View Poll Results: Did Brendan and Eoin let Limerick FC down?

Voters
7. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

3 42.86%
  • No

4 57.14%

Thread: Brendan & Eoin Poll

Brendan and Eoin

Finding it hard to understand the level of antipathy towards Brendan Hughes and Eoin keating for not travelling last weekend.

Of course I'm disappointed in them as well, but they are hardly pariahs. And both in their time have shown a lot of dedicaiton to the club (and no little skill either).

Only a couple of months ago we were holding Eoin Keating up as an example of a dedicated blue after the rumours of a move to Cork. In fairness he could have kicked up a hell of a fuss and got a good move (for himself to Cork). He must be disillusioned with the soccer scene in Limerick and after the footballers performances this year may see it as a chance to get back on the panel. No reason why he should hurt his own career for an incompetent committee.

Brendan Hughes hasn't been around all year. He was also linked to a move to Cork at the start of last season i remember but it was turned down by Limerick. May be he is sore over his treatment. I don't know.

I just think it is unfair to ask players to bust their b ollox for no pay and a lot of grief. Those that do it are immense and fair play - but lets keep our eye on who is really responsible.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Thumbs down

Can't quite agree with you on this one, LFCIE. If the shoe was on the other foot, and we were top of the league with money coming in from all angles, then Brendan and Eoin would not have cast a thought about their gaa 'commitments' and played for Limerick on Saturday. I understand the whole no-pay thing and that Keating could have kicked up a fuss about the Cork thing, but remind yourself that his performances for Limerick put him in that shop-window in the first place and to that effect should have had a little more sympathy to the cause. Anyway, I know the guy and would safely assume that he's gutted over what he did.
    On the Brendan Hughes side, maybe because he's just back and did not give his full commitment to Mike in advance, who knows?? But turning up to play in the controversial charity match the next day was kinda bad form and very inconsiderate. I believe the other squad members let him know what they thought on Sunday anyway.
    My point in all of this is simple: you don't start deserting ships because they're sinking...you throw your lot in and try to save it from going down. By refusing to play on Saturday because of GAA commitments the two lads deserted...but because of the determination of the 12 who did not have other 'commitments' we're still afloat...just!!
    C'mon Limerick!!!!

I think you're being harsh Joe. Eoin and Brendan are both adults. I wouldn't have made their decision myself but I can understand why they (much like us) are getting browned off at things. I think their disappearance on Saturday was more of a two fingers to the club committee than their team-mates. There's been too many broken promises at this stage. Agree though that Brendan showed more cheek than a sumo wrestler by turning up for The Dream Team thing on Sunday. I'm not really surprised though, earlier this season a current player told me that Brendan tried very hard to arrange a trial with Cork City and that was why he lost his captaincy of the team. Another person has since rubbished that claim and I've always liked Brendan personally but you do wonder.

He did try and offer himself to Cork City, and I believe he had a falling out of sorts with certain people involved with, or formerly involved with Limerick because Cork didn't sign him. Others I've spoken to seem to think that he's a little above his station, but I don't really know the guy all that well...

Joesoap:

How you can decry Brendan Hughes and Eoin Keating is beyond me. These two have given huge time and commitment to Limerick FC, and in Eoin Keating's position without pay.

The two of them are losing money by playing for Limerick. I don't think that it is as much of a gesture to the committee as SLK thinks - I think it is more likely that both of them were working and didn't want to lose out on a paycheck, to spend their own money on petrol, and play for nothing at the same time. I think that Eoin is still a student so money would be tight. Brendan, being mid to late 20s, I imagine is probably after buying a house or is looking to do so. That takes money. It really is not their fault that it has been made financially impossible for them to play for the team.

I fact I think the blame rests with you - Joesoap.

You say you are coming to games when you do not. You claim to have been at games when you have not. Your posts arrive the day that the papers come out to give you your info.

You have claimed to have been at the following games and were not:
    Dublin City
    Longford
    Monaghan
    Galway
    Dundalk

And those are only the ones I can remember.

