Thread: Atmosphere at LOI Grounds

Quote Originally Posted by Joey Killester View Post
    Half of these things are in no way up to the club to organise (and Id be embaressed if they did) and the other half are ridiculous, like song sheets. You're not meant to be in a choir. What do you mean by adult and underage singing groups? Why couldnt all the "singings" stand together? And they really shouldnt have to be organised. Either there are people willing to sing or there arnt. Im not a fan of bands at football matches either, if you ever see a proper atmospher on the continent or whatever you wont see or hear a band there. Another thing you said about wearing a jersey, I dont see how that's so important, most of our singing section dont wear jersies. I could go on but I have to leave work in a minute. Fair play for trying to create an atmosphere but in my opinion the generated atmosphere you're suggesting is the wrong kind.
    Regardless of what is said here it does take organisation.

The club is the fans and the employees so both shoulkd work together to make sure that there is a great atmosphere.

Something needs to be done at Harps anyway, fans won't come back if the atmosphere is crap.

Generated atmosphere is the only kind
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

is there not some sort of group up at finn harps already who try to add a bit of colour and that. they hve a few big banners and that massive illuminous jersey. not sure what there like at home(will see friday) but they travel with good colour anyway.

there's nothing wrong with harps fans... we just havn't had a lot to sing about this year. and the numbers havn't been great cos the team has been playing shocking at times.

i would like the singing to happen in the stand but they have all gone behind the nets and the noise generated just goes up into the air so its lost to the rest of the ground. finn park isnt a great place for acoustics either, the noise either gets trapped in the shed where it cant be heard to away fans or if its out in the open you need big numbers singing to make it carry.

when we have the new stadium which is more like an arena, other teams will certainly not like coming there with the noise we'll generate.
    It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

Quote Originally Posted by the-blue-harp View Post
    the noise either gets trapped in the shed where it cant be heard to away fans
    you don't sing for the away fans,you sing for your own team

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Generated atmosphere is the only kind
    No its not, atmosphere is generated by the fans themselves, not by the club. It doesnt matter to me what you do though, so i dont know why Im even bothering arguing!
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    you don't sing for the away fans,you sing for your own team
    yea thats not the point i was making, i was making the point that you can be singing on one side of the pitch and you cant hear it on the other. so in the stand the atmosphere is great, but on the other side of the ground (were the away fans are) you cant hear it. merely!
    It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

Quote Originally Posted by the-blue-harp View Post
    there's nothing wrong with harps fans... we just havn't had a lot to sing about this year. and the numbers havn't been great cos the team has been playing shocking at times.

i would like the singing to happen in the stand but they have all gone behind the nets and the noise generated just goes up into the air so its lost to the rest of the ground. finn park isnt a great place for acoustics either, the noise either gets trapped in the shed where it cant be heard to away fans or if its out in the open you need big numbers singing to make it carry.

when we have the new stadium which is more like an arena, other teams will certainly not like coming there with the noise we'll generate.
    agree with that when i was in ballybofey for the playoffs there was sum atmosphere in the shed end with town and harp fans singin!

Was at the Bohs v St. Pats match during the week and stood with the Boo Boys for the first half. I have to say, those kids make some noise. Some of their chants about Pats were quite, ahem, creative.

i find in united park the atmosphere is better with a good away crown ie bohs rovers derry to name three.gets a bit of banter going back and forward.as regards flags and that the drogs ultras do a great job i think and they get funded independently by the rest of us having whip rounds etc.best way to be for ultras because get too cosy with the club and your looking for trouble

i was at Finn Park friday night,and the Harps lads were very quiet, maybe ye should all come back over to the shed stand? a roof always creates more noise.

Just read the thread in it's totality and I, for one, am embarrassed with it. The opening post and it's idea are nothing short of cringeworthy.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Bang a drum army !
    Are you a bawbag??

You sound loo-laa!!!