Thread: On The One Road

Thumbs up On The One Road

Lads this song was feckin magic when sung in montenegro the other night after the game. The trouble was that during the game someone would start it and then by the time everyone was singing the chorus was over , some people knew the first verse and others didnt and then the song tailed away. After the game we managed Chorus Verse Chorus and it sounded fantastic especially the second time the chorus was sung.

So I am asking everyone to learn the 1st verse and lets give this song socks on all away trips!

We're on the one road
    Sharing the one load
    We're on the road to God knows where
    We're on the one road
    It may be the wrong road
    But we're together now who cares
    North men, South men, comrades all
    Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
    We're on the one road swinging along
    Singing a soldier's song

Though we've had our troubles now and then
    Now is the time to make them up again
    Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow
    Now is the time to step together now

We're on the one road
    Sharing the one load
    We're on the road to God knows where
    We're on the one road
    It may be the wrong road
    But we're together now who cares
    North men, South men, comrades all
    Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
    We're on the one road swinging along
    Singing a soldier's song
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

82 Posts
    Each to their own but one Wolftones song is one too many for me.

38 Posts
    I'm always amused that the barstool republicans who belt this one out don't realise it's a British marching/recruitment song from WWI (as should be obvious from the air and lyric.)
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Brilliant song. I'll be singing it Roger.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    I'm always amused that the barstool republicans who belt this one out don't realise it's a British marching/recruitment song from WWI (as should be obvious from the air and lyric.)
    Freddi Scappaticci

Denis Donaldson

Martin McGuinness

now even the Wolfe Tones were touts.

Sources?
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

446 Posts
    If so, surely it's indicative of the all-embracing strand of Irish nationalist feelings. Or should these also be wholly removed from international sport?

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    Sources?
    well i couldn't find any, however this verse would contradict that opinion...

"The night is darkest just before the dawn
    From dissension Ireland is reborn
    Soon we´ll all united Irishmen
    Make our land a nation once again"

The song could have been originally adopted from a marching tune but i don't think it has that resonance now and the wording has definitely changed - if that were true.

Personally I think it is a great tune and would be great for us to have a generally accepted song outside of olé and stand-up/come on.

To be honest it is a great tune and in Mainz and in Pod, there were loads of great tunes that were sung and to me its the best pair of games in a long time for singing and for different songs etc. Would other people agree, that were at the games.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post

The song could have been originally adopted from a marching tune but i don't think it has that resonance now and the wording has definitely changed - if that were true.

Personally I think it is a great tune and would be great for us to have a generally accepted song outside of olé and stand-up/come on.
    Would agree that it is a great and appropriate tune and was refreshing to hear it in Mainz - cant comment on Pod (and cant stand the Wolfetones)

However - The F**K England scarves on sale outside the ground in Mainz were an embarassment to say the least
    Last edited by Newryrep; 17/09/2008 at 12:33 PM. Reason: just remembered something

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post

Don't know for sure but suspect that verse may have been added by the Wolftones in the same way they butchered Woody Guthrie's American classic "This Land is Your Land".

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Would agree that it is a great and appropriate tune and was refreshing to hear it in Mainz - cant comment on Pod (and cant stand the Wolfetones)

However - The F**K England scarves on sale outside the ground in Mainz were an embarassment to say the least
    Yeah I don't think many Irish bought them to be honest. It was the Germany entrepreneurs that were trying to sell them to us. I think Sligo Hornet was the only one into them though as seen on Eircom.net. !!!
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 17/09/2008 at 1:52 PM.
    In Trap we trust

I thought it was brilliant in Mainz at the match (I wasn't in Pod). I can't stand the Wolfe Tones but this is a good song regardless of whether they covered it or not.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    i agree about the fk england scarves, we don't need that. Shame on you sligo hornet
    best load of singing for a long time at these games. I particulary thought mainz was class!
    hopefully we can keep it up, however the home game atmosphere with the going out brigade who don't make an effort

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    i agree about the fk england scarves, we don't need that. Shame on you sligo hornet
    best load of singing for a long time at these games. I particulary thought mainz was class!
    hopefully we can keep it up, however the home game atmosphere with the going out brigade who don't make an effort
    It was nothing to do with me and I did not buy one....some eejit put it over my shoulder as we were talking to Karl Spain...........that said it did raise a small smirk!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

To be honest the way I was behaving I was trying to F**k Germany.
    In Trap we trust

Why does anyone give a fuch where the song came from or what it represents? Not singing it coz it's a WWI recruitment song is as biggotted as not singing it coz it's a Wolfe Tones song. My favourite song of all time is The Green Fields of France. What army do ya reckon Willie McBride fought & died with? Fuch sake lads it doesn't matter what the hell we sing as long as we sing in unison & keep the noise going. If we farted in unison for 90 minutes it'd make the fans sound great so can't we all get the finger out, learn the song & sing it together. Fuch anysh1t that there might be about it; it's about the noise.

PS. Please don't mention singing GSTQ in unison coz yee get what I mean from the above.
    Last edited by Colie; 17/09/2008 at 7:55 PM.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Well said Collie.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Well said Collie.
    Agreed....and for the last two games...the vast majority did us proud!....such consistent singing was admired by the VERY passionate Montenegrans
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

although have to admit funniest song of Mainz ...'Go on home Russian soldiers ...' i just wonder did the Georgians understand!!