15 31.25%
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Who will be Relegated

[. I just hope that Dublin City never darken the Premier divisions doorstep though. [/B][/QUOTE]

if we go up on our own merit, we deserve it. its not our fault the country can't produce enough good teams for the premiership. Same old culchie whinging.

Bringing this back to the top. I voted UCD, but at the rate derry are going they are gone.

Its amazing. They were on a great run of form up to the Cup Final last season, then thye just collapsed to crap. Story there like?
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

3,489 Posts
    Originally posted by Gary
    It's amazing. They were on a great run of form up to the Cup Final last season, then they just collapsed to crap. Story there like?
    Derry's good run last season coincided exactly with David Kelly's stint. Beyond that, they're a very poor side who play (of late) a very poor style of football. Which is a shame, 'cos a club like Derry should be nowhere near as bad as they are. Hopefully won't be complaining come the end of next month though!!

We'll not be complaining at the end of the Season.......more like bloody crying.

When will we ever Win again?
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

Just bringing this back to the top.

I reckon at this point u have to assume Drogs are safe.

Im going for Derry to go Automatically. They are cráp. Their form isnt deserving of a premier division place.

Just hope that the student menace go in the play offs, as Derrys relegation is now but a formality.

[SIZE=1](he says days before CCFC play DCFC)[/SIZE]
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

812 Posts
    Originally posted by Gary
    [SIZE=1](he says days before CCFC play DCFC)[/SIZE]
    Go Cork!

I can't believe I just said that.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Picked Derry automatically & sticking with them for the same reason.

The pressure on Derry City now must be huge whereas UCD probably thought they done for 2 months ago & even the playoffs be a huge bonus now.

2 home games against Bohs from the last 5 is bad news for Derry too.

Thanks for all the Support but even 'Brandywell Pride' couldn't stop it!

Your all crap at predictions, shame!
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

TheRealRovers
    Dykes is gonna relegate Derry. As a manager he got to be one of the worst in the league. The sad thing is he will probably be our next manager

Good luck to derry for the rest of the season hope ye stay up

They do it every year, but why leave it so late? UCD were full value for 3 points against us last night and were far from the worst team I've seen this season. Why do they wait for the last third of the season before stringing a few results together. They have their critics (Students, fan base, etc, etc), me amongst them at times, but at least they play a bit of football. Fair play lads, but you wouldn't be in this mess if you could play a bit before the last 10 or 12 games of the season.

Originally posted by DruggyDrog
    They do it every year, but why leave it so late? UCD were full value for 3 points against us last night and were far from the worst team I've seen this season. Why do they wait for the last third of the season before stringing a few results together. They have their critics (Students, fan base, etc, etc), me amongst them at times, but at least they play a bit of football. Fair play lads, but you wouldn't be in this mess if you could play a bit before the last 10 or 12 games of the season.
    It's simple really:

We get the spine ripped out of our team at the end of every season. Anybody who plays really well gets snapped up and we're forced to start again. We have a huge flow of players coming in and going out all the time and only starting to become a team now. The board will only give out one year contracts ('cept to Tony Mac) and that means that every player we have becomes fair game at the end of the season (and even before then as clubs can start negotiating six months before the contract expires).

There were other circumstances of course. Doolin didn't give a tóss anymore and that rubbed off on the players, we didn't have a forward (and still don't, to an extent)that could score goals regularly and even if we did the midfield left them very isolated.

Another problem we have is depth. We've got three midfielders suspended for Pat's next week and one injured...the way it's looking at the moment we'll have to play players out of position we're to keep a four man midfield. Our defence is worse.

If we do pull off the great escape this season I can see us involved in another battle in the next and until the board grows some ambition it'll be same every year.
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

Why do they wait for the last third of the season before stringing a few results together.
    I think it's because the club takes in a new group of young scholorship students every year as well as loosing older players who have finished in college. The team gets better as the season goes on because the young players get more experienced.

20 Posts
    Your not Bald Student! The real Bald Student would never post something sensible like that on this board I demand you return the Bald one to us immediately to free him for the Tony McDonnell Hales Drug Freight Aidan Lynch suspension End of Days Leinster Senior Cup sponsored by a shipping company Golf classic!
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Sure what'd be the fun in that?!

Originally posted by Aberdonian Stu
    Your not Bald Student!
    Tut, tut.

3,489 Posts
    Originally posted by UCD_4_Life
    Doolin didn't give a tóss anymore and that rubbed off on the players
    That's the main factor I think. Doolo apparently also didn't care too much about the scholarship scheme - he'd lost all heart for the job. Since Pete Mahon came in, we've been much better.

Providing we stay up (and Derry still have a game in hand, and even then we should still have another four play-off games), I still think next year could be a very good one for us. We'll have plenty of players with first team experience, we have another five players earmarked already for next season, we'll be able to start afresh without the burden of a seven-point gap to safety and appalling form and we should have a clean slate from injuries (which means bringing back Mahon, Johnny Martin, Seán Finn, etc.). And given the way all our players have improved since Mahon took over, I'm really looking forward to seeing Seán Finn again. Could be a good year!

Originally posted by pineapple stu
    That's the main factor I think. Doolo apparently also didn't care too much about the scholarship scheme - he'd lost all heart for the job. Since Pete Mahon came in, we've been much better.

Providing we stay up (and Derry still have a game in hand, and even then we should still have another four play-off games), I still think next year could be a very good one for us. We'll have plenty of players with first team experience, we have another five players earmarked already for next season, we'll be able to start afresh without the burden of a seven-point gap to safety and appalling form and we should have a clean slate from injuries (which means bringing back Mahon, Johnny Martin, Seán Finn, etc.). And given the way all our players have improved since Mahon took over, I'm really looking forward to seeing Seán Finn again. Could be a good year!
    We were saying that at the end of last year! I don't think Cawley will be here next season, I think Pat Sullivan could possibly be on his bike too and there are others like Johnny Martin who could've caught some scout's eye. If we can stay up, not lose any important players and bring in a few new ones then maybe I'll begin to share your enthusiasm but until then the glass is half empty.

I really lost any respect for Doolin that I ever had this season. From not being particularly bothered about the job at hand (no matter what problems we had I would've expected no less than 100% from him), to trashing us in the papers when he knew he was on his way to Drogheda (he was telling the truth for the most part, but still, I don't think it was right to kick us like that only when he knew he was going...why couldn't he speak out and try to improve things when he was actually at the club?), to the shall we say "eccentric" management decisions he made at times and finally the way that he has been treating Aidan Lynch this season at Drogheda. In fact, I dislike him so much that I put him on my list of "Disliked Players/Staff" in Championship Manager today! That'll show the git.

In conclusion: He's a 24 carat bum.
    Last edited by UCD_4_Life; 15/11/2003 at 10:03 PM.

3,489 Posts
    Originally posted by UCD_4_Life
    We were saying that at the end of last year!
    We didn't have Pete Mahon in charge at the end of last season. He's already shown he has what it takes to bring out the potential in the team, and himself and Eddie Wallace are in it for the long-term.

Originally posted by pineapple stu
    We didn't have Pete Mahon in charge at the end of last season. He's already shown he has what it takes to bring out the potential in the team, and himself and Eddie Wallace are in it for the long-term.
    To be fair, we all thought Doolo was one of the best managers in the league back then...

3,489 Posts
    Maybe I'm just one of those insanely optimistic people!

As we were singing yesterday - "We're going to win the league"

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast