Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Montenegro V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 10th September 2008 - World Cup 2010 Q

65 Posts
    Cant fooking believe he didnt give that hand ball
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Handball!!!

Clear as day. He rolled it along the ground ffs.

Come on ref, thats two penalty shouts there.

It's never been more patently obvious that some here have not got a clue about football
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

****in stonewall spotter like
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

161 Posts
    Blatant peno!

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    Lads, stuck in work. Anyone give a brief summary of the performance so far? Get the impression we're muck.
    They are not a bad side, caused a lot of problems early on without testing Shay Given. its been played at a good tempo but chances few and far between. Midfield have struggled to create a lot. Not a lot of width either. Ireland should have had a peno right at the death for a hand ball but not give, in fairness it was hard to spot.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Hunt has to come off. He's been woeful. McGeady not much better, although he's come into a bit more last few minutes. Any attack we've had has broken down once we've gone wide to either of them.

Definite penalty there, but the ref isn't going to give a crucial 50/50 decision like that in front of a crowd like that.

O'Shea and Whelan having stormers.
    Reid's been quiet, but solid.

The 3 points are there for taking big time. Defensively we are sound and they've resorted to hopeful longl shots but we just need more up the other end. C'MON IRELAND!!

3,308 Posts
    Half time, 0-0
    draw seems fair at the moment, robbed for a penalty right at the end.
    probably the best I've ever seen John O'Shea play for Ireland
    very nervy at the start, came back into the game as the half.
    kilbane's mistake could have cost us. no one's been outstanding, but Hunt has been poor

Some of you guys need to chill out, we're doing pretty well so far!

Given has barely had a thing to do. Whelan and Reid are bossing the midfield. Hunt and McGeady are tracking back a fair bit.

I think the Montenegrins will tire in the next half. We can still win this.

Quote Originally Posted by Dun Laoire View Post
    The 3 points are there for taking big time. Defensively we are sound and they've resorted to hopeful longl shots but we just need more up the other end. C'MON IRELAND!!
    Just hope we close them down a bit earlier. Their shooting has been terrible but I keep thinking one of them will bang in a 30 yarder if we keep giving them space.

Quote Originally Posted by Carrigaline View Post
    Some of you guys need to chill out, we're doing pretty well so far!

Given has barely had a thing to do. Whelan and Reid are bossing the midfield. Hunt and McGeady are tracking back a fair bit.

I think the Montenegrins will tire in the next half. We can still win this.
    If it's as hot as everyone says then maybe it's us that'll tire in the next half.

Lads I think tonight proves that this is a level too far for Hunty for all his effort. Just not up to it...... Still think we can win this one with an overdue rub of the green.

82 Posts
    Montenegro had a good first five ten minutes. Nice neat short passes around our area. Using it early. But we've come into our own.

Whelan's showing again why when people talk about bringing in Andy Reid that it's not at his expense... Reid's carrying on where he left off

Back four doing well, Kilbanes slip aside. They have been resorted to a few speculative shots from 30 odd yards. O'Shea keeps this up and he's not far off MOTM (I know I'm putting the mockers on it)

The two wide players giving away alot of posession again, Hunt more so.. Hunt's tracking back working very hard off the ball though. McGeady is showing breif flashes.

Keane doing well enough with back to goal. A couple of lovely little side lobbed passes to the wingers. Doyle working hard... Keepers haven't really been tested.

All in, not bad. We're unlucky not to have at least one peno for handball.

They're shrewd players though, the Montenegrans with the diving and the little tugs.. might be an issue when we get tired..
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Quote Originally Posted by billydoneit View Post
    Lads I think tonight proves that this is a level too far for Hunty for all his effort. Just not up to it...... Still think we can win this one with an overdue rub of the green.
    More suited to the impact sub role I think. Put him on when the opposition is tired and let him run around like a mad yoke. Doesn't work as well when he starts games.

20 Posts
    one of the better ireland games in a while.
    still think they could catch us out going forward.
    O Shea, Keane and whelan deffo seem to like playin under trappatoni.

161 Posts
    This link is working perfectly. http://www.justin.tv/eminem154th. Best link I have had online.

488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Hunt has to come off. He's been woeful. McGeady not much better, although he's come into a bit more last few minutes. Any attack we've had has broken down once we've gone wide to either of them.
    The most dangerous we have been has been when those 2 guys have got crosses in.
    And it was his cross at an awkward height that flummoxed their centre back for the peno call.

Doyle hasn't the pace to partner Keane, so if Robbie is going to drop off we need to pace of McGeady to give him an outlet. And if Doyle is to fit into this side his main threat is in the air winning crosses.

Hunt and McGeady are crucial to this side. Hunt has made the odd mistake but he has been running his nuts off to get it back, in the sort of situation where Andy Reid would stand and look at it waiting for someone to give him either the ball back or another sausage roll

161 Posts
    I am veryhappy with theway we are playing. Making tehm look a poorer side than they are. One or two clear cut chances in the second halfandwe will score. Whelan looks like he has been playing as long as Kilbane. Breaking up their attacks and using theball really well. Always showing for a pass. The back four have been excellent.

Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast