Thread: Hello from Germany

Hello from Germany

Hello!

My name is Florian and I'm from Rostock, german baltic coast! I'm a big fan of Irish football and favour a few teams. At most I like Galway, Bohs and Candystripes but have also sympathies for Glentoran FC. My favour players of LOI are K. Brennan, Derek Glynn, Keith Fahey and in past Paddy McCourt.
    I like the irish football for the powerfull playing. 90 minutes passion - thats brilliant. This are things I'm missing in german football.

By the way: I'm the administrator of the one and only german forum to irish football: http://irischer-fussball.foren-city.de/

Maybe move this tread to league tread
    Pull my finger!!!

not to go off topic but out in germany we met a load of german irish fans. askingthem was there much craic in town was funny, "craic, what is that, where do you get craic?!"

I was also in Mainz to the ireland match. It was a great time with the crazy irish supporters! They have made the pubs owner in mainz very lucky because they drunk so much beer.

Sligo, das bisher ein drittel der nötigen Summe zur Rettung des Klubs, aufgebracht hat, ruft seine Fans auf mit einer weiteren Spende, die Zukunft des Klubs zu erhalten. Zum Verzicht auf Geld erklärten sich schon das bit o'red Team sowie auch Manager Paul Cook bereit!
    Not good to hear
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    Not good to hear
    Absolutely! But there are any new information to sligo difficulties?

You understand the german language?
    Last edited by robertob; 08/09/2008 at 2:19 PM.

ya robertob, fair play to you and your fellow countrymen, there really were so many of you there. We met 5 different sets of germans, all donned in green. Its great on away trips and meeting ppl such as yourself like that. fair play to you!

Thank you.
    It was for me a great time in mainz too. I've met a lot of nice guys. The performance of the irish supporters was f***ing brilliant 'cause they sang the whole 90 minutes!

I was in Mainz with my Ireland WC94 shirt and so happy to watch the boys in green in my homecountry. So I was absolutely remunerated for the long journey to the match (13 hours from Rostock by train).

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robertob View Post
    Hello!

My name is Florian and I'm from Rostock, german baltic coast! I'm a big fan of Irish football and favour a few teams. At most I like Galway, Bohs and Candystripes but have also sympathies for Glentoran FC. My favour players of LOI are K. Brennan, Derek Glynn, Keith Fahey and in past Paddy McCourt.
    I like the irish football for the powerfull playing. 90 minutes passion - thats brilliant. This are things I'm missing in german football.

By the way: I'm the administrator of the one and only german forum to irish football: http://irischer-fussball.foren-city.de/
    Welcome robertob! I know you from somewhere

112 Posts
    Welcome aboard. Just saw that link, it's amazing to think that the LOI has a following in Germany! Fantastic! If I could only remember any of the German I did at school.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Thanks lads. Next week I will release the new german online magazin: IFADS (german football in german view) magazin.

I wanna make more popular the irish football in germany. Lot of people say me when we tell about LOI: "Oh what - there is a football league in ireland? Crazy, I didn't know!"

But now with the success of St. Pats in Europe and the upcoming game against Hertha BSC Berlin the people wanna know more about irish football. It's time to give them the stuff!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Ausgezeichnet. Das freut mich sehr.

Vorwarts mit den Jungen in grun!
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

ya good german!
    I'm surprised that so much irish people can speak a little german. What's the reason for that?

38 Posts
    French and German are taught in all secondary schools. Although you could probably pass the German exams just by using your knowledge of English...
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

115 Posts
    Except very few 16 to 18-year-olds are able to speak or write English.

Legally I think I have to follow that with "music is way too loud these days, and whatever happened to tunes ... there's way too many stairs about the place ... chicken doesn't taste like chicken anymore..."
    Last edited by stann; 09/09/2008 at 7:50 PM.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    French and German are taught in all secondary schools.
    Why german? I think spanish or russian is more prevalent in the world.

112 Posts
    Some schools do teach Spanish. Not sure about Mandarin or Russian though....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

64 Posts
    I'm doing Spanish. There is talk of brining in Mandarin. Don't think there's any Russian.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    French and German are taught in all secondary schools.
    Nein, leider nicht

We only had French at my school, would have preferred German but it wasnt an option.

We have a few German Limerick 37Fc fans, who went to most of our home and away matches last season (and U21's).
    They also went to a lot of other 1st div and premier matches, apparantly ground hopping is a big thing in Germany.
    LTID