or "well In"
I use the main gate because unknown to you I have used turnstiles previously for some matches but gave up as I ended up missing the bits I needed to do at the start of games, missed mascot shots etc and then got grilled afterwards as to why I missed the shots.I havnt seen anyone going thru that shouldnt have so when people say that theres people are going thru the main gate to avoid paying, than Im saying that I am fully paid up ....and well beyond it if you want to inquire about same...and yes Im one of the ones who uses the main gate.And if you know of people who are, than name and shame, but be sure who you label as "cheaters" Not everyone is so dont tar all with same brush.
If theres any wool to be pulled its amazing how the knockers are brilliant at the blame game as to whats wrong with our great club but conviently avoid (couldnt be bothered)giviing a helping hand themselves or have and not done much better. If we had collectivly done better, then our youth teams would not have to play their home games in Ringaskiddy due to no underage pitch.Its a disgrace and yet this is where we are after almost 30 years of league of Ireland football.
People also conveniently forget or ignore how much additional effort, time, professionalism, money etc are required to run a premier outfit. The difference in time, commitment, financal burdens etc is staggering and I challange anyone out there who thinks that they can do better or do anything at all to help to do so. Me and a fair few more will be delighted to stop pulling any wool over anyones eyes and have a well earned rest from going thru any gate......
i do my bit to help out i buy tickets a pay into games even though i hold season ticket, id be in the crowds singing with the lads (granted not all the time), but, on match night, i only have one agenda, and thats watch the match, maybe some people are happy to miss parts of the game, but im not, i used to help out but found i missed to much and i was only 15 then,
and to be honest i would consider the turnstyles faster as you get your tickets seperate and there is always someone there, the gate you have to wait for them to open, after i complained the person on the gate got really paraniod looking to see if the chairman was watching him after he gave out to him, so therefore he was obvioulsy doing something wrong, and the chairman obviously agres with me noone should enter through the gate, people seem to blame the chairman a lot, yet none them will do as he tells them,
im not nameing names as ive got roasted before for it, but even if one person enters for free, it is unfair to rest of us that actually are willing to help the club
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.
I can verify that.Im saying that I am fully paid up ....and well beyond it if you want to inquire about same...
I also use the main gate for every home game, because well, I suppose that the time I get there it's the only way in and I too would get whinged at if I wasn't there on time to do my bits.
I brought two people in through the main gate for the City game, but they were two that already had tickets and were meeting me there. That's the only time I ever brouught anyone through that gate.
Look, we all used that gate, whether it was to sell programmes outside or for other related activities but therein lies the problem. If we bend the rules once, where does it end -we know and can see exactly where it ends. You can only break the rules if you know you will be allowed to.
As for Sanchez idea of cameras and schaners -I dont know if they are installed in the turnstyles but they are not on the main gate where everyone is presently focussed -Why? Could we borrow Nick Leeson & Co for a season?
I thought it would be compulsory for all clubs to have a camera on their main entrance/gate, . . . obviously for security reasons!, ie: identify anyone entering or leaving.
In Rams case - identify anyone coming in gate- then you could check who is paid up members, or who is gettin left in the 'charity' entrance.
ok lads, your gettin way off base
alright i think nobody should use the gate, i dont mind if people helping out use the gate, i do mind when i see people who do not help out being let in the gate, for free, some show ticketmaster tickets (which are not inspected), sure i have 20 there in the cupboard, i wouldnt be complaining if it was the likes of luka or rambler 1 coming through the gate, its the others that enter it are my problem,
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.
BTW Don Ramo , I do agree with you on that, ie anyone just going to watch the game should go thru turnstiles, I was only standing up for people who need to be in there for club duties such as Luka , myself, shop girls etc who would sometimes be late if they had to Q (BTW still not even condoning free entrys as all of us have season tickets also)
No one should get in free and pesonally i have not seen it but will take your word on it and it should stop if it is happening
We're going around in circles here guys. The point I was trying to make is that the persons operating the main gate do allow in people they percieve to be club people/workers, even if they hadnt worked for the club for some time.
Christ, it doesnt have to be so complicated. Special volunteer passes for anyone working for the club. That eliminates the chronyism, and improves our club image all in one stroke!
Simple solution: Gate stays closed, and anyone with a justified reason not to pay in gets a special pass and goes in through the turnstile. Easy!
Players lose you games, not tactics. There's so much crap talked about tactics by people who barely know how to win at dominoes. Brian Clough
I don't. The chap doing that gate tonight is well enough able to handle himself. There'll be no unjustified entry through that gate tonight though.I just pity the poor young fella caught to do the gate!!