People have been looking out for you as everyone on the board now knows who you are. You have not been at games you claim to have been at. It therefore follows that you have not been financially supporting the club. It follows again that your lack of financial support is adding to the problems. If you had attended those games you claimed to have attended we might have been able to pay Brendan and Eoin.

Accordingly, it is your fault that they couldn't play against Kildare!
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Originally posted by deise deserter
    Joesoap:

How you can decry Brendan Hughes and Eoin Keating is beyond me. These two have given huge time and commitment to Limerick FC, and in Eoin Keating's position without pay.

The two of them are losing money by playing for Limerick. I don't think that it is as much of a gesture to the committee as SLK thinks - I think it is more likely that both of them were working and didn't want to lose out on a paycheck, to spend their own money on petrol, and play for nothing at the same time.
    You say you are coming to games when you do not. You claim to have been at games when you have not. Your posts arrive the day that the papers come out to give you your info.

You have claimed to have been at the following games and were not:
    Dublin City
    Longford
    Monaghan
    Galway
    Dundalk

And those are only the ones I can remember.

People have been looking out for you as everyone on the board now knows who you are. You have not been at games you claim to have been at. It therefore follows that you have not been financially supporting the club. It follows again that your lack of financial support is adding to the problems. If you had attended those games you claimed to have attended we might have been able to pay Brendan and Eoin.

Accordingly, it is your fault that they couldn't play against Kildare!
    I accept full responsibility for the clubs financial status due to my lack of attendance at home games, apart from Bray and Dundalk. Have to strongly refute your claims on the other ones, seeing as I was actually at them bar the Galway game....which I did not claim to be at??? Iplanned on going, but things change.
    Getting very strong anti-Joe feelings here, deise...
    Last edited by joeSoap; 24/09/2003 at 9:16 AM.

The two of them are losing money by playing for Limerick. I don't think that it is as much of a gesture to the committee as SLK thinks - I think it is more likely that both of them were working and didn't want to lose out on a paycheck, to spend their own money on petrol, and play for nothing at the same time.

Congrats Deise you've just missed out on the whole crux of the situation, neither player was working. Eoin was scoring 1-1 in Monaleen's Football defeat to Drom-Broadford and Brendan was bench-warming in a hurling match. If players have to work that's understood but our two heros chose to turn out (for free anyway)for another team instead of Limerick FC. So you're just plain wrong there...

Brendan, being mid to late 20s
    And I would imagine that Brendan will be less than impressed with that given that he is in fact only 22-23. Facts, check, time, next!

SLK:

Sorry I don't have as much detailed background knowledge as yourself - I'm sure you'll pass me on Brendan's birthcert asap!!!

The GAA doesn't really bother me due to our current situation. To my knowledge, Brendan gave no exclusive committment to Limerick when he rejoined. No blame there as far as I am concerned on his part.

While the team are not being paid, it is clear that their contracts are not being fulfilled by the club. With the current outlook being as it is, it seems more than likely that there will not be a Limerick FC unless something urgent is done. Therefore Eoin and Brendan are hedging their bets. Eoin was quite successful a couple of years ago with the GAA, so if/when Limerick goes under maybe he feels that he wants to remain playing SOME sport.

The fact that neither of these have gone to Cork as was rumoured is testament to their committment to Limerick.

They are definitely giving more to Limerick than they are getting back.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

deise

They are definitely giving more to Limerick than they are getting back.
    Surely the point is not one of self gratification, but to try and support a struggling cause that they care about.
    You give more to Limerick than you get back, everybody, and I include committee members here, gives more than they get back at the moment 'cos there's nothing to get back. But you still support the club because you care about it and are passionate about it. I think the lads should have been a little more considerate to their co-players and management. I'd say something if they were working, but they weren't.

re

Have to agree with joe,i could'nt believe they let the club down so badly when i heard about it,when we needed them the most they let us down,not brendan so much because he has been away but eoin keating i taught would be one that would stick with limerick when every other player obviously decided to do this.

Therefore Eoin and Brendan are hedging their bets.
    Well if they're hedging their bets then they're hardly displaying much loyalty now are they???

They should have played for Limerick. To say that their contracts aren't being honoured is true but that's hardly the point here and to raise it as such is simply smoke-blowing. By that reasoning why should any player have bothered going to Kildare? The fact is that 12 of them did. John Whyte was getting married and while the timing was unfortunate I'm not of the opinion that Kildare away should precedence to one of the biggest days of his life. However the other two just p1ssed off to play for another team. I don't think it's a big deal but it is disloyalty to Limerick FC and by extension to all of us. Both players started their careers with Limerick and should have felt something that led them to Station Road.

How many of the people giving out on this thread about Brendan and Eoin went to the game?

Completely irrelevant point there and one that shows just how little you know about football at times. My presence at a match makes no difference to the result (and that applies to all of us really). Brendan and Eoin on the other hand have the ability to make a real difference to the result but didn't bother. I serious thought about splitting your last post into a thread of it's own entitled "Most idiotic post ever". A more telling question might be how many of the people on this thread don't bother supporting their hometown team? Maybe if you were from Limerick and really felt the team were your own you'd understand the disappointment some people are feeling.

No to get away from your latest smoke-screen how about you finally address the following points I made:

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    Well if they're hedging their bets then they're hardly displaying much loyalty now are they???
    Originally posted by sadloserkid
    If players have to work that's understood but our two heros chose to turn out (for free anyway)for another team instead of Limerick FC.
    And while you're at it explain why people who couldn't make the match can't comment on players who refuse to play for Limerick?

very well put SLK...VERY WELL PUT INDEED!!!!

LOL SLK!

SLK:
    You seem to be mixing up my point a little. The point was not that he couldn't make the match, the point was that he was lying and saying he was turning up to games. He then berates players who don't make the trip. That's hypocritical.

You're correct that Brendan and Eoin were not completely loyal, but we don't know all the circumstances and to be fair both have shown excellent commitment in the past.

Maybe we can all give each other a group hug and agree that the truth is probably somewhere in the middle.

(but my side of the middle!!)

You're correct that Brendan and Eoin were not completely loyal
    Thank you. I'm willing to stop now!

Did someone say something idiotic

I really don't know where to start...As for the two boys missing the game, it was bad form, they should have been there. I know that Eoin has been combining soccer and gaa but I thought that he had put Limk FC first this season. To clarify a point Deise and I'll probably be doing this a couple of times 'cos of things you've said, it wasn't a couple of seasons ago that Eoin was a good gaa footballer it was last year, he was one of the star performers for Monaleen and was in the Limerick football squad this season. He dropped out of the panel (when I think he would have eventually broke into the first 15) and put soccer first. So I was disappointed to hear that he missed the Kildare game. As for Brendan, he seems to do what he pleases and its disappointing to see.

To suggest that the two lads are out of pocket when they go play for Limk and the reason why they didn't turn up for the Kildare game is to be honest, stupid. You really dont get soccer and the love of the game. Every sunday around Ireland, guys with mortgages, those still in school/college etc play junior soccer, they travel to the back of beyond, play their match and then go home. They do it 'cos they love the game, they don't care about the cost of petrol. You really don't get the love of the game, the desire to play or how angry you can get when you make a mistake on the field, the whole range of emotions that football can bring out of you. Deise join a local team and you might have a better understanding of football.

What also caught my attention as well was you giving out to Joe Soap for not been at matches and suggesting that 'cos you are able to, that you are some what of a true supporter and gives you the right to say whatever you want. I could turn around and say to you that you are just a "blow in" from Waterford who's talking rubbish or I could say "well it doesn't matter how many games you can attend, I've been supporting Limk since the year zero when did you start supporting them Deise". I haven't been able to attend matches and when I saw your comments I wondered, am I a bad supporter too? Of course I'm not and neither is Joe Soap. Deise you made some petty idiotic comments just 'cos you didn't like what someone said and you keep boasting that your a teacher, please try and act like one, not even Rodney Trotter could make a show of himself like you did in the two threads. I think SLK summed it up,
    Most idiotic post ever
    Remeber we all support the same team...Smile
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

Brendan & Eoin Poll

Threads merged.